We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tayside Hotel

Tayside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tayside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight at this lovely old Scottish hotel, evening meal was ok but not outstanding, the rooms were clean and fresh, breakfast was delicious, a good full Scottish breakfast. Would recommend this hotel, 90 pounds for the room and breakfast, pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraelayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
31
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hi

Stayed with brother and 2 kids for a fishing trip, 4 nights

The staff are excellent, Sophie (save the fish), Kirsten and Jo to mention but a few

Nothing was a problem, very helpful and friendly

We arranged for food to be delivered at lunchtime every day, was always bang on time and hot! Plus very generous portions

A bath would be nice but not a drama as good showers. Beds very comfy as well

Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuggyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were given a voucher for christmas for the restaurant at the Tayside Hotel. despite living in the neighbouring village, we didn't know of it's existence. We had a High Tea which was excellent, we couldn't finish everything we were given to eat! The food was delicious, the surroundings very comfortable and the staff very friendly and welcoming. So glad we found ot about this place, we will defintely be returning. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed in the Tayside hotel from 29-31 Oct 2012 along with 4 fishing friends and I must say it was a very pleasant experience.
The rooms were comfortable and the evening meals and breakfast were excellent and the staff were brilliant.
If I may make one suggestion to the hotel on behalf of myself and my fishing friends it is, the lack of a heated drying room for our wet waders and wet fishing clothes would be nice to have.
All the same we enjoyed our stay and I do hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We went into the Hotel which is quite close to where we live and our party was 3 adults and 2 children (aged 5 & 2 ). The staff were most welcoming and had stuff for the kids to do whilst they waited for their food. There is a good children's menu with as much soft drink as they can manage. All our food came promptly and it was good pub food, also great puddings.
Why go to these fast food places when a much nicer place, with better food is so close to Perth.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Good all round hotel. stayed here twice now while fishing the River Tay and you cannot fault it. Rooms clean and warm, good bar and meals are well priced. My only moan is the rooms do not have a bath, and after a day fishing on the river a soak would be nice. But the showers are hot. Good Breakfasts as well. WiFi as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is the 4th year we have stayed at the Hotel whilst having 3 days fishing on the Tay .Good food and friendly staff ,packed lunches provided for our days fishing and we caught fish ! Will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
3.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
7.7 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
5.3 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayside Hotel

Property: Tayside Hotel
Address: 51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tayside has been welcoming weary travellers with good food and a warm bed for over 100 years.Today we are proud to continue this tradition with genuine warm hospitality, well appointed Guest Rooms and traditional home-cooked cuisine all offered in a unique atmosphere where you can relax, unwind and take in all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayside Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing