We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place - away from civilization ------”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As the website says - your experience starts the moment you step onto /into the boat which takes you to your lodge of choice. All the staff are wonderful and you feel truly relaxed and welcome. This is a wonderful tented camp, very close to nature and animals of all shapes and sizes ; great detail is given to your comfort and wellbeing. you are really on Safari - no T.V. and such and cloudy days the electric runs out and the generator kicks in till we are all tucked up in bed. Who wants T.V. anyway - the animals are just the very best entertainment , they never disappoint even on the wettest day. You learn more than the brain can absorb and store.
A truly wonderful experience - in every sense -----

Room Tip: River Camp is only four tents - more home from home and personal service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello Tammy600
We're delighted that you enjoyed the more intimate 'feel' we like our guests to experience while at Sibuya. Thank you! I'll pass on your great review to all at River Camp. We look forward to hosting you again. Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was such a lovely experience, we were the first tourists to see the brand new week old lion cubs thanks to Chris our ranger who was knowledgable kind and interesting, he loved his job and it showed. The food was excellent, some of the best we had on our holiday, this visit to Sibuya was the highlight of our holiday. It was first class from start to finish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Borntotravel...thank you for your superb rating...music to our ears! You were so lucky to see the lion cubs...they've hardly been seen since, much to everyone's frustration. Obviously the mother isn't too willing to subject them to prying eyes yet! Did you see the lovely pic that Chris posted on our Face Book site, of the mother carrying a cub in her mouth?. She was obviously moving it to a yet undiscovered hideaway. We look forward to hosting you again! Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Such a great experience we had at Sibuya forest camp. Ranger Bryan was an excellent guide! Knew the reserve as his own pocket, explained and taught us a lot about the wildlife. Moreover he was friendly, funny, witty and very sociable.
Beds in the tent were very comfortable, bathroom with all equipment needed.
The meals were delicious, kitchen staff really good and helpful.
Our family of four really loved everythina at Sibuya!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinniTG_teborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello Ninni TG & Family
Many thanks for choosing Sibuya! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with Bryan at Forest Camp....I'll pass on your excellent review! Hopefully we'll welcome you back one day! Best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just came back from SA & this was THE most impressive & memorable experience we had in this country!!!
We slept in really lovely tents and did 4 Games (2 at 6 am & 2 in the afternoon). Our Ranger Brian was really friendly & gave us a lot of information on the reserve & on the different animals we saw.
We were really lucky to see all of them really closely (lions, cheetah, elephants, zebra...)
The service, food & accomodation was excellent!

I definitely recommend this experience!
Thanks a lot !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hello Ge F
We're passionate about what we do, so when you're happy, so are we! Thank you for the great review, we'll pass it on to Bryan...so glad you had a wonderful time. We look forward to you returning one day...Sibuya means 'We have returned!'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed 2 days in November, during our honeymoon, during a period where the camp was empty. Ranger Werner was helpful and friendly, shared stories with us we would have never heard at other safari experiences. The tents are fantastic, the food delicious and plenty of it, the evenings spent by the boma unforgettable. The atmosphere is relaxed, while you're still being looked after around the clock. The game drives were spectacular and generous, and Chris and Werner made sure we got to see all we wanted, and a lot more. Thank you for a wonderful experience, it were the best 2 days of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskiaVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello Saskia
Thank you for the wonderful words on your Survey....we're so glad that you'll treasure your honeymoon memories at Sibuya. Thank you for choosing us! I'll pass on your praises to Werner & Chris...they'll be delighted as they're both passionate about what they do. Please return to Sibuya to celebrate your Anniversary... we look forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes & "Happy days" to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed with our family of 5 over the Christmas Holiday for 3 days. It was our first time in south Africa and our first game drive experience. We all really enjoyed our stay. The service and accommodations were excellent. The food was great and they even prepared a special festive dinner for Christmas. Our guide Werner was very knowledgeable and took special care with our family to explain everything about the animals, their habitats, etc. He was especially good with the kids. We enjoyed how they customized the experience based on the weather and interests. One day we went to the beach for a few hours between game drives, which was also excellent. We also had a river cruise drive one morning. We saw amazing wildlife in a very natural setting and the food and accommodations top notch. In addition it felt very private as we shared river camp with just 2 other families. a great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenandLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hello to Jen, Lyle and family
Thank you for your words of praise... such a review is music to our ears and especially to Werner! He remembers you well and sends his very best wishes. His passion is infectious and boundless, so we're very glad you experienced and enjoyed some adventures with him. Our Christmas Feast was a popular event apparently, as there have been many great reviews.
A news-flash that I'm sure you will be especially happy to hear, is that yesterday we were delighted to discover that we'd had two fabulous births overnight...a new baby buffalo and WOW! a tiny weeny new rhino calf!! Great news!
We hope that the next time you come to South Africa, you'll pay us a return visit....after all "Sibuya" means we will return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Being collected in Kemton, with secure parking, then cruised up the river with an experienced Game Ranger was the first of many pleasant experiences.
Drinks before a fantastic lunch on the banks of the Kariega river followed by an extensive game drive, with Rhino, zebra, cheetah as well as lion been some of the more. Otable animals to see.
The afternoon ends with a quiet trip back down the river. Some sundowners would have added a bit!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Alan G
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to fill in the Review Form. We truly appreciate it when our guests do this, as it enables us to keep an eye on potential problem areas and reassures us that people are having a great time! Your words of praise will make hearts happy... I will pass on to all concerned! Sorry to hear about the lack of "sundowners" though... your cooler box should have accompanied you on the return trip..... Apologies for that! But glad you still enjoyed the tranquillity. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
6.2 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
13.1 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
391 reviews
13.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
41 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge

Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: £305 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big 5 Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a 45 minute boat transfer from the village of Kenton-on-Sea to River or Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Luxurious Bush Lodge, situated just outside the main Reserve in a pristine indigenous forested valley, is accessed the same way and then guests are transferred by game drive vehicle to the Lodge. All buffet-stlye meals & beverages are included - as are canoeing, fishing, swimming, birding etc. Add-on activities at a nominal extra rate include massages, horse riding on the beach and golf. An abundance of wildlife from Elephants to Otters and prolific bird life await you. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced knowledgeable professionals who ensure a memorable personalised stay which will leave you saying 'Sibuya!' - 'We will return!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps And Lodge South Africa/Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing