We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Country Retreat

Hillside Country Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Country Retreat
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hillside is a homely retreat on the outskirts of the main Tamborine village and it is/was/is lovely. Stayed in Lyrebird Suite - it's not a 5 star luxury spa, it's a solid, comfy, welcoming place complete with a decanter of port, a great breakfast hamper and a peaceful setting in the hills/bush. There's a pool/spa as well, if needed. The hosts were friendly and respect and it was great just to unwind and relax. Recommended

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank read_my_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Like being stuck in a spare room at a strange uncle's old brick shack with 70 year old decor and fading bedspreads.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barlysugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights with our dogs (One of the only places on Mt Tamborine you can take them). The cottage had everything you needed to feel at home. Friendly owners.

Room Tip: Get the cottage - lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We spent 2 nights in Gumnut Cottage. It's a good sized cottage with everything we needed. Comfortable bed with a lovely view out to the forest. Big verandah with a fantastic view down to the Gold Coast. The living area has 2 settees, TV, DVD player, radio etc, there is a dining table & chairs. The kitchen is fully equipped including a plunger coffee maker with coffee. We enjoyed our 2 nights here very much. Unfortunately the cottage was booked out for the Saturday night but we moved into the Lyrebird Suite for that night. This suite is very nice, extremely comfortable, nicely decorated and again has everything you would need. Only thing is, no view. We didn't have breakfast but if you do, then it is supplied on the verandah of the house - where you do have a fantastic view over the coast.
Loraine and Daryl were very friendly and welcoming without being over the top.
Do go for a walk in the bush at Witches Falls. If you're really quiet and you go early-ish in the morning (before too many people are tramping around talking at the tops of their voices) you may be lucky enough to see a Lyrebird. We went there twice and were lucky enough to see a Lyrebird each time.
If we return to Mt Tamborine, we would definitely stay at Hillside in Gumnut Cottage and would recommend it to you.
Compared to the South West of Western Australia, we felt that this place was quite expensive but it seems to be about average for this area and I presume it is because it is so close to Brisbane.

Room Tip: Go for Gumnut Cottage if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamborine Mountain hotels
2.6 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#3 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Villa della Rosa
Villa della Rosa
#4 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amore Bed and Breakfast
Amore Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Country Retreat

Property: Hillside Country Retreat
Address: 25 Leona Ct, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside Country Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing