We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for an interesting holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The beautiful outdoor heated pool, with childrens pool at the end, open from May till September
The Retreat
A fully equipped kitchen, with electric cooker and hob.
The lounge, with comfortable seating area
The dining table in the lounge
The lounge with television and DVD
Just relax!!
The main bedroom, catching the afternoon sun.
Two single beds in the second bedroom
The bathroom with electric shower and heated bath rail
The floor plan in The Retreat
Childrens play area
The Lighthouse, a unique feature at Winterton, not a working lighthouse but now someones lovely home
The restaurant and bar with a view towards the dunes and the sea
A view of the unusual Hermanus Leisure Village huts
Sunrise at Winterton beach
Winterton beach, so much space for dogs to enjoy the sea.
Fun in the waves at Winterton beach
Mother and her new born pup at Horsey Beach
One of the many beautiful seal pups, this one was about two weeks old
A seal playing on the waters edge at Winterton
A view of the sand dunes, lovely dog walking area
Thurne windmill, a beautiful white windpump, well worth a visit.
Potter Heigham Bridge. You can hirer a day boat here and explore The Broads
Sunset on the Broads. A perfect end to a perfect day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CindySnoo...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location for an interesting holiday”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Friendly reception. Clean, tidy and comfortable accommodation
in an area where there is plenty to do and see. We liked the site
because it is quiet, near to the beach and enjoyable walks.
It is a great place as a base to discover the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hardly any noise, well away from passing traffic, quiet and peaceful.
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat. Winterton on Sea and the surrounding areas are really lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kateandro...
essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Retreat- what a great find, as is this part of Norfolk and the Hermanus park. The chalet exceeded our expectations- very nicely furnished, clean and fully equipped in quiet location and a mins walk to park facilities and 5 mins to beach through the dunes. Great value too. Been hassle free booking from start to finish. The welcome pack of homemade marmalade and Linda's chickens' eggs was lovely. We shall be back - we loved our stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will be looking forward to you coming back and will make sure the chickens keep laying the 'rainbow' eggs.
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmamall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely chalet great value”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed 2 nights booked short notice same day owner was very accommodating
Chalet is spacious with large comfy sofa and beds nice extras like tea coffee milk homemade marmalade which was great
Great value for april only £45 per night plus booking fee and sleeps 4

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed it, just sorry I couldn't leave you the free range eggs, as they had all gone to my family that morning. They will ready for you if you decide to visit Norfolk again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great accommodation with a personal touch”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I don't remember the photos giving too much away as to what to expect for this accommodation. When we got there, we found we were on the Hermanus site as the middle cottage/chalet (?) of three. We were the only ones around that had lovely hanging baskets outside, and a few personal touches inside (pictures etc.) - we could tell as we could look through windows as it was off-season :-). We were given basic supplies on arrival so we could make a cuppa, and this also included Linda's home made marmalade and free range eggs (who knew pancakes could be so yellow???) This was a great spot to enjoy the beach, which was a short walk away which both my son (13 year old, enjoyed the peace) and daughter (3 year old, enjoyed throwing stones - but note it's predominantly sandy) enjoyed immensely. It is only a five minute drive from Hemsby which has plenty of things to do, and fifteen-twenty minutes away from Great Yarmouth where we spent most of the week (being off season, where more things were open). We also went down to Horsey, the next village along, where on the way Poppys offered lovely breakfasts/lunches, and the car park led on to the beach where a twenty minute walk (back towards Winterton) enabled us to see literally hundreds of seals having a lie down on the beach (you do sometimes see them in the sea from The Retreat!). We're going back in August, will be interesting to see the difference visiting in peak season!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Lack of internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Looking forward to you coming back in August, I will order some warm sunshine for you. Eggs and marmalade will still be on the menu.
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jds38
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring beach and dunes.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at The Retreat for a short break in November. The accommodation was very welcoming and homely with lots of little extras provided by the thoughtful owner. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a well placed base from which to explore the local dunes and beaches. Wonderful seal-spotting location. Village boasts an excellent pub too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will come back when the weather is just a little warmer and see some more of our lovely Norfolk beaches and countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaseahow...
Dunstable
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Homely, Peaceful. Comfortable, Clean Retreat.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Excellent Break away from it all. Clean and comfy, welcoming holiday home.
Thank you Linda for the marmalade, tea, coffee,milk., and Doggie Treats, Such a kind Gesture.
Apoligies for the delay in My Review, but I have not been well.
Location was fab, near to dunes, and short walk to the Gorgeous Beach.
Dogs loved the green outside, and relaxed just as much as we did.
Would highly recommend and will definitly be booking again, and again to Family & Friends. Thank you so much!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for the review, I hope you are feeling better now. Would love you and the doggies to come back next year and I will pop up to meet the little ones!
Linda x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary1...
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
“Excellent - A Real home from home.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, my young daughter, elderly parents and myself found the chalet to be of excellent standard and some very nice touches. We were in desperate need of some R & R and this was truly home from home. Wonderful decor and some very thoughtful additions, such as the games and children's toys and videos. Also the tea coffee milk etc. Thank you so much.
We crammed a lot in whilst we there, boat trip on the broads, strolls along the sea and we were lucky enough to see some seals, relaxing in the pool, a visit to Wroxham, fireworks in the evening at Hemsby.
Thank Linda so much you really have no idea how much this all meant to us, we hadn't realised until we arrived that it was called the "Retreat" and that really was what we all needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I can not fault the cleanliness, facilities and property. It certainly didn't have a holiday let feel about it. It was as though it was a real home.
Liked least: I can honestly say there was not anything we could fault or say we did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your review I just want the Retreat to be as homely as possible so people can really relax on their holiday.
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing