We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely bungalow in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of POPPYLAND

View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Back garden  Back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Back garden
Back garden
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
Poppylands private direct access from back garden to dunes and beach
Poppylands private direct access from back garden to dunes and beach
Front garden with parking for two cars
Winterton beach
Winterton beach
Winterton beach
Lounge with sea view,40 inch tv and free wifi
Lounge with sea view ,40 inch tv and free wifi
Lounge with sea view
Kitchen
Double bedroom with sea view
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Winterton dunes
Seals at nearby Horsey beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
toothfair...
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalow in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here last week. There were four of us and three dogs. The bungalow is very well equipped, clean and very warm. Contrary to the previous poster, we didn't find that the kitchen or bathroom were too small. They were totally functional and in keeping with the size of the property. Having the fridge freezer around the corner in the very big lounge was no problem at all as was only about two steps from the kitchen. There are three bedrooms: a double with a fantastic view of the sea, a twin and a single. All were nicely furnished and warm. The lounge was very big and had enough room for four adults and three big dogs. The garden was fully enclosed and dog proof as we have one dog who can escape easily but she didn't manage! The whole property was very well equipped and all the cleaning products and loo roll were provided, which is not usual. The wifi was very fast and we were able to access the computer at all times. We didn't watch the TV but it was very big. The highlight of the week was seeing the seal colonies on Horsey Beach. We were able to get within a few metres of them, which was fantastic. Also, the Dune cafe along the beach was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view from the house, the big enclosed dog-safe garden.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Different”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property itself is ideally positioned halfway between Winterton village centre and Hemsby meaning it's only a few minutes walk to either. Overlooking the dunes "Valley" it's the perfect place for walking your dog. Inside Poppylands you'll find a clean inviting building with everything you need for a relaxing break. We did find however that although clean and fully functional, the kitchen and bathroom were too small for our tastes. Having to go into the lounge area for the milk from the fridge when making a cuppa took some getting used to.

We enjoyed our stay but for us, because we travel around a lot in the car when on holiday, the speed humps ( 10 ) getting to and from Poppylands was a bit of a bind.

All in all however a nice clean well presented and comfortable holiday home even if it does have a few quirks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the location and had a brilliant holiday. The bungalow is very well equipped. It has everything you would need just need to take towels.
Dogs loved the enclosed garden and direct access to the beach.
We have booked a week next year and know we will have a good holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall the total relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pamela P
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well equipped, stunning views”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place ticked a lot of boxes for us. I was travelling with my elderly parents and young son and a dog. It is really dog and child friendly. It is secure, so once you close the gates the kids/dog can't get out and can run around happily in the garden.

My parents couldn't make the steps down to the dunes and beach, but they loved the views.

It was a about 15 minute walk for me (able bodied) into Winterton village and about the same down to the fair in Hemsby.

The bungalow is well equipped with things that I didn't expect like washing up liquid, tea towels, bath mat, cleaning things and plenty of toilet rolls.

It is really quiet here, the only thing we heard was the wind and the sound of the sea whilst we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View was amazing and so quiet
Liked least: Shower and I would prefer a dishwasher to a washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful stunning view”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Didn't need half the stuff I took. Only towels. Really tranquil stunning views. Ten minute walk on beach to fisherman's return that served excellent food and very dog friendly. Fish shop and shop there as well

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The slug in the kitchen! :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
1 review
“Idyllic Break”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are so happy that we found Poppyland and our first visit definitely won't be our last. We've recommended it to lots of family and friends already.
The chalet is fantastically equipped and in an absolutely amazing location. We were so happy with everything and the children were devastated to have to leave.
Couldn't have wished for anything more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing