We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Neptune, Burry Port”
Review of The Neptune

The Neptune
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burry Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neptune
Ranked #4 of 6 Burry Port B&B and Inns
Escucha, Spain
Level Contributor
646 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“The Neptune, Burry Port”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned to my home village and after speaking to my son went to the Neptune for sunday lunch.
.We were welcomed by a very outgoing barman who shared stories with me of London where we both had worked.
The décor was pleasant and the dining are roomy. Lunch was plentiful and tasty different beers were on sale.
The atmosphere was good and we all had an enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CLYDACH SWANSEA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have been several times and never once dissatisfied,you can,t please everybody all the time.
Thanks to all staff for there service top class.
I would highly recommend this hotel,although I have not stayed at the hotel but if a need does arise I would gladly stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiwlech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Top class service as usual. I am shocked at some comments. We have been using this venue for our regular trips to Burry Port for 3 years now, and always find Steve and all his staff most accommodating. We have been with adults and children and all are VERY well looked after.
The food is always good, if anything portion sizes are large. On Saturday night even I had to leave some of the fab cheesecake!! Local produce and home made even the tartar sauce. Sadly we don't find that else where very often.
Keep up the good work Neptune, we will always return with family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithc956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have been coming here for the last five years and have never had a bad experience. The service is wonderful, all the staff and polite and extremely helpful. We find the food lovely and we get plenty. There great with kids which is a bonus!! The English bar man (Mick) is a delight to be around and is amazing with the kids. We will continue to come here every year. Thank you for a great experience, like always.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozza061989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Referring to joan b's comment from august 4th, I have to agree with her about the sunday lunch that day. It wasn't up to their usual standard , the beef was tough & portions were not as big as usual. However I have to say the waiter wasn't surly towards us & even apologised about the beef explaining that they had used a different cut of beef that week & they would not be using it again. It certainly wouldn't stop us going again & have always found the owner & staff very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

what can i say about this place? we had been told that if we come down again we have to eat here.we did expect welsh hospitality and good food.what we got however was something completely different. The waiter was english and sad to say comming from an english man was an embarrassment. At one point i thought guy richie was in the room and he was trying to get a part in a new film? vinnie jones wanabe comming across more like danny dyer.
the food wasnt much better and i dont know what other people class as big portion sizes but mine certainly was not. If i had wanted this sort of expirance i would have gone down a take away on a saturday nite in the east end on london.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckingham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have used The Neptune on quite a few previous occasions, and have always been extremely pleased with the service and food. However, last Sunday (4th August) the service and the food was certainly not up to their usual standards. The 'waiter' was rude, surly and unhelpful. The portions were meagre, the meat was tough and the vegetables (for 6 people) came in one small bowl. Maybe they were short staffed or extra busy? The person who served our table needs to learn some people skills. Unless I hear that there has been a big improvement in the above I shan't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, Manager at The Neptune, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
I believe that you forgot to mention that you complained about the room that you were allocated to eat your meal in, and that you complained about the chairs that you were seated in and that you complained that you did not get silver served roast potatoes and you complained that your husband did not like mash. Our staff did all that they could to please you.
Everybody is entitled to their opinion and whilst the beef may have not been to your liking, the majority of diners said it was the best beef they had eaten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burry Port
4.2 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caulfield's Hotel
Caulfield's Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burry Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Coasting Pilot Hotel
The Coasting Pilot Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burry Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune

Property: The Neptune
Address: Neptune Square, Burry Port SA16 0EP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Burry Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burry Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located opposite the harbour and seafront, The Neptune offers comfortable accommodation, next to Burry Port Train Station and close to Millennium Coastal Park. All of the contemporary, stylish rooms are well furnished, with en suite facilities and a TV. Some rooms have stunning views of The Gower Coast..The Neptune boasts a cosy, welcoming bar and an attractive garden, with an outdoor seating area. Locally sourced food is available from the extensive menu and an inclusive breakfast is provided. Local attractions include Burry Port Marina, Pembrey Motor Racing Circuit, Pembrey Country Park, Ashburnham Golf Club, and Cefn Sidan Beach. The nearby coastal cycle track is an ideal way to explore the beautiful countryside and coastline of Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. Free parking and free Wi-Fi internet access are available to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Burry Port, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing