We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr,Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great 1 night stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Got a deal through 5pm for a1 night stay at this classy hotel on Tayside.Stayed in the main hotel in a lovely room.We were well looked after and had a superb dinner in the restaurant..The service was impeccable and the food excellent. Wouldn't have been disappointed if we had paid full price! Certainly delighted with the deal we got.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kersebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Kersebridge,

We really appreciate your fantastic review about Ballathie.

I will pass your comments onto our team, who I am sure, will be very motivated by your kind words – thank-you.

We do hope that you return for more than one great night.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    202
    62
    32
    25
See reviews for
112
478
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

One cannot go wrong with Ballathie House Hotel. It is looked after, in exquisite detail, by Jody Marshall. The staff members are friendly and personable, and the cuisine is perfect. After five days, we felt as though we were leaving old friends. We had a suite in the Riverside building - marvelous and luxurious. One can walk on the grounds, quite literally for miles. If in Perthshire, I recommend Ballathie House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear SHCarlyle,

Thank-you for your kind words in your recent review of Ballathie House Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are truly grateful to call you friends……

We look forward to you returning to our “luxurious” River Side suites next to the mighty Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

W stayed for two nits in the riverside building. Our room was perfect, comfortable, quiet and relaxing! and the added bonus of our own balcony!!!
On our first night we had dinner at the Bistro (the main hotel had a wedding) and on our last night we ate in the Hotel. At first we were nervous that the food at the bistro would be of a lesser standard, but both evenings the food was exceptional, each dish is well thought-out and cleverly put together! And not forgetting surprisingly innovative wine list!
ALL the staff were polite and attentive, you can tell a lot of effort has gone into staff training. We would happily recommend the hotel and it's restaurants to everyone! We will definately be back for more!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Jane S,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you balcony too. We appreciate your kind words.

Our staff are our biggest asset. They work long hours and receive a lot of satisfaction from seeing our guests smile. It is rewarding that we were able to make you smile on this occasion.

We hope it will not be too long before you return and enjoy our comfortable rooms

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the Riverside Annex. Well equipped rooms, very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the Tay. Delightful grounds to stroll in and all very peaceful. The food was excellent, one night we ate in their Bistro at the end of the drive as the hotel was busy with a wedding. `the Bistro was cosy and the food and service was as good as we had received the previous evening in the hotel. Good wine list.
Would recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful break in the country. You could almost cast a liner into the Tay from your bedroom window!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Paul W,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie House Hotel.

Our Bistro has become a wonderful addition to our hotel and it is a great success story of how a dedicated team can work together and achieve greatness. The team have been greatly motivated by your kind words – Thank-you!

We do hope you return soon to enjoy the sound of the Tay from your bedroom window.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location of the hotel together with the magnificent house and beautiful grounds is a treasure. The food is as good a quality as I have experienced and the staff were polite and attentive. Excellent value for money and a quality experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank philip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Phillip K,

We are delighted with your recent review of Ballathie House Hotel – Thank-you for your kind words.

We do hope you return soon to enjoy our hospitality.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Ballathie House is one of the finest country house hotels in Scotland. As a registered tourist guide I am lucky enough to take visitors,mostly American, around Scotland. As I plan the itineraries I select the very best accommodation then I know my clients will experience the very best of Scottish Hospitality. From the welcome at reception, to the bar, dining room everything is geared to giving you a wonderful stay in a beautiful location right on the banks of the River Tay. The owner Mr Miligan should be very proud of all his very caring and attentive staff, talented chefs and beautiful surroundings. We dined in the bar on this visit and the food was delicious, beautifully presented and complimented by lovely chilled white wine served by Stewart, who is the perfect barman, welcoming and chatty.Breakfast is a real treat taken in the dining room overlooking the river. The breakfast staff make the start to the day very pleasant with a good choice of cereals and fruits then the excellent cooked breakfast.
This time we stayed in the Sportsmens Lodges which are just a short stroll from the hotel. The rooms are a good size, very comfortable bed and the showers are wonderful and very refreshing.Plenty of parking.If you have dogs they are welcome in these rooms too.
My clients stayed in the Riverside Rooms and had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the River Tay. I have stayed in the main building before, so now I know that the same high standard is throughout the whole of the premises. A wonderful place as a base to explore Perthshire or if you are a keen fisherman/woman. Go on spoil yourself - even just once, but you will return, I promise.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Blackfaceewe,

It is wonderful to receive such a glowing review from a tour guide – thank-you.

Everyone here is working hard to ensure that we are able to achieve a high element of consistency. This will always be our goal and something we will always continue to strive for – it is rewarding to receive your appreciation.
We do hope that you return soon and enjoy everything Ballathie has to offer.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Good news first. Driveway up to Hotel done. Should last the winter. First impressions were fine, bit small but ok. No notice of what is where but fairly easy to find entrance. Check in at small desk in hallway a bit open to all and if you wished to complain, you would be letting a few know just by sitting fairly close. Room wasn't ready but as we were a bit early this was no problem. Did the check in which was ok. Intimated that we were going for a walk to Stanley and asked for directions to the pathway(an old railway line). Receptionist knew where to start but didn't inform us of the slight difficulty in getting down to the path. For those interested, the path is overgrown for large sections but passable just now. Might not be too clever in wet weather though. It's about 10km return, mostly flat apart from return up from Stanley itself. Room a bit of a surprise as we expected one next to extractor chimney, but got one at far side overlooking apartments. Very, very squeaky floorboards even in bathroom. A bit concerned about anyone below, but after a quick walk down to the Tay and round the side of the hotel, found that it was an extension section with only staff entrance below. Still noisy though for next door. Found bar round from reception/hall area. Small and cosy with bar staff, one, coming and going. This happened even at night when we gave up waiting at one point. Didn't notice price list on display but found prices a wee bit expensive but for where it was, this was acceptable. Meal in restaurant a bit strange. Two rooms next to one another, both full of set tables. One about 75% full most of time and the other with 2 couples only. As both were put next to each other, albeit with view towards River Tay, it was a bit stilted for atmosphere. Didn't get why we were both put into separate dining room? Dining staff attentive, perhaps a bit over attentive if that's possible. Wine list mentioned by others wasn't too expensive. You get what you pay for and there were cheaper bottles on offer. Unfortunately our selection wasn't available and we were shown 2 options without price. Picked well and wasn't overpriced. Food choice not brilliant but above average. Tasty but lacking in quantity and overpriced for both 3 & 4 courses. Both slept well and on going to bed noticed that it had been turned down. Or cushions flung on floor and corner turned back is nearer the mark. Slept well and looked forward to breakfast. Not buffet but fair selection of cereals etc and grilled/fried food on offer served quickly and efficiently. Settling bill, no problem and left after feeling fairly satisfied with stay. Would we go back? Not too sure, need to upgrade, change a few things in our opinion.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robeth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Roberth_8,

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

Many of our returning guests value the view of the Tay from the restaurant window. It is for this reason that we use the two window seats in our second dinning room. My appologies for not asking if you would like to sit in the rear of our main dining room. We will make this standard practice from now on – thank-you for pointing this out to us.

We do hope that you return in the near future to our haven on the Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,275 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
6.6 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,813 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Property: Ballathie House Hotel
Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing