We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable dining”
Review of The Dabbling Duck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dabbling Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable dining”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

From a drinkers or diners perspective, the whole place feels.....well, comfortable.

Laid back with a shabby chic interior, a bit trendy and contrived 'country style' but nonetheless, comfortable.

Nice choice of beers and wines, menu doesn't offer a wide choice but what it does offer is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpymikefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.

It is good to hear that you were made to feel comfortable when you visited us.

The chefs strive upon using fresh local ingredients meaning our menu choice cannot always be too extensive, however it is great to hear that you enjoyed what we had on offer.

Hopefully we shall see you again in the future.

Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    116
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
76
218
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just when you think it can't get any better, the Dabbling Duck exceeds all expectations. Our recent return visit was great. The food was superb and the service was first class from start to finish. We started our evening with a drink in the bar whilst choosing from the menu and were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. We were both more than happy with our food choices. The meal was absolutely delicious and prices competitive considering the high standard. There were plenty of specials as well as the standard menu. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.

It is great to read such positive comments. We work very hard on making all guests feel comfortable and at home and I am pleased that we achieved that successfully!

The chefs will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meal and menu choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dabbling Duck in the near future.


Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited in April, for 1 night, and have booked to stay again in July. The welcome was oh so friendly, you get homemade rhubarb vodka on arrival which was lovely. The room we stayed in was the smallest but cosy and had everything you could need.

The best part was the food, it was incredible. Our meal was verging on Michelin star quality. We took advantage of the Sunday night offer so was good value for money. We are taking our dog next time so we can sample the beautiful country side as well :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Wellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are visiting again!

The staff all work hard here at The Dabbling Duck, so it is really rewarding to read great reviews like this. I have passed your comments onto all of the team, who look forward to seeing you again soon.


Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for two nights here. The room was good but small, nearly everything was provided for that you needed, especially the rhubarb vodka and biscuits, good selection of teas/coffee, bottle of water.The only thing we felt was lacking was a small chair to put your clothes on at night or to sit in front of the mirror to do our hair etc! . Breakfast was great , a good selection of cereals / juice especially the Sandringham apple juice ( must get some in).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your review.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed the room refreshments, and breakfast selection. The Sandringham apple juice is very popular, (-they make a number of different varieties!)

Our rooms are currently undergoing an upgrade, so we shall take your comments into consideration.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very welcoming staff and nice room. Excellent dinner & breakfast at the downstairs pub / restaurant. Delightful location and we enjoyed walking around the village and taking in the sights. Can recommend and will stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the dinner and breakfast to be excellent.

We are very lucky to have a great location, and look forward to welcoming you back to Great Massingham in the future.

Many thanks,

Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This is not the first time we have had Sunday lunch at the duck with friends but were very disappointed this time although said nothing at the time as our friends had booked it. The beef was v rare and very fatty I asked for my gravy to be served separate and this was cold. Which only made my dinner colder and greasy (not "proper" gravy happy to teach them how to make proper gravy or jus as they call it today ) than it already was however no one from the serving staff bothered to ask if our food was okay my 89 yr old mother in law hardly touched her meal but no one bothered to enquire as to whether all was okay - seems to me that there is no check on customer satisfaction just living off their reputation won't be hurrying back

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

Firstly, I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us on this occasion.
Since your visit, I have addressed a number of these issues with the staff here as I was very disappointed with your comments on the service. I believe it is very important to check back on tables to make sure that all the food is ok, so I am very disappointed that it did not happen on this occasion, - I shall make sure that this does not happen in the future.

The beef that is often served on our Sunday roasts is a Roasted Rib of Beef (as stated on the menu) and this particular cut of beef does tend to be fatty in order to give it much more taste, but I can only apologise that you feel the cut served to your table was too fatty. However, I have passed your comments onto the chefs regarding the disappointment with the meal.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future, and that your visit will be more enjoyable.

If you would like to discuss this any further, then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed at the Dabbling Duck for two nights last year and receiving excellent service, we decided to use the venue again for a function. What a shame, the standard seems to have slipped.
Last year the attention to detail and service level was faultless whereas this time around things were very average indeed. Examples: Poor breakfast with a limited selection and running out of certain things such as the smoked salmon. Main meal with well done's being rare and some adult portions looking like they were chosen from the children's menu. Menu's that have gone from inviting and difficult to choose just one item to a 'what on earth is that?' Shower gels in the rooms not being replaced. Having to queue at a busy bar when you were part of a table of 20 to re order the wine..........
The Dabbling Duck is a beautiful place in the country but if it wants to retain it's reputation for quality service and command the high room rates, it needs to reinvigorate that attention to detail and personal service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezza773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Dabbling Duck, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry to hear that you was not pleased with your recent visit to us. We aim to maintain a high, yet casual standard of service here at The Dabbling Duck, so I am disappointed to hear that you believe our standards are slipping.

Firstly, I can only apologise that we had ran out of Smoked Salmon for one of the mornings of your stay, but we did offer a Sea Trout Kedgeree in replacement, and I am made aware that the Smoked Salmon was available again the following morning.

On from this, I am led to believe that my staff had some difficulty communicating with some of the guests and that there was much confusion, as many of the party could not remember what they had ordered on the evening, for which the host of your party apologised for.

Although it is no excuse, the evening was an exceptionally busy evening for us, as you mentioned 'having to queue at a busy bar' and although we are a pub, we try to get drinks orders at the tables whenever possible, - I am sorry that we could not manage that on this occasion.

We take your comments very seriously here at The Dabbling Duck, and I would like to add that we very rarely take bookings for a table of 20 on a Saturday evening. However, we made an exception on this occasion as we were aware of your previous visits to us. Therefore, I am very sorry to hear that it was a disappointment.

If you would like to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Mark Dobby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Massingham
12.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,325 reviews
5.4 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
817 reviews
13.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
875 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Kings Head Country Hotel
The Kings Head Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Great Bircham
441 reviews
10.1 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dabbling Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dabbling Duck

Property: The Dabbling Duck
Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Massingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Massingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Dabbling Duck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dabbling Duck Hotel Great Massingham
The Dabbling Duck Great Massingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing