We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away on the lovely Tamborine Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Tamborine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mt Tamborine Motel
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend away on the lovely Tamborine Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My partner and I recently stay at Mt Tamborine Motel. Chris and Vicki the owners were very friendly and helpful.
We looked at a number of options and found this to be the most reasonably priced accommodation in the area.
The view from our upstairs room was magical - even the downstairs rooms have pleasant views of the garden.
Our room was exceptionally clean and very well appointed with everything we needed for our short stay.
We will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The rooms are basic, we arrived on a cold night and there was only a one bar electric heater for the whole room. However, the staff did bring an extra heater when requested.

The towels are very thin, there is no heating in the bathroom and you are limited to 4 minute showers and have to wait 10 mins between showers because of water shortage, they are not on town water. There is no wifi for iPads or iPhones. The views from the motel were stunning.
I think for $165 a night our stay was not value for money.

The pub next door was cosy and had home cooked food, roast nights on Thursday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Motel is very nice neat with all the things that you require eg Microwave and toaster coffee making equipment and toaster. the rooms are clean and are cleaned every day if you require the view down the valley is just beautiful and as it was very cold , it was very misty ..The best thing is that iit is next door to the St bernards hotel where the food is wonderful , with a crackling fire and warm surroundings . all in all a wonderful long weekend.

our thanks to chris.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding at the MT Gardens last week and whilst not a 5-star hotel, was very friendly and suitable for our needs.

The staff are very helpful, and the pool is massive - unfortunately it was raining and we couldn't make use of it.

If you are looking for an affordable place to stay, MT Hotel is good.

THere is also a pub next door with music and food and is quite popular, but far enough away there isn't any noise.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We spent one night at Mt Tamborine Motel after attending a wedding at the nearby Heritage Estate Winery. My only criticism is that it is slightly overpriced but it's definitely cheaper than forking out around $400+ to stay for the obligatory 2 nights at any of the local B & Bs. The motel is clean and comfortable with lovely surroundings and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The motel could do with a refurbish but I would still recommend it as somewhere to stay overnight. (The resident peacock is beautiful!)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st level have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I really don't understand the negative reviews on this website. My sister and I had a lovely stay at Mt Tamborine Motel. Our room was very clean, had everything we needed including wine glasses and heating. The view was lovely and it was so nice to have breakfast on the private balcony, listen to the birds and watch the mist drift up from the valley and dissapear over the tree tops. As for complaints about hot water, maybe some impatient people cant wait one minute for the hot water to come through. Serve them right if they had a cold shower. Lol! We had lovely hot showers. Our room was nicely decorated, and although not a spacious room with the extra bed we required, it was definately adequate and for the price, good value for money. As for the tv, well, there is more to life than wide screen television. Thank you Vicki and Chris for a very pleasant stay.
Ro & Di

Room Tip: Well worth walking up the two short flights of stairs to the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Mount Tamborine Motel and had great views from our room. The property is a little tired but our room was clean and well presented and amenities are certainly suitable for a short stay, We had dinner at St Bernards Hotel next door which is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamborine Mountain hotels
2.9 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aaronlee Retreat
Aaronlee Retreat
#2 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.5 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tall Trees Motel
Tall Trees Motel
#7 of 8 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
1.6 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Tamborine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Tamborine Motel

Property: Mt Tamborine Motel
Address: 99 Alpine Tce, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tamborine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Tamborine Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of dramatic Guanaba Gorge, atop stunning Tamborine Mountain, Mt Tamborine Motel offers magnificent views from the balcony of your stylish room. Mt Tamborine Motel is conveniently located; •35 minutes to Surfers Paradise •50 minutes to Brisbane •20 minutes to Movie World, Dreamworld & Wet 'n' Wild Whether you are a family, a couple looking for a romantic weekend, or a business looking to host a corporate function, Mt Tamborine Motel can accommodate your needs in ambience and comfort. Our family owned and operated Motel offers the traveller and tourist real country hospitality in well-appointed rooms. Chris and Vicki Howes invite you to stay at their Mt Tamborine Motel, in the Gold Coast Hinterland. Come and spend a night, not a fortune and discover the best kept secret on Tamborine Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mt Tamborine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing