We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$815
US$772
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$540
US$523
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$992
US$929
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
291
25
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
25
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskariega rivergame reserveboat ridenarina trogonbird lifesouth africasmall boatlion cubswonderful experiencetwo nightsmoment you arriveclose rangeour night stayhis jobhis passionfinal stopamazing days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We actually stayed at Sibuya (River and Forest Camps) in February 2013 and regret not posting this review sooner as Sibuya is truly magical and so are the staff and facilities.

Sibuya actually hosted our wedding (although I am not sure this is a regular occurrence) and they really made our wedding day and entire stay incredibly memorable and we will be forever grateful to everyone involved in our stay and that of our 20 guests from the UK, Switzerland and Holland.

We stayed for a total of 3 nights and feel Sibuya is excellent value for money in every way.

The food was wholesome, varied and delicious, served in a fantastic setting by the friendly team.

The tents are not tents! They are wonderful, luxury, outdoor living, all set in a beautiful position. The facilities are very clean and comfortable.

Brian and Werner (sorry if we've spelt that wrong) made our trip! All our guests loved their time spent with them on the game drives and activities. Both were very informative and motivated to show off the wonders of Sibuya with exactly the right balance of humour and ability to engage all age ranges and interests.

Ella and Charlene went the extra mile in all their organisation of our entire stay and made all our guests feel very welcome and enabled us to have the wedding and South African Safari of our dreams.

Thank you Sibuya and we will see you again for our 10th wedding anniversary when we hope to bring our new son Sam, who we know will love Sibuya as much as us and we know River Camp is perfect for families x

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniels14Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Greetings Sarah & Phil,
Hearty CONGRATULATIONS on the little addition to the Daniel family! We hope that Sam brings you a lifetime of joy. We're delighted to receive your wonderful review...many thanks for the kind words. We were honoured that we were able to give you the "South African Wedding Safari of your dreams..." During April, we had three weddings in one month...all very different but great fun! Looking forward to welcoming you back for the 10 year Anniversary! 'SIBUYA!' ...after all means we will return! Wishing you happy days from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our three night stay was enjoyable, but it could have been great if a few basics were practiced and a little more attention to detail.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, and Bryan, our ranger was fun, knowledgeable, willing and helpful. The reception was efficient and the accommodation was comfortable. The walks along the boardwalk were always exhilarating and pleasant. The main camp was basic but comfortable and the seating and swing seat along the rivers edge were much enjoyed.

The game drives were exciting and we saw most of what we wanted. The animals all looked in fantastic condition and seemed very relaxed. The refreshment stops on the game drives were really exceptional as we were taken to the most beautiful view sites, which were even equipped with tables, benches and toilets.

The food was good and always on time, there were a few choices during each meal, however the food cooled very quickly as the plates were never pre-warmed which was a detraction. Highlights were the Venison Baboetie, Venison chops and Roosterbrood.

Issues which would improve our experience are:-
1) on arrival we were placed in the front of the boat and driven straight into the light, but consistent rain. - Not pleasant
2) we were not advised that the drive from the gate to the camp was long (10 to 15 minutes) and not ideal for a small car. Signposting was not user friendly, and we became anxious and concerned that we had taken a wrong turn, inside a game reserve on our own, as it was getting dark.
3) there were tea/coffee facilities but no hot water, and no way to request it. What would have helped if regular deliveries were made with efficient vacuum flasks. A wakeup delivery of hot water would have been a great idea in the mornings.The stainless flasks that we had to collect from the Camp were not efficient and water only stayed hot for a while.
4) in the evenings, during turn down, a hot water bottle placed in our beds would have been much better than having to lug it along at night after dinner.
5) our LP Gas ran out during our stay and we could not shower in the morning. It was only replaced late in the afternoon after 2 requests. This is most inefficient and inconvenient and backup supplies should have been immediately available.
6) we were not given an invoice for the facilities used when final payment was made.

Room Tip: There is only Solar Power in the Tents, so be prepared.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aeraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings Aeraille! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review- we truly appreciate your input- thank you! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sibuya & made some memories to treasure with Bryan. Please accept our sincere apologies for the aspects that you enlist in your review. In response, I would like to mention that our 'Self-catering Option' is a very new experiment that is being tried during our quieter winter months, From your review it appears that we're still experiencing some teething problems. I've had a meeting with housekeeping to address your suggestions. Generally guests have hot water flasks available on request from the Guide or Camp staff & hot-water-bottles are usually placed snug in the beds at turndown during the winter months. The sudden cold spell caught everyone by surprise but I'm glad you at least got your 'hottie'! With regard to your Invoice - there would have been one available on request at Reservations had you returned there. In conclusion, hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise. 'Sibuya' means "We will return"...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would, and have already recommended Sibuya with no holds barred. The staff is fantastic and personable, knowledgeable and a good dose of humor thrown in. I felt that they really cared about my experience. I got fantastic pics of lions, Cape Buffalo, several groups of Rhino and a host of other beautiful creatures close up. Sibuya maintains an excellent balance between size and accessibility to wildlife. I appreciated my guide stopping for long periods, enabling me to photograph wildlife as they move around and rearrange themselves! An absolute fantastic experience all the way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ilseallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Ilseallen....thanks for the excellent review...very much appreciated & music to our ears as we pride ourselves in our more personalized approach! Would love to see your pics...perhaps post them on our Facebook site? you were obviously lucky with the lions, they've been elusive lately because of the cubs.Hope you'll revisit us in the not too distant future. Best wishes from the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

i just got back from a day trip at sibuya game reserve and this was just a wonderful day - thank you!
we were 7 ppl in a group and all of us enjoyed this unforgettable experience at sibuyas.
after a short (approx. 1 hour) boat drive, we had a yummy dinner at their camp, before getting on the car. chris is a very enthusiastic and nice ranger, which knows a lot of all the animals at sibuyas. we got the chance to see lions and some other animals of the big 5 - within 3 hrs!

thank you! i will recommend sibuya to all of my friends and colleagues, that will come to east london and capetown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Stev
We're so glad that you & your group enjoyed your Day Trip with Chris & made memories to treasure...this is music to our ears! Thank you for your great review! The next time you're in our area, please treat yourselves to the true magic of Sibuya by spending a night or two in one of our stunning Camps. We send you best wishes & look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were travelling from Ireland and we were given our overnight stay as a present from South African friends. From the moment we arrived till we left we were extremely well looked after. The accomodation, the food, the tour, everything ran smoothly. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny and made us enjoy our time. It was our 30th. Wedding anniversary so it was lovely to have a bottle of champagne and a card, which I still have on display in our apartment in Dublin. I highly recommend this place, you won't forget it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_Mullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Ana & Sean,
Congratulations on your Anniversary! We're so happy that you created memories to treasure here with us & rated your stay at Forest Camp with Bryan so highly. Maybe the next time you come to our beautiful country, you'll return to visit us...after all, "Sibuya" means "We have returned!" Wishing you "Happy Days"...best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews