We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming House, lovely relaxing holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison Du Puits

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Surgeres, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jess L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming House, lovely relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for a week in early August and had a wonderful time. The house is in a very peaceful location but within easy reach of shops, restaurants and attractions. We spent a lot of time in the garden which is very sunny and pleasant, with a lovely pool. The house itself was immaculate and very nicely decorated and equipped with everything you need. Very nice to come back after a day out for a dip in the pool and a BBQ and a few glasses of wine outside. We didn't want to leave !

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Hi Jess Thanks for your review it means a lot to hear that people have enjoyed their selves at our property. We hope to be welcoming you back another time!!

Kind Regards

Tim and Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, great location and holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Located in village with good local shops and markets, an hour from La Rochelle and Poitiers , this is a fabulous house ( amazing bathroom and kitchen) and a sun trap by the pool. Lots to see and do, thank you so such for a fantastic holiday !

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous French holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was the first time we went to France as a family. We decided on the Atlantic coast around La Rochelle as it's wonderfully sunny and warm, but not the baking temperatures of the Med during August, which my delightful wife finds a tad challenging!!

The house was a delight; a wonderfully characterful place that was seriously roomy and very comfortable, English telly and wifi. Which meant my better half could keep up with Corrie (I've tried to wean her off soaps with more uplifting fare such as Mad Max, The Bourne Identity etc, but she just won't have it!), while I could read The Times and keep up with current affairs etc (yeah, right!).

The kids loved the swimming pool, and the garden was great for chilling out in with a bottle of red and some cheese and pate. There's a beautiful little French town, St Jean d'Angely, just up the road with some good shops and restaurants where we ate out a lot. La Rochelle was lovely, especially around the old harbourside at night with the craft market in full swing. Great for a wander after dinner! And just across the water, Ile de Re was so pretty!

A real advantage of this lovely old house is that although it's set in a sleepy little rural village, (the cockrel next door was in good voice each morning) it's only ten minutes from the motorway to Bordeaux, a truly majestic and historic city, and St Emilion, which was a stunning place to visit, both the town and the surrounding vineyards. If that wasn't enough, a mere 30 minutes away is this amazing marshland area that is crisscrossed with little waterways. It's called Green Venice, and you can see why. We hired a boat and paddled through this idyllic marshland countryside for a couple of hours enjoying a rather unique experience.

In the end, we really can't fault the place! A very pleasant and satisfying holiday with so much to do.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the whole property
Liked least: No sound insulation between floors which made watching telly difficult when the kids were in bed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Hi Ian

Thankyou so much for your kind comments we are thrilled you had such a fantastic time there and are pleased also to hear it was your first visit to the region. You are welcome back anytime.

Kind Regards

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Typical Gite in peaceful setting”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed recently Maison Du Puits for a family holiday and found it located in a small village with good amenities and easy access to La Rochelle and surrounding areas. the location was peaceful with little noise or other disturbances allowing us to relax and unwind.

The pool is surrounded by a wall and gates giving us peace of mind that children could not accidentally gain access poolside, the garden areas are spacious and generally tidy.

The house itself was clean and maintained, the rooms were large and comfortable. The pool could be considered small by some but we found it perfect for our children to mess around, swim and generally have a good time.

The service from the caretakers was good and we would happily stay again and would recommend this to other families.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thanks Nigel

Really pleased you had good time. We would like to point out to all future guests the size of the pool is 8.1 m by 4.6m and 1.2 m deep

Hope to be welcoming you back one day!!

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Date of stay: April 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, good weather and peace and quiet
Liked least: local restaurant was a bit quiet
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2012
Thanks for your kind comments

Kind Regards

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the lovely house and garden
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2012
Hi

We are glad we have "converted you"!!! You are welcome anytime. Kind Regards

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Date of stay: May 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing with the family - felt very homely
Liked least: Overall travelling time with the extended family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Dec 2011
Hi Matt

Thanks for your kind review, we are really pleased you had a nice time with your family and that the kids enjoyed that storm!! You are all welcome back any time.

Have a good Christmas

Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.