We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Chinese food with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade

Jade
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were in The Wirral last weekend for The Open. We hadn't booked a restaurant for Saturday night so looked on the web & Jade wasn't far from us. I called and spoke to Elaine the owner who was very accommodating & booked us a table for 4 at 8.30 pm. We arrived and the welcome was wonderful. The restaurant has approximately 26 covers therefore is bijou but not cramped and we didn't feel our privacy was compromised at all. The service was very friendly and efficient. They don't have an alcohol licence and Elaine suggested we bring our own, which we did and she supplied us with glasses together with cold water. We chose a selection to share of BBQ ribs, minced chicken with iceberg lettuce wraps & spring roll for starters to share. We asked Elaine for a short break before bringing 1/2 crispy duck & pancakes. For mains we chose chicken curry, sweet & sour Cantonese style chicken, spicy beef with pineapple & fried rice. The plates & food arrived hot and we all agreed that this was the best Chinese meal we had experienced. The value for money was also more than excellent. Well done to Elaine & her family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    13
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

On the recommendation of Tripadvisor and also a friend, I decided to try Jade cafe/takeaway for myself. Four of us went to try it out and everything I had heard about it was true. Elaine and her young waitress Beth were charm itself and also very efficient. The food was extremely tasty and freshly served, therefore nice and hot. We all chose starters followed by individual choices which we all shared. Each dish was delicious and with excellent portions we were not quite able to finish it all. We were asked if we wanted to take it away with us..Elaine then kindly suggested that maybe we should order less next time we came. In view of the very reasonable prices we said we would still order the same again as we had enjoyed it so much. We took our own wine, which kept the price down. A few people came in for takeaways but as their orders had mostly been phoned through, they were only there for a few minutes. We were not inconvenienced by them at all. The food was up there with the best Chinese restaurants on the Wirral and at half the price. I am sure I will be one of the take away customers myself, sooner rather than later!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BjbWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“perfect every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Jade Cafe in Greasby is such a brilliant Chinese have eaten here on many occasions and never had a bad meal always cooked to perfection.
Elaine the owner is so friendly and it constantly amazes me how many of her customers names she knows

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rita52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Simple restaurant, not lavishly decorated but clean,friendly staff,reasonably priced extensive menu, the star is the food, absolutely delicious.

A couple of things to note, there are a couple of items on the menu which require 24 hours notice. You bring your own drinks (not soft drinks as they sell them), this makes the overall cost very reasonable as a bottle of wine sometimes is 50% of the bill in other restaurants. plus you take drinks that you like.

Could not fault, we have been many times now so this review is based on the experience every time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cooly690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Since Jade opened in Greasby, I have not had chinese food from anywhere else! Every meal we have had, either takeaway or eating in, has been delicious. I would never want to go anywhere else! Ignore the negative reviews! Yes, people do come in and out to pick up takeaway food, but it is a small, friendly and beautifully clean place. I cannot fault it! Thanks for serving the yummiest chinese on the Wirral!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade also viewed

 

Been to Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing