We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ballathie 'is' Perthshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Ballathie to celebrate my wife's birthday; the last time we were here was about nine years ago so we already had some wonderful memories of this special hotel. We were not disappointed. The setting is SO beautiful and the whole place has such a wonderful feel. There is no doubt the staff are a tremendous asset as without exception all are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. When relaxing in the lounge one evening we were even asked by the owner if we were being well looked after! Just one small gripe though - I asked weeks in advance if our evening meal could have something creative on the menu for my wife who is veggie. We did not want the usual suspects veggie lasagna etc. that we see everywhere when a chef cant be bothered to make an effort. The menu had just two standard veggie options which for a restaurant of this quality is pretty poor. Fair enough when I complained a very different veggie option appeared which was very well received! But we should not have had to complain to see quality and creative vegetarian options when the rest of the menu has exactly that. However, this did not outweigh a wonderful stay and given the opportunity we would visit again tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary-with1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Gary-with1r,

The title of your review is exceptional complimentary – Thank-you!

Pleases accept my apologies from the team for the wrong vegetarian menu initially being given to you. Scott and his team, produce a daily changing vegetarian menu which compliments our main restaurant menu which showcases the best of Perthshire produce. It is not standard practice to ask twice before this is produced. For this we are sorry.

I am relieved to read that this did not have a negative effect on your stay with us. I do hope that we do not have to wait another 9 years before we welcome you back to our haven on the Tay.


Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in October using a Virgin Experience Two Night Break with Dinner voucher.

The room was a first floor riverside room overlooking the river Tay. The room was spotless This was possibly the most relaxing place we have ever stayed and we spent what felt like hours just watching the river and the fishermen.

The bar was small and cosy, and like the rest of the hotel, with friendly staff. The free wifi was very hit and miss though.

Dinner was outstanding, with the cheese trolley an unforgettable highlight.
After a good nights sleep we tucked into a excellent full Scottish breakfast, before heading out to explore the area.

For the second nights dinner we had to jump in to the hotel's Land Rover as the main hotel had a wedding. Just outside the grounds of the hotel was the bistro which only opens when there is an event taking place..
We were greeted by the same staff from the night before and the same menu, which again did not disappoint.

In summary this is a beautiful hotel and grounds with top quality food and staff and somewhere that we will be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkymre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear HKymre,

Thank-you for the extensive review about your stay at Ballathie.

I am sorry for the difficulties you experienced with the wifi. We are in the process of addressing these issues and hopefully when you return, these will be resolved.

It is rewarding to read that this did not taint your stay with us in anyway. I am delighted that you enjoyed all of the other aspects of our hotel including our Bistro.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Ballathie in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ballathie is a traditional Scottish country house hotel that retains all that is best in accommodation and service. From the moment you arrive until the time of departure the staff offer friendly and attentive service that is always delivered with a smile but never departs from being efficient and truly professional. The dining room and the food that it serves are a delight.

Room Tip: I would recommend that one of the superior rooms is chosen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear KandPwiltshire,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about Ballathie.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to be the most privileged man in Scotland to work with the team I do. They are a wonderful group of people who not only take pride in what they, but they enjoy making people happy. I will most certainly highlight your kind words to them – Thank-you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to “all that is best in accommodation and service”.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a quick night away to try a hotel/restaurant we had not previously visited. This is a quintessential country house hotel set in extensive estate grounds
Our bedroom was well below expectations - a very small double that was not really suitable for two people. The bathroom although a reasonable size was not as clean as it should be - grout missing from the tiles below the bath taps with pink mould and the shower screen need de-moulding in several places. The view of the river was good though once the jammed packed furniture was moved
However the restaurant was superb. Food quality was to a very high standard - pushing 1 star Michelin standard - service was excellent - a good experience
The above comments were pointed out to reception on our departure

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Gordonyates,

Thank-you for writing a review about Ballathie.

I have sent you a couple of private messages using the Tripadvisor messaging tool as I am very confused by your comments about your room. I am sorry that you have not received these messages to respond.

I would like to continue by apologising, because in fact, the room in which you stayed in, did have grout missing in two places under the taps. I have addressed this with our maintenance team who have rectified this issue. We however did not find any pink mould on the glass bath screen. I am sorry for any inconvenience to your stay this may have caused.

I would like however to point out, that when you initially made your booking, you were told that we did not have a river view room. On arrival, you were shown this room and you agreed that the smaller room was better for you as it had a river view.

I am very pleased that this did not taint your stay too much and that you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings of the hotel.

I do hope you return to the hotel to enjoy more of the “Michelin” standards you experienced.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

lunch at Ballathie is an elegant and undrstated event. Excellent food served in small and delicious portions in a country dining room with friendly and unpretentious service. The drawing room (where aperitivs, coffees and - later, afternoon tea - are served) is cosy, with large light windows looking onto the green lawn that goes down to the river. Fireplaces add to the ambience. Really a delightful place to come for lunch - if a bit off the beaten track. The House itself is very well maintained and the lovely long driveway leading up to it is a joy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katarina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Katrina T,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Ballathie is situated in the middle of a fantastic estate along side one of the oldest redwood forests in Scotland. Thank-you for appreciating some of our natural heritage.

We hope you return soon to enjoy the sun streaming into our drawing room.

Kind Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As a special Easter break for an important birthday, we went online and were most impressed with what we read about the Ballathie House Hotel. We booked up by telephone and arrived on Good Friday for a three-night visit.

The quality of the hotel, its staff and management, and its grounds, surpassed our greatest expectations. We stayed at the Riverside Annexe and were delighted with the accommodation, coupled with the patio access leading on to a grassed area with only about 20 yards leading to the banks of the Tay. Idyllic to say the least!

A special thanks to all at the hotel, including Jody the General Manager and the Head Chef for their great 'Bistro' evening on the Saturday.

Our first visit, but definitely not our last, and we have already highly recommended it to our friends and family. Not to be missed!

Kath C

Room Tip: We would certainly go back to the Riverside accommodation - great outlook and very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Fraser C,

Thank-you for writing a review about Ballathie.

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us when you were here. As I am sure you will appreciate, we are not always able to exceed all of our guest’s expectations – Although we do aspire. It is fantastic to read that on this occasion, all of your expectations were “surpassed”.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay in our Riverside rooms to enjoy the views from your private patio.

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a pleasure to return. The drive up to the hotel through beautifully landscaped gardens is an experience in itself. This visit, as with previous ones fully lived up to expectations. The hotel is full of character with a real country house feel, but is in no way "stuffy" and has a very relaxing, warm ambience. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the 5 course dinner was exceptional; all the dishes were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented, with plenty of choice. This is haute cuisine at its best and well deserving of the awards which have been given. The hotel grounds are vast and beautifully landscaped. It would be quite easy to spend a couple of days here just relaxing, without even venturing outside the hotel grounds! There are some very thoughtful touches like a croquet set in the hallway and complimentary umbrellas in the rooms. This is a hotel of exceptionally high quality and has become a firm favourite of ours.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms are ideal for anyone travelling with a dog or not wanting to stay in the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Vicki G,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie – Thank-you!

I am delighted that you enjoyed the level of service we have to offer at Ballathie. I totally agree with you, all of our staff have fantastic attitudes and get great pleasure in making our guests happy, it is a privilege for me to head such an inspirational team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ballathie and exceeding your expectations!

Best regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,334 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,044 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: £74 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing