We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss This Gem”
Review of Hostal Remona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Remona
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Certificate of Excellence
Bann, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Gem”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family of six (2 children, 2 grandparents, me and my husband) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hostal Remona. The staff was helpful, informative and just so friendly. The apartment was amazing. We rented two apartments that were very clean, modern and well furnished. Both had kitchens with refrigerators and one even had a wine fridge. This is an excellent location for any of your hikes in and around the Picos de Europa. The hostal is very close to the funicular (less than 5minutes drive) that takes you to the top of the Pedro Remona Mountain. The hostal has several outstanding features besides the apartment amenities (which are huge in an of itself). First and foremost, the staff wants to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. They provided us with valuable park information regarding sites and presentations that gave us more insight into the park. They have an excellent restaurant that serves meats and cheeses that they have cultivated on their eco-friendly farms. They are great storytellers regarding the animals that they care for and the property that they maintain. The hostal is located next to a church that will have a shutter happy aficionado clicking away. I can not over emphasize how delicious the food was at their restaurant and the local wines form the area are a must. If you are in the Picos de Europa area, do not miss Hostal Remona. We only stayed on night, but one can easily spend a week at Hostal Remona with all of the activities in and around the area and the restaurant alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiBeachCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

as well as providing accommodation the hostal acts as a bar and restaurant not just for tourists, but for locals in this small village. Our decent sized bedroom and bathroom overlooked a stream and, although located on the access road to Fuente De, traffic noise was not an issue, as was the lack of air-con. A plentiful buffet breakfast was taken in the colourfully decorated restaurant area and the "menu del dia" was a good value evening option. Background music was an eclectic mix of anything not Spanish - including songs from the "Sound of Music"! Owner and his family were friendly and efficient.
The scenery and walks to be found at Fuente De are impressive and make the cost of the cable car worthwhile. Go equipped for reduced temperatures and strong winds. Going off the beaten track provided encounters with chamois.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Friends who live in a local village to the Hostal recommended Remona. It was perfect. There were three of us in a four-bed apartment. The kitchen dining area was superbly fitted out, the beds were comfortable and the bedroom and main living area were spacious. There is public bar which, on occasion, was lively and fun. We went to Fuente De and to the top of the mountains which were spectacular, we also visited many of the small villages around the area. We were made welcome and certainly intend to go back to the area, not only to catch up with our friends but also to stay in the hostal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Ok, ok...so it was bit further and involves a cable-car ride...but, hey, the Hostal is really close!!

The first floor self-catering apartment we stayed in was great...roomy and well-equipped....and the view from both floors was glorious.

The owner (Jesus) and his hermana (Monse?) were a pleasure...helpful, friendly and very welcoming and the delicious/sobroso food they served in their restaurant (especially the beef stew) was very welcome after a long drive from Bilbao.

Espanima is a super base from which to explore the high country of the Picos, although heavy snow on the tops meant we were only able to photograph the sights rather than walk them!

Although a bit of a drive...you should 'do' the Cares gorge and a visit to the Covadonga Lakes/church-in-the-rock is also a 'must'.

Super holiday....Muchas g. to all...

Room Tip: The upstairs apartments seem a better bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in the apartments for 4 nights last month and couldn't believe the great value for money . The apartment had everything you could possible want , was spotless and best of all was dog friendly . Food in the restaurant was very good and Jesus and family couldn't do enough for us . Fantastic walking in the immediate area and we had great fun up in the snow . highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hylas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst hiking in the area, and found the owner very helpful, friendly, patient and efficient. The apartment was spacious, with ample parking, and all the equipment you would require. Most importantly, it was warm, with controllable heating which proved invaluable for drying the washing/walking gear. It really was a home from home, perfectly located with several bars and a small shop in the village. We used the hotel bar a few times, and it was always full with locals and vistors alike, with a good atmosphere and good prices. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food (although we did get some free tapas from the owner).
As others have mentioned it is excellent value staying here and we would definitely return. The only downside was that we had a ground floor apartment and suffered some noise problems from a family with children in the apartment above us, so we would probably request an upstairs apartment next time.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs apartment to prevent noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegendWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The apartment is located behind the hostel has the same owner. It is equipped with everything you can expect from an urban apartment - refrigerator with big freezer for storing food for one month, microwave, and washing machine. I cannot believe that I have found another home in this mountain area. I paid 45 euro a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xuxiake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espinama
1.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Rebeco
Hotel El Rebeco
#2 of 2 in Fuente De
96 reviews
5.9 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
282 reviews
9.2 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergue Turistico Briz
Albergue Turistico Briz
#1 of 2 in Espinama
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Remona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Remona

Property: Hostal Remona
Address: C/ c. general s/n, 39588 Espinama, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Espinama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Espinama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Remona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing