We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Tranquil, Homely, Peaceful. Comfortable, Clean...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
41 reviews
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat
A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
The lounge, with comfortable seating area
The dining table in the lounge
The lounge with television and DVD
Just relax!!
The main bedroom, catching the afternoon sun.
Two single beds in the second bedroom
The bathroom with electric shower and heated bath rail
The floor plan in The Retreat
Childrens play area
The Lighthouse, a unique feature at Winterton, not a working lighthouse but now someones lovely home
The restaurant and bar with a view towards the dunes and the sea
A view of the unusual Hermanus Leisure Village huts
Sunrise at Winterton beach
Winterton beach, so much space for dogs to enjoy the sea.
Fun in the waves at Winterton beach
Mother and her new born pup at Horsey Beach
One of the many beautiful seal pups, this one was about two weeks old
A seal playing on the waters edge at Winterton
A view of the sand dunes, lovely dog walking area
Thurne windmill, a beautiful white windpump, well worth a visit.
Potter Heigham Bridge. You can hirer a day boat here and explore The Broads
Sunset on the Broads. A perfect end to a perfect day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ciaseahow...
Dunstable
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Homely, Peaceful. Comfortable, Clean Retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Excellent Break away from it all. Clean and comfy, welcoming holiday home.
Thank you Linda for the marmalade, tea, coffee,milk., and Doggie Treats, Such a kind Gesture.
Apoligies for the delay in My Review, but I have not been well.
Location was fab, near to dunes, and short walk to the Gorgeous Beach.
Dogs loved the green outside, and relaxed just as much as we did.
Would highly recommend and will definitly be booking again, and again to Family & Friends. Thank you so much!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for the review, I hope you are feeling better now. Would love you and the doggies to come back next year and I will pop up to meet the little ones!
Linda x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary1...
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
“Excellent - A Real home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, my young daughter, elderly parents and myself found the chalet to be of excellent standard and some very nice touches. We were in desperate need of some R & R and this was truly home from home. Wonderful decor and some very thoughtful additions, such as the games and children's toys and videos. Also the tea coffee milk etc. Thank you so much.
We crammed a lot in whilst we there, boat trip on the broads, strolls along the sea and we were lucky enough to see some seals, relaxing in the pool, a visit to Wroxham, fireworks in the evening at Hemsby.
Thank Linda so much you really have no idea how much this all meant to us, we hadn't realised until we arrived that it was called the "Retreat" and that really was what we all needed.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I can not fault the cleanliness, facilities and property. It certainly didn't have a holiday let feel about it. It was as though it was a real home.
Liked least: I can honestly say there was not anything we could fault or say we did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your review I just want the Retreat to be as homely as possible so people can really relax on their holiday.
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianpaula...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Retreat whilst our son was away on a school holiday.
What a fantastic find this was.
The Retreat is located on a small holiday site . It has everything on site that you could need.The accommodation is a true home from home right down to hot water bottles. The beach is a short walk away We were lucky enough to have seen the seals on the beach. There is a great pub a few minutes walk away The fishermans Return. Its food was fantastic and they served very large portions at a good price.
We will be booking up with Linda for a 2014 stay . This time with our son.
Thank you Linda for a fab 3 days.
Sian and Paul.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I really want everyone to enjoy their holiday and hopefully come back again.
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire140
Granborough
2 reviews
“A hidden jewel - fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is the first time we've visited Norfolk and we just happened upon the Hermanus site by accident. We originally booked a roundhouse on the same site, but all the days we wanted were fully booked so we managed to book two days in Linda's lovely bungalow and two in a roundhouse - and wished we'd just stayed in the bungalow (this is Linda's review so I won't go on about the roundhouses, but whilst they are great in theory, look very pretty from the outside, and the site is lovely and very friendly, the inside of our roundhouse was extremely dated and very, very tired and I wouldn't recommend them!). Back to 'The Retreat' - the minute you walked in the door you felt at home. Everything is so clean and smells lovely. There is everything you could need there for a very comfortable holiday, it is decorated beautifully, and definitely has that personal touch to make you feel like it's home from home, like an expensive hotel! The tea, coffee, milk, eggs and home-made marmalade (delicious by the way - thank you Linda!) were a fabulous touch, along with the dog treats for my dogs which they very much appreciated! And it was only a hop skip and a jump to the beach, and what a beautiful beach it is, it goes on forever, with the added bonus of the fantastic 'Dunes Beach Cafe' who do a wonderful breakfast. There is also a very friendly pub, 'The Fishermans Return', just a few minutes stroll down the road, who do lovely food (beware - very large portions!). All in all I couldn't recommend 'The Retreat' highly enough for a relaxing holiday and we'll definitely be back. Winterton-on-Sea is definitely a hidden jewel!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The dunes and the beach
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Thank you so much Claire for lovely review. I really have wanted to make The Retreat like home. My husband and I spent the morning up there today. Goodness was it windy but we put the fire on and in no time it was really cosy. I've been and bought some hotwater bottles as I have a few people booked in over the next few weeks and the weather forecast is not good. Anyway, it was lovely having you to stay and please let me know if you decide to come back. Kind regards Linda x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTweddle
Leicester
1 review
“more like staying in a home than a holiday place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very well maintained and equipped property with lots of little extras. It was very comfortable and clean and on a goog position on the site. It is in a good spot for exploring the area. The nearest beach a short walk away was beautiful. It is somewhere which would be suitable for families or couples of all ages.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort & Location
Liked least: Gravel car parking, made it alittle difficult for my 89yr old Mother to walk with her walking stick.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$58
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing