We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballathie House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
507
222
67
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
222
67
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelafternoon teariverside roomdrawing roomoverlooking the riverfine diningextensive groundsdining roomlong drivewaycourse dinnercountry hotelwine listbeautiful hotelan overnight stayfirst classsalmonwedding party
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed just one night, it was a really relaxing break. We had a lovely room, looking right out at the Tay, our room was exceptionally quiet & we had a great night's sleep. Good shower too, even though the style of the room & bathroom was older, we had no complaints at all.
Someone has spent time training the staff because nothing was too much trouble, and most of the time our needs were anticipated before we even had to ask; extra (delicious) shortbread with our coffee, snacks with our drinks, and all at no extra cost.
For a totally relaxing break I would highly recommend this hotel, it also has beautiful grounds, must be fantastic in the Autumn when the leaves change colour.
Dinner is expensive at a fixed price of £45.00, and to be honest, this was the only part I found slightly disappointing. I thought the food presentation could have been better, my fish portion was small & I wasn't tempted by any of the puddings. There are plenty of places offering menus at this price (Monachyle Mhor, The Cross etc) - am afraid they're doing it better.
Breakfast was great though, and again, lovely views looking out over the Tay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieMacW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just back from spending 2 nights at Ballathie, well deserved 4 star rating. We were in the River Suite which was extremeley comfortable and the French doors in the lounge allowing us to walk outside down to the River Tay was the icing on the cake. Breakfast menu was very good a lot to choose from and the breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful, could'nt do enough for you. Grounds of hotel were lovely to walk around. A great place to go if you want to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank findhorn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The meal was good. breakfast was okay. just seemed to be lost in a generation. The assistant manager is great and helpful but seemed over shadowed. staff very warm. The manager seemed very allusive i tried to discuss a problem with him but he never seemed to be around. Maybe this is better as a wedding destination....

Room Tip: Inverness has a great view of the river
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thehiddenjewlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

stayed one night at the ballathie, well worth its 4 star rating, oozing class, large comfortable rooms, dinner expensive but worth every penny, breakfast just as good. no entertainment just a place to chill out, nice walk down to the river and around the grounds. Small complaint, WiFi free in sitting area downstairs free but charged in your room, strange? Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sap3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had a short break at Ballathie with my wife in January . Excellent service from friendly and efficient staff from the moment we arrived . We were staying for only one night and our room had a beautiful view over the River Tay. The evening meal and breakfast were first class and it was very relaxing it have a pre-dinner drink at a roaring log fire .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bodmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smoothy77, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Bodmas,

Your review of your recent stay at Ballathie House Hotel was appreciated by all of the team here at the hotel.

We are always seeking to find ways to improve our product and would be delighted to hear from you should there be anything you can think of to assist us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews