We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday cottage, superb location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Herring House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Winterton beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denise M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday cottage, superb location.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Herring House for a week at the end of July. The accommodation is excellent, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The proximity of the property to local amenities is excellent. The beach at Winterton is lovely and during busy summer months it is still easy to find quiet stretches of unoccupied beach. It is a fantastic place to visit for dog owners where even the local pub allows well behaved dogs inside. Winterton-on-sea is a lovely holiday destination and we would definitely recommend staying at Herring House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaGriff...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My Husband and I travelled with our two small children to this beautiful place. Lovely small quiet village with an excellent Pub and restaurant. Accommodation was everything we could of asked for, well equipped with everything a family could want, including small detail like kids bucket and spades. 5 mins walk to the beach. Sand dunes literally just round the corner. Walked for miles whilst on our holiday. Had fantastic weather too. We will visit this place again and maybe bring the extended family. We had a lovely court yard garden with a BBQ and seating area. Very Homely and had a nice welcome from Richard the owner who gave us a tour to explain how things worked. Great communication. Thankyou Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Liked least: Husband found the bed a little hard for his back, but i was fine with it. just personel prefference
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia B
Cresse, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Truly Magical Christmas”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two dogs have just returned from spending what has best Christmas ever at beautiful Herring House, Winterton on Sea, Norfolk. From the moment we arrived, to be greeted by the owner, we knew we had made the right choice of property in which to spend our Christmas. Herring House is a barn conversion, part of a small complex of other holiday properties all belonging to the same owner so they can accommodate 20 people altogether. They are all very sympathetically converted and each footage affords great privacy to the occupants. Ours had two bedrooms and two bathrooms - great when our two adult children plus one other dog came to stay for two nights. The attention to detail is fantastic and the upstairs sitting room was beautiful and huge. The standard of furnishing was extremely high and despite its size the whole place was warm, welcoming and Cody, especially when we had a lovely fire in the wood burning stove - absolute heaven. Winterton-on-Sea is not second prize either. It is a wonderfully peaceful haven away from it all with a spectacular beach. Being able to walk to see the seals and their pups was a real treat as we're the visits to the superb village pub, The Fisherman's Return which serves brilliantly kept real ales and great home cooked food. We had a wonderful time at Herring House, so much so that on Christmas Day we booked for the same period next year. Thank you Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all truly wonderful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great property, so spacious and clean
Liked least: The modern housing overlooking the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
markt3857
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need in one place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

To sum up this place in one word - perfect! But that's really not enough!

Ideally situated in this beautiful village where everyone is friendly and helpful. We took our 2 dogs to the glorious sandy beach just 10 minutes walk away and there's a lovely café to rest by afterwards

You're every need in this property is catered for by Richard the owner and nothing is too much trouble for him. You have all the comforts you would expect to make your life easy, from the dishwasher and washer/dryer to the patio furniture and the barbecue

One bedroom has an en-suite and the other had bunk beds which was immediately next to the bathroom. Heating, hot water and towels are readily available!

Don't miss out on the lovely pub nearby either The Fishermans Inn and the local chip shop which cooks everything to order

We only stayed for 4 nights but wished it was longer. We will definitely be visiting there again

Don't miss out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing