We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thumbelina2
London, United Kingdom

Hotel on the edge of the city centre

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jun 2020
I had a good sized room with a table & 2 chairs. There was a large luggage rack which would fit 2 small cases. There was a clothing hanging area. The bed had a duvet cover which was dirty so I had to get it changed. It wasn't changed daily because there was an under sheet so I am not sure how often the duvet cover is washed. There was a tempura/foam pillow & a normal feather one.

Unfortunately the large TV only had Japanese channels. There was a fridge and a large safe.

The bathroom was quite a good size but they only provided a smallish towel. The water was very soft. The bath was quite shallow (more like an American bath than a deep Japanese one). The hotel only provided bottled water on 1st night despite the fact I stayed for 5 nights!

There was a very good buffet breakfast with an extensive choice of admittedly mostly Japanese food. However there were croissants, fruit, soft scrambled eggs and a coffee machine.

Staff spoke limited English. It was a 20 mins walk to to the port for boat trips to other islands. There were a few restaurants opposite the hotel. The pool closes in November which is a pity because it's still quite hot.

There was a small hotel shop with a few necessities and tourist items. The airport bus stops at hotel and you can also catch a bus from the hotel to visit Kabila bay (but they are not frequent!). The hotel does provide a shuttle to the airport but it's very infrequent.

There was some noise from other guests next door & in the corridor. The hotel seemed popular with large groups.
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jun 2020
Dear Mr./Ms. Thumbelina2
Thank you for stay with us.
We will work about what you pointing out .thank you.
Sincerely .
Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Manager
Daisuke Ishizuka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Triple Room at the Route-Inn Grantia Ishigaki
£57
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £57
0.7 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Free parking
£112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Free parking
美崎館 外観
£88
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £88
0.7 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Pool
£218
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £218
2.4 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Free parking
24時間利用可能なリビング
£54
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £54
0.6 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Business Centre
£575
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £459
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    £111
  • Expedia.com
    £128
0.6 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Free parking
プール夕景
  • Expedia.com
    £270
  • japanican.com
    £260
  • Hotels.com
8.8 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £67
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ishigaki-jima
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
281
508
188
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
508
188
27
22
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019

This is a pleasant place to stay. Staff is efficient and friendly. There is a pool, spa, and onsen, but NO GYM/FITNESS center. Free WiFi. Tea, but NO COFFEE in the rooms. Breakfast buffet is generous and tasty.
One unusual aspect of this hotel, depending on the level of housekeeping you select (by placing the appropriate magnet on the door), you will receive a daily coupon of 500-1000 yen to be used in their store in the lobby. Pretty cool to encourage people to go green.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oahusquid x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for stay with us.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Sincerely .
Art Hotel Ishigakijima
Manager
Daisuke Ishizuka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel offers shuttle bus service to/from the airport but we missed the one from the airport, so we took the bus (no. 10) which stopped right at the hotel entrance. The room wasn't ready when we arrived (we arrived before the check in time), but we were allowed to use the swimming pool which was very nice.

The hotel is in a quiet area, around 20-25 mins. walk to the city centre, there is also a supermarket (MaxValu) nearby which is about 10 mins. walk. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel so it's quite convenient (though the bus schedule is not very frequent).

The room is of reasonable size, clean and tidy. The hotel offers a plan to reward guests for being environmental friendly. Guests will be awarded a 1,000 yen coupon each day each room if you opt for no room cleaning service; 500 yen coupon for only changing towels and no making beds and no changing bed sheet/ pillow case. the coupons can be used at the gift shop and some food outlets inside the hotel.

There is a public bath/ sauna on 2/F, we used it every night.

Buffet breakfast was nice, lots of variety, coffee machine, fruits, juice, etc.

We rented a car and had no problem to park at the hotel car park.

Staff are very polite and friendly. Some speak good English, some don't but are willing to help as much as they can. I will definitely stay at Art Hotel Ishigaki again in my next visit.

Room tip: higher floor for better view
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for stay with us.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Sincerely .
Art Hoel Ishigakijima
Manager
Yuki Ishimura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2019

I booked five nights. I stay with my family and kids.
If rent the car, it is the best hotel on the island.
In fact, everything is perfect during my stay. Staff is helpful.
Half hour walking distance to the city center.
I have been tried a restaurant inside of the hotel, the buffet dinner is nice.
Express Bus just half an hour to the airport.
It is closed to a bananas park, of course, you need to drive about 10 mins.

The room is clean & the facility is good enough, the Sauna is nice.

One thing I don't understand, I book the room with 2 adult and 2 kids. They assign the smaller size king bedroom which compares another standard room. But I didn't ask the hotel the reason. I hope it is not racial discrimination.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chicagocitynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Dearest guests,

Thank you very much for staying & enjoying in our hotel.
Have great day for your everyday.

Yours sincerely
Art Hotel Ishigakijima
manager
Yuki Ishimura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

母と叔母との旅行で3泊しました。3人一部屋だったので、それほど広くはありませんでしたが、清潔で心地よい空間でした。大浴場も広くて清潔、朝食も地元の食材を使ったメニューがたくさんあって、3日食べても飽きないほどバラエティ豊かでした。夜に島唄のショーもあり、賑わっていました。
石垣島と周りの自然溢れた島々に癒されたので、ぜひまた訪れたいと思っていますが、その際はまたこちらのホテルにお世話になりたいと思います。

The room wasn't very large, but large enough and cozy. The big bathhouse was clean, best way to make you relaxed. You can enjoy a wide variety of food with local ingredients for breakfast, we were never bored for 3 days. Traditional Okinawa folk music show is held every evening, which was fun to watch. All in all, we were really satisfied with this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimifromKyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019
Google Translation

KimiXD様      
 この度は、アートホテル石垣島へご宿泊いただき誠にありがとうございました。
 またお忙しい所、口コミならびに最高評価点を頂戴しありがとうございます。
 ご朝食へのお褒めの言葉、感謝しております。
  毎夜20時より地元演者による「結心(ゆいぐくる)ライブ」は非常に盛り上がりますね。
  ぜひまた自然あふれる八重山諸島へお越し下さいませ。
  ご宿泊をスタッフ一同お待ちしております。
                  アートホテル石垣島 宿泊部 マネージャー 石村

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

Our stay at Art Hotel Ishigaki was average, almost disappointing especially because of customer care.
Ishigaki is a subtropical island where the average temperature in November is 25° so we booked this hotel also because it has an open air swimming pool. When we got there, anyway, we were told that the swimming pool was closed during the “winter season”. We immediately replied that the Art Hotel profile on Agoda (the platform we used for our reservation) did not say the swimming pool would be closed in winter and asked for a partial refund. They denied it and said we could use for free the facilities of another hotel 20 minutes by bus far away (facilities every other guest could use). Then we contacted Agoda, which told us they had asked the hotel for a refund too; the hotel staff said they got no email from Agoda and after we insisted, the hotel staff said their official website says the pool is closed in winter. Unfortunately, the official website is only in Japanese and the English version does not mention the pool closure. We pointed this out to the hotel staff and finally they granted us a gift: 1000¥ each to be spent in their shop. Something we found almost disrespectful. Agoda granted us 10% of the reservation total amount refund. Besides that, Art hotel has a good location, about 15 minutes away on foot from the city center. Moreover, some buses stop directly at the hotel door. Hotel facilities are good, especially the big public bath. Our room was comfortable, though a little small. In conclusion, we would not recommend this hotel because customer care was not up to the standards of a 4 stars hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 986matteoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
art-hotel-ishigaki, マネージャー at Art Hotel Ishigakijima, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at ART HOTEL Ishigakijima, and we appreciate you spending your time to provide us with your feedback.
However, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the lack of information on the reservation website.
We have asked the website manager to ensure information on the webpage is kept in an easy-to-understand way.
Taking your feedback very seriously, I will arrange for additional training for our staff to learn better methods of providing guidance to our guests.
Again, I sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced.
We genuinely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at ART HOTEL Ishigakijima.
Sincerely, Yuki Ishimura, Manager, ART HOTEL Ishigakijima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews