We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem in Cracoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Cracoe B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little gem in Cracoe”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

was heading to another pub for dinner when we came across this gem. Recently taken over by a new owner who clearly likes quality food and wines we were very happy with the meal, service and welcome.
we will be heading there for Sunday lunch very soon!!

Martyn

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
25
88
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed having booked late for a friends wedding. As we were going to the wedding in Burnsall just after lunch we needed to book in early. I rang and asked on the morning if we could book in early, it was no problem for staff to have our room ready early. We arrived and settled in to our room getting changed for the wedding. The room was fantastic, considering the price, which was very reasonable!
We got back to the Devonshire late evening and had a few drinks, staff were very friendly. Ordered some food very late and didn't have to wait very long to get what I ordered which was also very nice.
In the morning had a very nicely made fry up! Again staff very accommodating. We checked out and the staff were so nice to help us retrieve our car from the wedding venue.

Note the management are new from this summer, 2013, don't let the negative reviews of the venue from other guests put you off!

All in excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked our room through late rooms and were happy when we arrived. The room was ready for us and the staff very helpful. The breakfasts were great and we had our evening meals there too which were simply gorgeous. We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, ours was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked through late rooms for a one night stay, on arriving we were told our room was not yet available, this was 4.15pm!!! We were given a complimentary cup of tea.
Finally shown up the the room at 5pm, which was very cod, No heating but we were told there was a heater in the wardrobe, horrible food smell from the kitchen and a loud droning noise!!
Dinner was ok, not homemade chips, and service was very slow, it was a Friday evening and not overly busy, staff seemed to take more interest in the locals at the bar.
We paid £80.00 and certainly have stayed in much better places for this, overpriced and not that great

Room Tip: a room not above the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchy996, Manager at Devonshire Arms, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
If you are a genuine customer (which I have a particular reason to doubt), I am amazed that you brought none of your complaints to anyone's attention at the time of your stay.

This would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns.

The last time anybody spent £80 on Room 1 through Late Rooms was in April 2013 which was 3.5 months prior to the present management taking over. and 7 months before your complaint appeared.

Anybody reading Trip Advisor has only to read our reviews since July 2013 to make a mockery of your complaints.

It is therefore my contention you are either a mischief maker or a disgruntled former employee.

If however, you prove you are genuine, then we would be delighted to talk to you and make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From start to finish we were made very welcome. The food was excellent and I mean absolutely delicious. The Piri Piri prawn starter is well recommended, rare breed sirloin amazing too! The breakfast is also delicious with sausages from the farm across the road and set us up for a day of fell-walking! Plenty of choice behind the bar with some amazing whisky and the room complete with jacuzzi bath was lovely. Thanks to everyone who made our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Room 1 suffers from the noise of the kitchen fans which were running until 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwantdecentfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A group of us had Sunday lunch,which was excellent, I had pork with perfect crackling. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, with it's open fires and friendly staff. The new owner is on the right track. Well done. My friends and I are will definitly be back. We would all highly recommend the Devonshire Arms

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We came here by chance, had been originally bound for elsewhere. What a great twist of fate. There were four of us for Sunday lunch and thought the food was delicious. We were full but had to have a pudding too, even got a complimentary liquor. Well done to the chef and staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KJNicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cracoe
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,104 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Property: Devonshire Arms
Address: Grassington Road, Cracoe BD23 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cracoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cracoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Devonshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Pet Friendly Coaching Inn dating back to the 16th century with lodgings. We are ideally situated on the outskirts of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. We serve bar and restaurant food and offer a great selection to cater for all tastes. We also cater for parties and private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Hotel Cracoe
Devonshire Arms Cracoe, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing