We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Experience with Sue & Dave Scales and Saint Jean de Cole's Les Floralies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambres d'hotes at Puyfavard
Ranked #4 of 4 Villars B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Sue and David Scales have an exceptionally beautiful place and are terrific hosts. The property itself is exactly what you would hope for in the French countryside. Warm honey colored stone in the classic style with a beautiful courtyard in front and extensive gardens with pool behind. The interior is bright, warm and airy, decorated with French and English antiques making it totally cozy and inviting. They make you feel perfectly at home and the food that comes out of their kitchen is something you won’t be forgetting soon. The guest rooms are super clean, comfortable and decorated in a classic style. If you stay here you’ll spend half your time trying to figure out how soon you can come back.
This being our second trip to the area, we made sure to book with Sue and Dave and they gave us some great advice about our schedule, the timing couldn’t have been better. Just down the hill from Puyfavard is the village of Saint Jean de Cole. If you’re going to be in the area in May, make sure you set the second weekend aside for Les Floralies in this lovely village.
As if Saint Jean de Cole with its’ 11th century church and 12th century Chateau de la Marthonie overlooking the central courtyard isn’t heartbreakingly beautiful as it is, once a year the local farmers and artisans fill the courtyards and cobbled streets of the town with flowers and crafts.
The town straddles the Cole River via an arched 15th Century bridge and has been noted for having the “finest roofs in all of France”. Half timbered houses overhang narrow streets which, ridiculously charming and attractive at any time, are on this special weekend over the top with color and fragrance.
If you don’t speak a word of French it’s still easy to get the gist of what’s going on around you. The locals are in a holiday spirit and like small town people everywhere, use this type of occasion to catch up and laugh together. The rural French people are, somehow, a perfect complement to the flowers, food and crafts that make up Les Floralies.
Les Floralies is a local event, and while it draws its’ share of tourists you get the feeling that you’re the lucky outsider who’s been invited.
As travelers we often struggle to get the real feel of a place and can often arrive back home feeling that as much as we enjoyed it, we didn’t get to experience things that felt real or conveyed the true sense of the place we were looking for. Les Floralies at Saint Jean de Cole and a stay at The Chambre d’Hotes at Puyvavard will cure that, no doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shingwedzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

Sue and david are lovely hosts and from day one made us feel like one of the family. We only stay three nights at the house and at the end of very long days looking for property had evening meals with sue and david, sue is a great cook! The house is set in idyllic countryside and beautiful restored.Their location was great for Brantome, Nontron and the village of St-Jean-de-Cole.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

3 December 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Chambres d’Hotes at Puyfavard just outside the beautiful village of Brantome in the Dordogne region of France. The house was a beautiful restored maison –de-maitre, which was beautifully decorated to reflect the traditional French period from which it originates. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, nothing was to much trouble for our hosts and at breakfast we were served a full range of fruit, cereals, bread, warm croissants’, yogurts and were also offered a cooked breakfast! as well as an abundance of tea and coffee and fresh juice.
We also dined with our lovely hosts Sue and David Scales who made us feel like one of the family. We had two evening meals there and they were fabulous even better than some restaurants we have eaten at. A full four courses of dishes containing local fresh produce including wine and beers was served.
The house is set in scenic gardens with a lovely large swimming pool for the warmer months. The idyllic countryside surrounding the house has a range of activities to cater for both winter and summer holidays. We will definitely be back again at some stage.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Reviewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmealunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvai07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander les chambres du bas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bimota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villars hotels
2.8 mi away
Au Bord du Monde
Au Bord du Monde
#2 of 4 in Villars
14 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Les Demoiselles
#1 of 1 in Villars
5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Villars
Chateau de Villars
#1 of 4 in Villars
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Verte
La Verte
#3 of 4 in Villars
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chambres d'hotes at Puyfavard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes at Puyfavard

Address: Lieu Dit Puyfavard, 24530 Villars, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Villars
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villars
Price Range: £57 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chambres d'hotes at Puyfavard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing