We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2007

If you are reading this then you are obviously thinking about going, stop thinking and just book it!! We are already planning to go back!
I finished off my honeymoon with 3 nights in Riverlodge, and it was the perfect ending to our trip!
We headed here after 10days in Legends in Mauritius and to be honest i didnt want to leave Legends but when i got here i was pleasantly surprised!
The staff could not have been nicer. You are put into a group and assigned a ranger (Mike was ours - the best!), there were 8 in our group plus Mike. You have breakfast and dinner together with everyone in your group and lunch by yourselves. I could not compliment the chef enough, the food was gorgeous. There was great variety!
We had breakfast every morning at 7.30am and then went for our first game drive about 8.15am until approx 11.30am. You can then relax by the pool until lunch at 1.00pm. Your second game drive starts at 3.30pm until about 7.00pm, this drive is the best as the animals are more active in the evening!
Our ranger Mike was brilliant, he takes the most risks from all the rangers, it was just my husband and I on the last day so Mike took us to see whatever we wanted. Lions were up walking around staring at us, elephants touching me as they passed our truck (very frightening-remember these are wild animals, Ive never been so frightened and excited at the same time!) If you can get your travel agent to request Mike, you will not be disappointed! He will bring you so close to the animals, nearly too close and he will also keep you well entertained with his stories and jokes!
Missing it already, cant wait to go back!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Ker_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2007

We have just come back from a 3 day trip to the river lodge and all I can say is if you get a chance to go there - grab it with both hands as it was an incredible experience. The lodges were very nice and comfy , the food was great and the staff were so friendly that we felt like part of a big family. Our ranger Alan was extremely knowledgable and got us so close to the animals that we were practically sitting in their laps!! It was one of the most memorable experiences I have ever had .... fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pixcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2007

My partner and I spent four nigths at the Kariega River Lodge in mid January, 2007. We loved every minute. Beginning with our ride from the Port Elizabeth (which the lodge arranged) to our farewells several days later, we felt pampered and well attended. The main lodge was situated on The Bushman River and was a very comfortable place to relax and dine after the safari drives. Our cottage was spacious and also very comfortable especially the massive bed and shower. The staff were very kind and our safari guide Matt was very knowledgeable and obviously loved his work and the animals on the property. Our fellow safari-goers were also a real treat and we enjoyed the meals we shared. I would absolutely recommend the River Lodge to anyone.

Stayed: January 2007
9  Thank coryandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wubo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank juergb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
24.7 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
24.1 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
18.7 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
18.3 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge

Address: R 343 | Between Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea, Near rural route R72, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: £544 - £812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Bushman's River, this Lodge is unique in that it connects a Big-5 Kariega Game Reserve to the sea. Our optional daily boat cruises ferry guests through the quaint sea side village of Kenton-on-Sea. Inside the Lodge guests can find a quiet spot in one of the lounges, page through a book in the library, enjoy the pool or take in the view from the magnificent deck which overhangs the river. Twice daily safari drives, guided walks, river fishing, canoeing and river trips are included. Accommodation, all meals and local beverages are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
River Hotel Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge South Africa/Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing