We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bolthole
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bolthole
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Bolthole
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Socks118
1 review
“Lovely family break”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a great family 4-night break at the Bolthole in February Half Term. It was lovely and warm when we arrived on a cold evening. The wood-burner also made it very cosy. Single beds suited our two boys and the double bedroom was bigger than I expected. The kitchen had everything we needed.

Short walk to the dunes and a bit further to the beach. We would have been able to enjoy it more if the weather was a little warmer! Shop very close too which was convenient for some more logs.

The location was exceptionally quiet and we all slept soundly. Just what we needed after the noise of the city.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa W
1 review
“Fantastic accomodation”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for Christmas and were really impressed with this lovely cottage. The master bedroom was large enough to accomodate a travel cot. The location is very central in this fantactic village, only 2 minutes to the sandy dunes. Cannot recommend enough!! Only negetive is there is no bath, which can be a little tricky to manange with a small child.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: No bath
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie181
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb New Year break”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Had a fabulous break at the Bolthole. Shelagh is lovely to deal with and nothing is too much trouble.
The cottage is clean, cosy, comfortable and close to shop, pub and restaurant.
Seals on the beach an added bonus.......sooo cute.
Would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adastra10...
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage, great community”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this property for a long weekend (Fri-Mon), our only mistake was that we should have booked for more time. We should have known that it was going to be great when, less than 5 minutes after arriving, a couple staying in the property behind us came by, welcomed us, and we introduced our dogs to each other.
The property is very comfortable with a bedroom at either end, a functional kitchen, and a roomy reception room with wood burner. There is also a small dining room near the bath, again functional. The property has its own drive with closing gates, good for allowing the dogs to go in and out without worrying about passing vehicles.
The dunes and beach are very close by, wonderful place to spend time. Within walking distance is the Fisherman Returns pub, good food and service (having a bit of a remodel at the moment, makes busy periods a bit difficult to get a seat for dining). Also within walking distance is a fish and chip place, very traditional and very good (as well as incredibly affordable).
Only (minor) disappointment is lack of wifi at the property; my mobile wifi had very poor reception, probably due to proximity to the sea.
The Bolthole/Winterton-on-Sea is within driving distance of other Norfolk highlights (Broads/boating, Horsey-seals, Cromer/Sheringham), we look forward to visiting again for a longer period of time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, functional, great location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at the bolthole great location near to the beach. Great for walking the dog. Local pub excellent value and really good food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBGRRL69
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage - Perfect location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Bolthole is a gorgeous little cottage with some lovely decorative features that are really in-keeping with the village. The kitchen is so well equipped we were able to source local seafood etc and cook some quite complicated dishes without being short of equipment we have at home. The local area is very unspoilt but close enough to more lively destinations if wanted. The Fisherman's Return is a lovely local within a few minutes walk. The cottage was clean and tidy when we arrived and the furniture makes the cottage cosy and comfortable without being cluttered. The twin bedroom is really cute with lovely beds and decor. Some helpful information about the local area is provided in the cottage and I enjoyed reading a book on Winterton's history. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the garden much because of the weather but I enjoyed a G&T on the table when I could and the garden is nicely done. I especially liked the choice of herbs in the garden - especially useful as were were enjoying a bit of a "foodie" holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, the kitchen facilities and location
Liked least: Lack of Wi-Fi / 3G on my network (O2)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James J
Coleford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and comfortable accommodation in an attractive village”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Bolthole is comfortable and well-appointed. We had everything we needed. The village is very attractive and un-spoilt, with friendly locals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing