We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Place to Hold a Wedding Ukhozi Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Place to Hold a Wedding Ukhozi Lodge”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

With 30+ other people including small children spent 4- 5days at the lodge and it was an unbeatable experience. The lodges were superb, the safari tours unforgettable and the staff - house maids, restuarant,cooks, rangers and management were of the highest quality. Food was always well served and good quality and the wedding itself as a result of the efforts made could not be beaten. The staff alwaysworked with a smile and the house maids sang beautifully as they worked.
Everyone always went the extra yard and they made the whole experience a wonderland for our 4 year old grandson. The entertainment provided by the staff as part of the wedding celebration was wonderful with the local dancing and singing brilliant linked to the cooks drum play.

Room Tip: Its a fair way out of Port Elizabeth so hire a car rather than booking a taxi as this makes visiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at Ukhozi Lodge in September and had the most amazing 3-night stay. The service, across the board, was relaxed, friendly & unobtrusive but catered for our every need. Food was tasty and plentiful and our room was large and comfortable with a breathtaking view across the reserve. As it was still springtime, the water in the plunge pool & swimming pool was a little chilly, which was a shame and winter woollies were definitely required for the evening game drives – however on our return to the lodge we were welcomed with hot towels, a blazing fire and warming drinks… wonderful! This may not have been a vast, sweeping, open-plain experience such as you might get in XXX but we were blown away by the variety of game we encountered – getting up-close & personal with elephants, lions, rhinos, giraffes, zebra and many more. Louis, our ranger, was good company and very knowledgeable and fellow-travellers in our jeep were great fun. When we booked we were a little unsure about the prospect of sharing mealtimes with a group of strangers but this too turned out to be a really positive and unforgettable part of our holiday. Despite the long journey to South Africa and six game drives in such a short space of time it was one of the most relaxing stays we have had – we scored it “excellent” in every respect… and I cried when we left. Incidently, we stayed as part of a tailor-made package booked with African Pride and we would thoroughly recommend them also for quality of accommodation & hassle-free travel arrangements.

Room Tip: we stayed in U4 and U3 was next door, with similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came back from staying in Ukhozi lodge a couple of weeks ago and after staying there for four days we were very upset to leave. I cannot give this place enough praise, it is superb in every way.
The games drives are amazing you won't believe you eyes that you are seeing animals that you would never think you can get so close too.
Out ranger Tayla was brilliant and full or knowledge and enthusiasm.
The food and the service is impeccable.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on honeymoon and it was most definitely the highlight of our honeymoon. We stayed in the ukozi lodge and had a lovely lodge to retire to each night. The game drives were fascinating and we were extremely fortunate to have such a great ranger in 'Juan'. He was simply excellent and his knowledge knew no bounds. The food was quiet tasty and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. 3 nights was just perfect. We could not find any fault during our stay here and would highly recommend staying here if considering a safari.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Engynumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first safari and Go2Africa took care of everything! We just had to show up. Kariega Game Reserve and the Ukhozi Lodge were top notch. Staff, food, accommodations and our guide (Tayla) were the BEST! Our chalet was very comfortable and clean. I would and have already recommended Go2Africa and Kariega Game Reserve to friends that are interested in a safari. I cannot say enough good things about these two outfits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa100163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ukhozi at Kariega offers an intimate and luxurious experience-perfect as the start of our honeymoon and as our fist taste of safari.

Whilst all staff provided a warm welcome and impeccable service we are truly lucky to have been entrusted to Jaybe as our guide for the 5 days we spent at the reserve. With his limitless enthusiasm for his environment, his vast knowledge, thoughtfulness and humour we were delivered variety and excitement within our daily drives. Working outside of normal ranger duties he allowed us to view the big five from boat, canoe, at night and on foot - each experience unique to the last! We cannot thank Jaybe enough for his efforts.

The accommodation offered homely comfort, great views and was enhanced by the luxury of superb housekeeping and a nightly bed turn-down. Warm flannels and even warmer spirits awaited us on return from our evening drives. Within a large fire lit lounge tasty meals were served to a high restaurant standard and an authentic SA braai was offered twice weekly.

We left Ukhozi with great memories and an even greater desire to return. A truly incredible experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Ukhozi lodge for 3 night game experience & what an amazing time we had. We arrived at Kariega(make sure you have exact address for sat nav as ours took us 30km past) at 3pm in time for lunch then the tea time game drive. The room in the lodge was fabulous with private deck & plunge pool although it was a bit cold to use it, however the views over the bush were spectacular. We did 6 game drives including a night time drive. The whole experience was made so enjoyable by our ranger Juan who went out of his way to ensure we had the best experience possible & made sure we saw as many animals possible all very close up & personal.... No queuing in lines of jeeps like in some bigger reserves. Juan was extremely knowledgable & gave us lots of interesting info about the different animals & birds & was eager to answer any questions. Every drive we saw something different & stopping on the tea time drive in the middle of nowhere enjoying the peace & beautiful views with a glass of wine at sunset was memorable! The restaurant in the lodge was lovely the food varied and good quality with plenty of choice of wine which was always refilled. The first night we had a BBQ outside around a log fire the other evenings we ate inside, your ranger is responsible for a party of 10 & you eat on a large table with your party & the ranger except for lunch time. A tip if visiting outside the summer season... Take warm clothes for the game drives as its cold at 6am & 6pm. In conclusion the whole experience was fantastic & the staff were great. A special thanks to Juan for being such a great Ranger

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
8.1 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
216 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
6.3 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve
#1 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
1.0 mi away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#5 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Ukhozi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Ukhozi Lodge

Property: Kariega Ukhozi Lodge
Address: R343 | Between Kenton on Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Ukhozi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge truly captures the romance and intimacy of Africa. Nestled in the bush you will discover 10 superbly appointed air-conditioned luxury suites crafted from log, each with a private plunge pool and deck offering panoramic views of the valley. The Lodge boasts unique African-style lounges, restaurant and boma with an outdoor pool. Located in the 10,000 hectare private game reserve with close-up viewing of rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, hippo and other incredible African wildlife. Bird lovers will enjoy sighings of some of the 280 species recorded on the reserve. The safari experience includes twice daily safari drives with qualified guides, guided walks and a river trip as well as all meals, local beverages and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kariega Ukhozi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge South Africa/Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing