We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballathie House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Lodge Perth(Scone)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
500
220
67
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
220
67
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelafternoon teariverside roomdrawing roomoverlooking the riverfine diningextensive groundsdining roomlong drivewaycourse dinnercountry hotelwine listbeautiful hotelan overnight stayfirst classsalmonwedding party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The food and service is excellent. The setting is peaceful and relaxing and the scenery is beautiful. A stress free environment.

The General Manager Jody Marshall is a real gentleman and is very warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in the riverside building which has great views over the river Tay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Malcolm167

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

It is very rewarding to read that you were able to unwind whilst you were staying with us. Ballathie’s geographical location is fantastic for unwinding. As we like to say – “Away from everything but in the middle of everywhere”.

We do hope you return soon to enjoy all of the spoils we have to offer here.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This country house hotel is amazing. We had a great time here. The dog was fully welcomed and the owner made a point of making us feel so welcomed. The location is great and the house is superb. Was clean, warm and traditional. That bathroom was very large and the room was really comfortable.
Dinner was a fab experience. Expensive, but worth every penny.
I would fully recommend and if you visit, make a point of wondering around the grounds, they were lovely. Great to find such a classy place that made us and the dog feel so very welcomed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Ellen 2464

We cannot begin to thank you enough for the kind words you have written in your review – Thank-you!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and they we were able to exceed your expectations. This something we always aspire to achieve, but not always get right. We appreciate your acknowledgement of this.

We do hope you return soon with your dog to enjoy our grounds.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a family wedding.
The location and hotel were excellent. We were put up in an apartment block situated just outside the hotel (recently built about 2000). The room was large with an outside balcony with table and chairs overlooking the River Tay. Absolutely stunning view and location.
The bathroom was enormous and beautifully decorated. My wife fell in love with the place.
The main hotel which hosted the actual wedding is built like a castle and is very old but tastefully decorated with old pictures and furniture. The bar was very small but prices were reasonable for a hotel. Only slight gripe was the buffet breakfast served on very cold plates which meant it was almost cold by the time you had arrived at your table. Reception and staff were most helpful.
Would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the Riverview apartments with a view across the Tay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Gary W

Thank-you for your kind words in your recent review about Ballathie.

I am sorry that your breakfast was cold. I have passed these comments onto our Food and Beverage operations manager, who assures me that stricter policies will be adhered to.

I am delighted that this did not taint your opinions of our hotel and that you enjoyed all of the other elements of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future to enjoy our haven on the Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for two nights for a wedding. First of all the good or excellent points. The food. It's extraordinarily good. I enjoyed my dinners in the restaurant immensely and whilst it's not cheap, it is worth every penny. The breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfasts I can remember (and I have had more than a few!). The wine list was very good and pretty reasonably priced. Some very affordable choices that revealed good quality and thoughtful purchasing. The service. Again, extraordinary. Really can't say much more than that. Everyone was super helpful and really, really friendly. The bar staff even at the end of the evening when it was really busy were understanding and patient when I couldn't decide which of their whiskys to glug with abandon.

The downsides. We stayed in the main hotel and had a room above reception. We were travelling with our daughter who is 5. She was in a put up bed in our room and there really wasn't enough room for us all. The room also only had a shower and our daughter only has baths. There were no other rooms but the hotel let us use a small single room with a bath for our daughter so that was okay. If you are a family or a couple that like a larger room, avoid room 3. Wifi - seen this in other reviews. Not good and feels parsimonious that they charge for such dreadful coverage. Kids. There's not much to do for kids other than long walks in the grounds which is fine but we've been to other hotels that provide a bit more for kids especially when adults are eating.

Apart from that, we'd recommend this hotel for a lovely romantic weekend break with your partner minus the children. Also, nice to see the owner wandering around chatting with guests and generally being the genial 'mein host'

Room Tip: Avoid room 3
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Lionel J

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such an extensive review about Ballathie.

I am sorry that you were allocated a room without a bath by the organising wedding party on your most recent visit. It is wonderful to read that this did not affect your stay with us. I am exceptionally proud of our reception team who were able to accommodate you with the use of a bath in one of single rooms at no additional expenses. I am sure this made your daughter feel like a queen to bath in her own separate room.

I look forward to welcome you back to Ballathie, perhaps on a short break week end, when we would be proud to showcase one of our larger rooms which are more suitable for families.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed in a river view room which was more like a junior suite. As others have said we thought the wifi was free in the room but paid the £15 and it did not work. Staff seemed surprised but obviously an ongoing problem.

Had a fabulous meal but a little irked that the fillet of beef was an extra £10.

Staff all charming and helpful and would definitely love to come back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank doctorlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Doctorlizzie

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

Please accept my apologies about the Wifi. This is an ongoing issue that has become more of a mountain to climb than what we expected. We have however started the trek to rectify this, and we hope it to be solved in the very near future.

I am delighted that this did not affect your stay with us and that you enjoyed your anniversary.

We do hope you return soon to check our progress with our wifi.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews