We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of George Hotel

George Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burry Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Burry Port B&B and Inns
Burry Port, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have recently been to The George which has new owners and had a meal there, it was excellent! It was one of the best steaks I have ever had, the steak was so succulent it melted in the mouth, my wife had the cajun salmon which was also excellent and the children's meals were a good sized portion, not like some places where you just get a few chips. The welcome was really good and there was a great atmosphere, the new owners Hefin and Louise went out of their way to make us and our children feel comfortable. I will definitely call here again, in fact I have booked to go there for lunch this Sunday as they offer a carvery which one of the other diners told me was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed in the peak season in August and couldn't find anywhere in the Mumbles/Gower for much less than £100, so I ened up in Burry Port. Burry Port is where rural west Wales gives way to industrial south Wales and reminded me of those industrial towns and ports in west Cumbria. I actually love places like this, but they are always disarmingly rough, such is Burry Port. It has a nice harbour and views of the Gower, indeed around the George (certainly in the summer) has an almost seaside feel to it.
I remember a few years ago buying some chips in Burry Port and thinking how friendly and thoroughly working class the locals were. I realise that saying the locals are friendly is really a euphamism for the place is a dump, but that would be harsh on Burry Port (although some might agree). Certainly the landlord gave me a lovely welcome and he and his wife were wonderful.
Even though I only paid £55 per night the accomodation was frankly poor, had I paid £30 I would have been raving over what a wonderful find the George is. The landlord told me that the owner won't pay for maintainance and it shows. The upshot is that he is giving up the George, to focus on a cottage he rents out opposite. My en suite bathroom was outside my room off a public corridor, it had towels and soap but nothing else.
I went down to the bar to find it only had keg beers so I popped to the pub opposite (the Portobello). It was wonderfully rough and friendly, with all the female customers being at least 18st. It served a tremedous local real ale for £2.40, for London readers I will repeat that £2.40!
Back to the George for food. I was expecting great things and was a little disappointed, although I suspect this was a product of chosing Swordfish recommended by another reviewer. Portions were large and there was certainly nothing wrong with it, except I think it was frozen. Certainly the cockles, mussels, cheese and lava bread were very nice.
I suspect that the breakfast is brilliant, but being Ramadan I didn't have any. I wish the landlord and landlady success in their new venture and recommend not booking a room at the George until some else has reviewed it under the new management. What of Burry Port? Well I cannot resist this sort of place and will certainly return, but I'm sure that its not everones cup of tea.

Room Tip: Try to ensure that your en suite is in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have been here a few times now when visiting family who live nearby and have never been disappointed. The food is always freshly cooked to order and there is plenty of it.
The veggie lasagne is really nice, the mixed grill is enormous and the daily fresh fish specials have always been good, particularly the swordfish steak.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just returned here for fourth time. Bar area and separate dining room nice decor and service.
Good choice of starters, we had crab cakes and cockle and mussels in sauce topped with crispy melted cheese. Main course fresh cod grilled or with batter and monkfish goujons served with salad peas and new pots jacket or chips. Large portions. very good value
Will def being going again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angharadsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burry Port
4.2 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#8 of 10 in Llanelli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globe Guesthouse
Globe Guesthouse
#2 of 6 in Burry Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coasting Pilot Hotel
The Coasting Pilot Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burry Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Stepney Road, Burry Port SA16 0BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Burry Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burry Port
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
George Hotel Burry Port, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing