We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

So I visited the Ballathie House Hotel in June, and absolutely loved it. The first initial viewing is just beautiful, it reminds you of a castle. Me and my partner came for a meal here and I can't even explain it...... It was absolutely amazing food, the perfect tastes... the only way I could describe it would be ''Bursts of flavour'' ( a bit like a starburst....the one that oozes juice) just mmmmmm!!!!!!! I was always brought up to think fine dining may not fill you up but it was just absolutely perfect. such a homely hotel, friendly staff who looked after us well, a fabulous place to visit with stunning views of the river tay. Will come back for an afternoon tea experience soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RiseAboveX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

I cannot believe that we were asked by the manager (I think her name is Gail) to write a “good” review on tripadvisor. I am shocked! I really do sympathise with the hotel that things are not quiet going to plan, but to be blatantly asked to write a review? This is the height of desperation. We had an okay stay. The food was wonderful. The staff are badly trained. We would go back if we were on the same deal – Oh and Gail. I am sorry, this is not a good review; this is an honest one.

Room Tip: The Inverness room has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you need to charge your batteries this is the place the Staff I could not fault and the food was just perfect.although the location is off the beaten track its perfect for touring the area close to Dunkeld and Blairgowrie.
If you love fishing perfect location on river Tay we had a room at the riverside which was very peaceful.Its a shame they didnt have a pool but can,t have everything.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms over looks the river Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordersThecaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked afternoon tea at Ballathie House as a treat to ourselves, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel itself is a little off the beaten track, but very definitely worth the visit.
When we arrived, there were no tables in the drawing room as we had arrived earlier that our 3pm booking, but we were offered a table either in the bar or in a little alcove beneath the staircase, that overlooked the side garden. Our crockery and coffee arrived, followed 5 minutes later by a selection of fingers sandwiches and a cake stand full of home made bite sized scones with jam and cream and a selection of cakes. Everything was beautifully presented and very tasty. On leaving, we asked at reception for a brochure for the hotel..the receptionist explained that the brochures were being updated, but she was more than happy to give us a postcard of the hotel giving the website address and then took time to explain that any information we may require would be available on there. The three members of staff that we met were friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We took time to stroll around the well manicured gardens which overlooks the River Tay. This is a great hotel in lovely surroundings and we would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it if you were looking for somewhere to go for high tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Came here for one night last minute. The receptionist was very helpful finding us a room at the discount price. Even though it was the last room left we were not disappointed, the room was clean, spacious and had everything you required (tea/coffee/hot chocolate/sewing kit/shampoo/hair dryer/dressing gowns) the list goes on. Nothing was too much effort for the staff, they were extremely friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make us feel at home.We even got taken to a table with a better view for breakfast after we had chosen our table. Everything they said or did made us feel special. Jim will even advice you on what to drink at the bar :) The location was perfect for us as we just wanted to relax, it is very relaxing next to the river and the estate is great for walking and cycling. We will be back!

The only issue was the firmness of the mattress - too hard!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeDeeVee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in Ballathie for one night and it was never enough.
The hotel is brilliantly located near river Tay and the only music you can hear is the sound of birds and the river.
The food is fabulous and the rooms are so peaceful.
We will definitely be back soon to visit Ballathie for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What was meant to be a romantic special occassion, turned into a disaster!!! There was hair in our bed and not from someones head either!! Our meal was not served well. It just seemed as the dining room was always rushed with no clear direction. The food, once we got it, was great. I would not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The grounds are amazing. The trees, the river bank. Great for exploring in the heart of Scotland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamilton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,372 reviews
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: £73 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing