We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing location, amazing hospitality, but average accommodation”
Review of Kirkstile Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loweswater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkstile Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went to stay for one night at the Kirkstile in Loweswater with my boyfriend as we spent a few days travelling round the lakes. As a pub it is perfect, the beer is good, the food is delicious and the wine was really good, but when I got into the room my face just fell. The room we had (I think it was room 1) was just really dated and looked really drab, and the bathroom wasn't ideal.

I would stay again if the rooms were updated because it's just in the most perfect location. If you're looking for somewhere really special to stay though, I really wouldn't advise on staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Kirkstile Inn was a highlight of our 4 week UK trip, nestled in a valley, surrounded by rolling green hills ,lakes and streams, you could not find a better location to stay in.
This 14 century Inn is a great base for discovering the lakes area as well as walking and cycling.
The Kirkstile has a lovely cosy bar with open fires and a picturesque beer garden overlooking the stream and hills. The dinning area are charming and the meals fantastic but you do need to book in advance as the inn is very busy both at lunch and dinner.
Our bedroom was the smallest in the Inn but the views out the window made up for it, but I would ask for a larger room as there was hardly any space to put our bag.
The room was clean and cosy with a comfortable double bed.
The bathroom was also small but clean and had a few toiletries.
The only wi-fi reception is in the office due to the thickness of the inn walls but this was not a problem.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on walks in the area, even lending us maps and books. Rachael went out of her way to be friendly and very helpful, thanks it was much appreciated.
Breakfast was of very high standard with fresh fruit, yoghurt and a delicious made to order fully cooked breakfast, the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was to die for. They even were happy to turn on the coffee machine to make us a latte. Great service!
Dinner was fantastic and I will do a separate review on this.
My husband and I would highly recommend the Kirstile Inn as a beautiful oasis in the lakes District.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room in the Inn when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

we spent several nights here for a few walks and a break from catching up with family. we live in NZ so have our fair share of scenery, but places like the kirkstile can only exist in the lakes. it was picture perfect - even in the rain. fantastic, homely, delicious food. comfortable beds with crisp sheets and plump pillows. inexhaustible hot water to soothe aching muscles. friendly staff, friendly locals. a gorgeous place to spend precious time. thank you kirkstile - the highlight of our 4 week trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We've eaten at the Kirkstile before but decided to stay for a couple of nights.
Superb food, relaxing atmosphere and yummy breakfasts that set you up for a days climbing !

Karen was fabulous when my husband left his maps and radio after our visit and she very kindly posted them to us.

You must try the Sticky Toffee Pudding and they do a delicious Game suet pudding maybe not in that order though !! You'll need to hike all day to burn off the calories !!

Luckily we managed to get home as the snow started to fall on our departure !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoubyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The family and I first stayed at this lovely Lakeland Inn 20 years ago, and my father used to go there regularly 50 years ago. It has been very tastefully renovated since our last visit, and the bedrooms are now larger, and have en suit bathrooms! The location is great, with good views and Loweswater, Crummock water and Buttermere close by. The Pub and restaurant area was always full, and well patronised by the locals, a good sign. The food was first class, service good, and the Loweswater Gold Beer fantastic, but then so was the essenthait and the American Invasion and..... Also Dog friendly. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Rooms in the Inn are better than the Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After spending two nights here we were not dissappointed to say the least, staff very friendly, food excellent, well done chefs, room very clean and fantastic views. Breakfast freshly cooked. My husband and i travel alot, different hotels and b and b,s but this place is wonderfull, in a peaceful setting and we were lucky with the weather, plenty of sunshine which makes a big difference. Would recommend and we will return. Thanks and well done. MR & MRS FRANK

Room Tip: we had room number 2 with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 750peterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The best is not always easy to find and this place is well hidden! The prize of discovery is the reward of a warm welcome,excellent food,top class award winning ales and a perfect room. Our stay was a total pleasure and the packed lunch delicious.
We have stayed in many places this year and realised how hard it is to get the right balance of pleasant yet efficient staff that make this place so lovely.
Cheers and see again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreedyLittlePiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loweswater
3.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
457 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
599 reviews
10.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstile Inn

Address: Loweswater CA13 ORU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Loweswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loweswater
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkstile Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling between Loweswater and Crummock Water in the heart of the English Lake District, the Kirkstile Inn has been providing food and shelter for over 100 years.So why not get away from the modern world and enjoy a stress free zone? Cosy, comfortable rooms with fantastic views, great local produce turned into traditional pub food or seasonal specials. Own brewed ales, including the legendary award winning Loweswater Gold. Our local team are renowned for their warm and friendly welcome whatever the time of day . It would be a shame not to give us a try! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkstile Hotel Loweswater
Kirkstile Hotel Cockermouth
Kirkstile Inn Loweswater, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing