We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Intsomi Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Victoria Mews(Grahamstown)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Fitness centre
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (248)
    Filter reviews
    248 results
    Traveller rating
    200
    31
    10
    7
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    200
    31
    10
    7
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsriver lodgebreakfast and dinnergolf cartgame reserveboat triphis knowledgewonderful experiencegarden routebush pigsouth africawithin secondsbig comfortable bedsafari experiencesense of humourwould return in a heartbeatblack rhinolovely group
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    132 - 137 of 248 reviews
    Reviewed 6 May 2013

    From the first moment to the last we were overwhelmed by the Whole experience. The game reserve ,the animals(up close and so life changingly brilliant), David our Fab ranger. He taught and showed us,with great tracking skills , and close co-operation with J.B and the other Rangers, so much about the wonderful Keriega Reserve.It's hard to put into words such an overwhelming life changing experience. All the staff at Keriega: Clive, Bonga and all the rest made our stay so memorable. So until the next Thank you. April n Peter Stead.

    • Stayed: April 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kareiga
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

    Hi April and Peter.
    Thank you so much for posting your lovely review about your stay with us at Kariega. We still feel inspired by the beautiful people and place that we are part of. You are now part of it too. Come and visit again anytime.
    Kind regards,
    Bronwen & the Kariega team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2013

    Our family of 4 stayed for 3 days. Our boys are 8 and 11 years of age. Our travel gent was able to get us into this lodge with children, I believe this was an exception as it is normaly for adults only. The property seems to be run down, the management was poor for a 5 star. The fois was often cold, late, or just a self serve style left out for too long.

    We had a golf cart t go to and from our room and they were poorly cared for, scary. The trail was so grown in on some corners the cart just fit. The property was lacking I the TLC department.

    We had the opportunit to do 3 safaries during our stay and this one was not a 5 star rating in comparison to the others, at best a 3 plus.

    As well, we sat with another couple that had been 2 years prior and they noted the decline in the property, food and service.

    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank theophraste
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

    We are indeed not a five start property but graded four star. We pride ourselves in offering comfortable lodging, personal and attentive service and an authentic safari experience.

    We apologise that you found the management and food disappointing. We have raised this with our team and really appreciate the feedback in order to maintain our service levels.

    We have also noted your comments about the path to your room. Maintaining our lodges is a constant priority and our team will attend to this.

    We believe that our offering is as good as it has always been but know that we can always improve. Thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback.

    Kind regards,
    Bronwen & the Kariega team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2013

    You come to a place like Kariega for the chance to see African wildlife and although we didn’t see all the big five, our encounters were breath taking. Thanks to our Ranger, JB, we were able to be right alongside black rhinos, lions and elephants including a week old calf. In a large reserve there is a chance you won’t see everything, we didn’t see a leopard or water buffalo, but Kariega does give you the sense of animals in the wild and not like some large zoo.
    River Lodge is certainly set at a stunning location. The accommodation is rustic and could do with some updating but the food was good. Driving to and from your suite by golf buggy sounds attractive but it means you can’t sample the inclusive wines too heavily. If we went again we would want a room nearer the Lodge!

    Our main grumble is that the timing of meals could be haphazard. When you need to be up and going by 6 am the last thing you need to be told was that your evening meal is delayed by over an hour or that breakfast is not ready when you return from that morning drive. Most of the staff were helpful but an explanation or apology for the delays would not have gone amiss. At the end of the day we enjoyed the overall experience which was heavily influenced by our Ranger.

    Room Tip: Suites nearer the Lodge avoid the inconvenience of having to drive a golf buggy late at night or in the early morning fog.
    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sandyknees
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed a great safari and wilderness experience at Kariega. We have passed on your compliments to your guide JB. Thank you.

    We apologise about the timing problems with the food as well as the lack of explanation/apology from our team. Thank you so much for letting us know. We have raised this with our General Manager who will take it up with the team at the lodge. We rely on feedback from guests to ensure that we keep improving our experience.

    Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

    Kind regards,
    Bronwen & the Kariega team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 March 2013

    We stayed 3 nights at Kariega River lodge and it was so worth it. The private bungalow we stayed in was great. The main lodge had lots of corners to while away the afternoon if one didn't want to do an activity. Service was good and food and drink plentiful and very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was luxurious with an intimate atmosphere and not over the top. Fab! Each guest also has a dedicated ranger and ours, JB, was great. Very knowledgable and professional. Handled the driving, guiding and hosting of us with aplomb. Quite impressive.
    The game park is huge and we saw loads of animals. But even when there were not many around it was nice to enjoy the scenery as it's a beautiful area.
    All was well organised and we totally relaxed and managed to forget the world outside the gates.

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Barbara B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 March 2013

    We spent our last two nights at the River Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect, next to the river and so peaceful - it looked beautiful at dawn. We were met at the gate by our ranger, David, who was with us most of the time, including mealtimes, and was a great source of knowledge and very enthusiastic about the animals and environment. We had an upstairs, spacious room which was comfortable. We had two game drives a day which were really exciting and our highlight was watching lions preparing for a hunt. It's hard to believe that we were so close to the animals and the rangers keep in constant touch with each other, via walkie-talkie, to recommend sightings. We saw all the 'big five' apart from a leopard which I believe is a rare sighting. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful, the food was great and the barbecue on the last night was memorable. When not out on a drive, it's perfect to sit on the settees by the river and read, or have a swim or go on the Lodge's boat to the nearby beach at Kenton. Thoroughly recommended. Jane & Ray

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jane C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

    Hi Jane & Ray,
    Thanks so much for posting your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Kariega River Lodge. Thanks for recommending us and we hope that you can come back again one day.
    Regards, Bronwen & the Kariega team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews