We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballathie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Today we went for a special offer lunch and we were amazed how wonderful it was. The food was great but mostly we were surprised of the sufficiency of the staff members in the restaurant. Althought there were only three staff members for all the tables, the attention to the detail was amazing. Those in Hilton and Gleaneagles should bow their heads in front of these guys. We would like to say a special thanks to David - the man in charge.
We will be back sooner than you think. We are planning to book a weekend away sometime soon. Thank you for your hard work!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Ballathie House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

We travel up to Ballater every october for a week and stop at the Ballathie House Hotel for sunday lunch on the way up. We rave on to our friends how nice the hotel, setting and food is. However this year was a huge disappointment.
Our sons and their partner travelled with us this year, and a table for 5 was booked for a 1.30pm lunch. Eventualy we received our starters at nearly 2.30pm. The starters and sweet course were excellent as usual but the main course was a joke. It was barely warm and the 4 of us that had beef received 2 very, very small slices. Following our request for some extra meat a full plate of beef slices were brought to our table. Had the staff suddenly found another cow somewhere?
Whether the large party that was lunching in a seperate room received the attention of the staff and the food!!
It really made us think twice about calling in again.
A huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makepeacefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The core of the hotel was build in the 19th century which gives the place a historic feel. The grounds are spaceous and lovely. At the entrance there are several rooms with fireplaces where you can relax with a drink and they feel very "homely". The staff is very friendly and laid back. They gave us some extras with our high tea for no extra charge and left out some drinks we had from the bar.
The food was good but not outstanding and I was somewhat disappointed. The staff, although very friendyl, does not seem to be very well trained on restaurant etiquette. Nonetheless, I would eat there again. Also some of the furniture in the bar really needs replacing with more classy items.
The rooms we stayed in was comfortable and spacious. Separate shower and a bath. Only thing missing was a minibar and the bed was a bit too soft for my liking.
All together a very nice hotel and worth visiting!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trustinsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed a night at The Ballathie House having stayed there once before - over ten years ago.
It's quite a way from Perth, so decided to stay on a Dinner, Bed and Breafast basis and all this for just £99!
The setting is amazing, being on the banks of the River Tay and many of the rooms overlook the river.
The staff were really friendly and helpful - far much more so than my last visit!
The food was delicious.
Whilst it's probably a favourite stay for fishermen and those that shoot or hunt, go on spoil yourself and experience the setting as you tour the area!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallathieManager, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for your review. It was nice to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The hotel is set in some of the most beautiful Perthshire countryside and it is a pleasure to stay in such a fantastic hotel.

The food is excellent and every meal that we had was absolutely perfect. The wine selection is also very impressive and very good value for the class of wines available.

The most impressive thing however was the customer service - we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and were looked after extremely well throughout the entire holiday.

We will definitely be returning - I would HIGHLY recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallathieManager, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I visited Ballathie for lunch and was very disappointed with almost everything. Although the atmosphere in the hotel was nice, and the hotel was still well decorated, my companion mentioned that she had visited before and was disappointed with the state of the grounds. I had the chicken breast which was not only tiny, but dry and overcooked, my companion had the steak which was tiny as well. The starters were resoundingly "fine", and presentation not the best. The puddings however were good. Sadly the service was also not up to par, the staff were unobservant and unattentive. As someone who was very much looking forward to this lunch, having never visitied Ballathie but heard good things I was not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mk0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallathieManager, Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2010

I am sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit to Ballathie.
It is always preferable to draw our attention to any problems at the time so that it can be rectified immediately.
I apologise for any inconvenience and would appreciate if you could contact me directly to discuss this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at Ballathie House Hotel on 24th July 2010, with my husband, parents and brother. We'd spent the day Caterham driving for my dads 60th, and as Ballathie's just 10 mins up the road from Open Road Hire, we thought it'd be the perfect place to stay and have dinner.
The staff were pleasant, the evening meal was delicious, and the rooms in the main house are lovely, with huge bathrooms.
However, our stay was let down somewhat by breakfast. There was a continental buffet, with 'seasonal fruits' - however, despite it being July in Perthshire, there was not a raspberry or strawberry to be seen - disappointing. In addition, the pastries were those really rubbish mini croissants and pain au chocolat.
Furthermore, the 'freshly cooked' breakfast, which was supposed to be cooked to order, amazingly arrived about 5 mins after we'd ordered it. 'Wow!' I hear you say, 'quick service'. Yes, that's as may be, but only because everything apart from the eggs had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp for some time, it might as well have been sitting out as a buffet. In addition, the sausages were inedible - I did think they perhaps just not to my taste, however the other 2 members of my party who'd ordered them, felt the same.
Very disappointing for the winner of Scotland's Rural Restaurant of the Year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gills3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
9.1 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,300 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
18.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,994 reviews
19.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: £80 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing