We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Torsti
Kutchan-cho, Japan

Amazing hotel and staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2020via mobile
It is simply an amazing place to stay. The hotel is small which is what we like. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated.

The staff is very friendly and attentive. I am not sure about their English as me and my wife speak Japanese but there was 1 staff that looked Nepali.

The room was immaculately cleaned every day.

Beautiful empty white sand beach right out the front. Not the best for snorkeling as it’s mostly sand bottom but great to swim and watch the night sky.

We had a car which is necessary as it’s 25 minutes drive from the city and we wanted to explore the island anyway.

Small but beautiful spa with ocean view on the top floor.

Me and my wife will definitely stay in this hotel again.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
アートホテル石垣島外観。周りに高い建物がなく、最上階のスカイバーからは絶景が見渡せます。4月~10月営業のプールもご宿泊者は無料でご利用いただけます。(Art Hotel Ishigakiji
£187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
10.3 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
プール夕景
£274
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.4 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free parking
Beachfront
特選石垣牛と島の海の幸!
~朝から贅沢バイキング~
£96
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £96
  • eDreams
10.9 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Triple Room at the Route-Inn Grantia Ishigaki
£56
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
10.8 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
£118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
11.0 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
£128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • japanican.com
10.9 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
美崎館 外観
£88
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
11.0 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Pool
Business Centre
£575
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
10.5 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £67
  • Priceline
11.2 miles from Alaise De Bale Ishigaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ishigaki-jima
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
15
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
7
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019

It is a bit remote compared to other hotels. You will need a car or cab to travel to town (buses are scarce) but it depends on what you are looking for.
Alaise de Bale is located in a beautiful location and you will surely be able to wind down and relax for a few days. The staff is extremely helpful and will support you in organizing day trips and other activities.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank audeahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights during a two-week trip to Japan. We had previously been to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka so were spending some time in Ishigaki to relax. My opinion of the hotel fluctuated between 3/5 and 5/5 so I have rated 4 as I did have a lovely time there and for the price, I think it was a good choice.

Hotel
The hotel is small and located in the North of the island. The location is perfect for a relaxing break and is close to the best beaches on the island. The pool area is great and you are just steps away from a quiet beach. There are not many restaurants around but enough for a short break. You absolutely need a car to stay here if you want to explore the island.

Room
The room was a good size and had large windows which let in lots of light. We booked a mountain view so had a nice view of the mountains as well as being able to see the sea slightly. The downside of the big windows though was that it got light very early in the morning as the blinds weren’t sufficient to block out the sun in the morning. Make sure to take an eye mask if you are a light sleeper.
We just had two issues with the room. Firstly, there is no in-room safe. Secondly, the bathroom is not designed for western builds! The head height in the shower is so low that even I struggled when washing my hair – the shower head was too low and I kept hitting my hands when shampooing my hair. Given I am 5ft 4 I don’t expect to have such issues! My husband is 6ft so couldn’t use the shower at all. We asked if there were any other rooms available with a taller shower but there weren’t so my husband had to use the family bathroom for all his showers. This was fine but did mean pre-planning and booking in shower time which isn’t ideal on holiday.

Service
This ranged from strange to fantastic!

On arrival (1pm) we were told that check in was 3pm but for 2000yen we could check in early. We said we were fine to wait and had some lunch in the restaurant. After lunch at about 2pm we asked to get something out of our suitcase that we had left at reception – the suitcase had been moved to our room so we were led up to the room to retrieve it. Despite it being just 1 hour before official check in, it was made very clear that we could go in to our room, get the case and then come back out, where the door was locked again. It just seemed wholly unnecessary to do this when the room was clearly ready and this then meant us changing our of our travel clothes in the restaurant toilets.

The second strange occurrence related to pillows. The hotel pillows are truly awful – literally the worst pillows I have ever come across. Hard, too tall, full of strange beans. It was like putting your head on a solid beanbag. If you slept on your side, you would wake up with a very painful ear. On the first day I asked if there were any softer pillows. I was told “no, that is all we have”. Knowing I would not be able to sleep, I instead put one of the sofa cushions in the pillow case, which was much better. What was then very strange was that when we returned the following day, my pillow had been replaced with a softer one. Very kind and I was very pleased but why say no on day 1? Unfortunately my husband wasn’t so lucky and had to persevere with the hard pillow for the whole time.

The service at breakfast could be improved – on 3 of 4 days we had to go and find someone to ask for the tea/coffee.

On the final evening, we asked the man at reception to book a restaurant for us, which he was kind enough to do.

Food
We ate lunch at the hotel on the first day, which was perfectly nice but far more expensive than other restaurants nearby. We therefore didn’t eat at the hotel again.
It was a bit irritating that they make you specify what time you would like breakfast the day before – on holiday I would much rather just wake up naturally and go to breakfast when I please rather than having to set an alarm. We opted for the western breakfast option and this was perfectly pleasant and as expected from a 3 star hotel.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay and are definitely glad we chose this area of the island rather than the main town.

Room tip: If you book a mountain view room, ask for top floor to get a nicer view.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KEW135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

1. Location

Alaise De Bale Ishigaki is around a 30-40 minutes drive from the city centre, which means that if you wanted to have a meal at one of the more popular spots in Ishigaki, it would take you at least an hour to and fro. If you want to stock up on items from the convenience store, do that before you reach the hotel because we didn't see any convenience stores in the vicinity.

It is a good location if you want to be near beaches- there is a beach right outside the hotel. However, it didn't exactly look like the best spot to swim. It would be a better bet to venture out to Yonehara Beach which is around a 15 minutes drive away from the hotel. It is a popular beach and you can swim with sea creatures without venturing out too far. Kabira Bay is around a 30 minutes drive away.

It was a short drive to the nearby kayak / canoe store (around 5 minutes) where we rented kayaks to the Fukidogawa River Mangrove Colony.

If you decide to stay here, keep a lookout for the Japanese name of this hotel because it does not state "Alaise De Bale Ishigaki".

2) Room

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Most of the room options allow for two single beds.

There was a folder containing the movies you could rent for free (e.g. Harry Potter, Frozen, Minions etc.). Free strong wifi available. There was a sign stating that lizards bring luck and ants would come if sweet stuff were left open- I guess we know what kind of animals to expect in the room. To be fair, we didn't see any during our stay.

3) Toilet

The toilet bowl area was separate from the bath tub and washing area. The toilet was relatively big for a Japanese hotel. Full set of toiletries was provided.

4) Breakfast

We paid around S$15 per person for breakfast. There was a choice between continental or Japanese breakfast and we of course went for the latter. Breakfast was served with a glass of cold tea, with a further choice of hot coffee or tea. Breakfast was healthy and decent, but not sure if it's worth the price.

5) Amenities

There is the option of reserving a private bathroom (presumably an onsen), although we did not do so.

There is a small swimming pool and you could borrow beach towels from the counter.

6) Service

The Japanese are well known for their service standards and I wish I could say the same in this case. However, it was a mixed bag of feelings for this place.

While the staff were friendly and courteous, one incident left us feeling a little perplexed. Upon arrival at around 2+ pm, the cafe on the ground floor was closed. We then asked if there were any eating places around the hotel, to which the question was met with a resolute "No". Upon much prodding, the staff suggested a soba place which was around a 5 minutes drive away. I would have imagined that this was a common question, unless people were content to just eat in the cafe on the ground floor (which was closed)- something might have been lost in translation.

7) Conclusion

While the stay was comfortable, we felt that this place was a tad over priced.

p.s. Do keep a lookout for the night sky- lots of stars in this place with minimal light pollution.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ruo Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We loved this place so much that kg was hard to leave!!
We had a room with view to the mountains which was beautiful. There is a quiet beach in front... just a few steps away. In the evening we enjoyed delicious dinner at the restaurant. The price was good and the food sooooo delicious!!! We never wanted to go somewhere else for dinner. The staff was amazing from the beginning till the end. We stayed 4 days and would have loved to expand....
Many thank' s for an unforgetable Holiday!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank xxxcarolinxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our room was large with a lovely view to the beach. It was very clean, beautifully serviced. The staff were very friendly even though they did not all speak a lot of English and we speak no Japanese there were no problems. They were all lovely. The location is a little isolated but very quiet and peaceful. Taxis are available and the twice daily public bus runs to schedule. There are many water based activities nearby (diving, snorkelling, kayaking etc.) There are only 9 rooms, cafe has a good range of food and drink.

Room tip: Top floor has best views but there is no elevator but easy stairs.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlaiseDeBale, お客様担当マネージャー at Alaise De Bale Ishigaki, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for the comments.
I am pleased that you could relax in the room.
Also, please drop in when you come to Ishigaki-jima Island.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews