We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - Highly recommend”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Retraite

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

trishEdin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent - Highly recommend”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There are so many positive things to say about this wonderful place that we've now stayed in twice with extended family,or just us and our beloved dogs. Having stayed in a number of french gites over the years we've found the quality can be hit and miss. However, here everything is to a very high standard and the quality is great.

The house has really great flexible space that works when it's just 2 of you and also when we had extended family join for some of the time including babies and toddlers. Cots and highchairs are provided. There is plenty good sized living space and configured in such a way that everyone can all be together or in different rooms. In the garden the same applies. It never feels crammed nor does it feel too big when it was the 2 of us plus pooches.

The pool area is lovely and the pool a good size and warm. The garden is lovely and all important with toddler and dogs it is fully secured in. Supermarkets are close by. Whilst it would be nice to have shops or eating places in walking distance they are a only short drive away. There is lots to see and do in the surrounding area and La Rochelle really is just an easy 30 mins drive away. Ile de Re is a must go to.

Alan was so helpful. The whole process of booking and getting keys could not be easier. Before you arrive, he provides lots of information in advance of the house, local area and things to go see and do. He or his caretaker are there at the end of a phone or email if you need something.

Having stayed there in 2015 and again in 2016 we would highly recommend as a great quality and flexible home from home.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola W
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“BEST HOLIDAY GITE RENTED IN FRANCE IN 8 YEARS”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a fabulous holiday home.We cannot recommend it highly enough. Alan has gone to great lengths to ensure that your holiday is perfect. The gite is equipped with absolutely everything you could ever need on a family holiday. To say this was a home from home would be an understatement. It was far better than home. Alan provides extensive advice and recommendations and is at the end of a phone should you need anything. Absolute luxury. The perfect place to spend a holiday with all the family of all ages.We will be back next year we hope.
Thank you

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We had a few comments about the wifi over the summer so we have now replaced the router and also have a range extender into the lounge. We have not experienced any interruptions in service since.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Long evening meals on the patio!
Liked least: Erratic wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big dining room off kitchen with access to garden
Liked least: Nothing dis-appointed
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie L
1 review
“My only regret is that I didn't book again this year”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Wonderful family owned home, with everything you could possibly wish for. My sister and my fur babies (dogs) had the most relaxing cosy holiday every. I would highly recommend. Alan and his family are marvellous hosts who cannot do enough for you. We had a couple of issues that were fixed within hours. I can't say how perfect this is for families. My only regret is that I didn't book for this year in time! I won't make that mistake next year.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything had been well thought of by Alan
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.