We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome port in the storm!”
Review of Tayside Hotel

Tayside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tayside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very welcome port in the storm!”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Managed to get to this oasis of calm on a very snowy night in late November. The whole area was gridlocked and we had been stuck in traffic and worsening snowy conditions for the whole afternoon. Thanks to mobile internet, my husband was able to book a room whilst stationery in a traffic jam - yes they had a room, but would we be able to get there? Helpful Tayside Police officers near the Broxden junction assured us Stanley was reachable. We reached it and were welcomed by all the staff; the kitchen was kept open for other weary travellers making their way through the weather. Warm, welcoming and comfortable - helpful advice next morning on road conditions and big strong rugby players (also stranded) to get the cars moving! Highly recommended, whatever the weather!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
32
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

It's a bit off the main track but worth the de-tour! Staff are friendly & accommodating. Hotel fits the rating given. Felt is was value for money & so woud return.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob197050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the Tayside Hotel whilst on a fishing trip. I found it to be clean, comfortable, the staff friendly and the food of good quality (I am a fussy chef so that says alot!) In the evening, I even made a special request for something not on the starter menu and they were happy to oblige. I chose a fish main course which was really fresh and delicious (the owner said he collected the fish himself from Pittenweem). Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, ideal to set you up for a day on the Tay!

If I was being really picky, some of the public areas perhaps need a coat of paint, however, all in all, I thought this small hotel was great value for money. Catering as they do to the outdoor sports visitors, there is even a small tackle shop! I had a fantastic 2 days fishing and somewhere comfortable to retire to in the evening. I will definitely come back to this hotel when I return to fish the Tay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

The Tayside Hotel is about 110 years old and is currently undergoing renovation. But don't let that chase you away. The rooms are older, but it is a great old hotel. You even get a skeleton key! The bar is great with all the ghillies talking smack at the end of a day of fishing. The staff is a great bunch so willing to do what you ask. They even did a load of laundry for me in their machine since I couldn't find a laundry in town.

The hotel is geared toward the hunting, golfing, and fishing sports. They can get you a tee at St. Andrews, or a ghillie to fish a famous old beat on the Tay for a reasonable price. The breakfast was the best I had in Scotland.

The restraunt has great dinners too. Cool place. I'd stay there again. The only downside is that it is in a small town outside of Perth. Not much there. Probably best to have a rental car if you intend to stay there.

  • Liked — The ambiance of the bar and the 100 single malts available.
  • Disliked — Remote location in Scotland.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redsaidfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
3.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
746 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,213 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
7.7 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayside Hotel

Property: Tayside Hotel
Address: 51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tayside has been welcoming weary travellers with good food and a warm bed for over 100 years.Today we are proud to continue this tradition with genuine warm hospitality, well appointed Guest Rooms and traditional home-cooked cuisine all offered in a unique atmosphere where you can relax, unwind and take in all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayside Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing