We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and so near Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning and so near Florence”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed while walking with friends from Sienna to Florence with Alternative Travel group. What a delight. The front door opened just as we arrived to a very warm welcome at the end of an excellent days walking. We were introduced to the family and to the house before being shown to our rooms. The room was excellent, very well appointed and certainly would challenge many a four star Country House hotel in the UK. The very large bathroom could best be described as typically Italian and full of character. The complimentary toiletries were memorable in being of an outstanding quality and presentation.
Wine from the owners own estate enjoyed in the garden overlooking the typically Tuscan landscape set the tone for the evening.
Dinner was one of the best meals on our holiday. Possibly as it was a truly Tuscan in style and presentation but we felt we were enjoying the dinner our hosts had cooked for their own meal. No menu, basically eat what is put in front of you, yes a simple either or choice for the main course, hotel keeping as it should be. Enjoyed with more wine from the estate.
We met all the family during our stay including Rocco the dog. All were charming and brilliant hosts.
We really want to keep this hotel our secret as we will be going back when we next visit Florence that is only a short bus journey away although we walked!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a walking from Sienna to Florence with Alternative Travel Group.
We arrived dripping wet after walking for 90 minutes in pouring rain and got the warmest welcome . The house is very lovely and dinner cooked by the family one of the best we had on our trip.We were upgraded to a beautiful room .The grounds of the hotel are charming and there is a pool.Don't hestitate to book Villa iL Leccio you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our tour group was welcomed to this beautiful property by an elegant and charming family. The grounds were classically Tuscany. The house had been restored and maintained with care and pride. The height of the visit was the dinner, prepared in true Italian fashion by the entire family, delicious and beautiful. I look forward to returning and taking advantage of being a guest at the Agriturismo for several days - walking the working vineyards and fields - absorbing the local culture and experiencing a truely relaxing luxury vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I spent one wonderful evening at Il Leccio as part of our Trafalgar tour of Italy. The scenary was fabulous, the food was wonderful, the house was fascinating (quite a history having been in the same family for over 100 years). The family cooked and served us our Tuscan meal and it was delicious. I would have loved to stay a bit longer! As we just visited for dinner I cannot review the over-night accomodations, but if the rest of the house is any indication, I imagine they would be great.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ottoindetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I and our 3 kids went on a trafalgar tour of Italy. One of the places they took us for dinner was il leccio for an authentic Tuscan dinner. The tour director wouldn't tell us what we were eating until after dinner. We had fabulous wine that they make at the villa. Dinner was homemade pasta with wild boar which was the best pasta I've ever eaten. Then they served homemade bread and wonderfully flavored and moist chicken. I still dream about that meal. It's owned by a family who were all generous hosts. If you travel to Tuscany make sure you font miss this true Italian gem.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutton1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent one night here on a walking holiday and enjoyed the luxurious surroundings. Our room was very spacious with a glorious view (a "superior" room). Breakfast was enjoyable near the medieval kitchen. Not far from Strada if you are eating out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed in the II Leccio follwing previous nights in 4 star Villa's with good service, food and the usual attention to care of the customer. This place stands up with the previous nights not due to the service , which was good and friendly by the way , but because of the whole experience. The house is a gem and dates from 18th century, the gardens and view from the Pool are are great and we were able to eat in the Garden a meal prepared by the family of good local Tuscan dishes. They were able to accomodate my wife's vegetarian menu for 4 courses as well.
The breakfast setting is worth the trip alone in a large Kitchen and Eating room.
It does feel a bit odd as you sit in the breakfast room eating whilst the family go about their business not really noticing you are there but we enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strada in Chianti
8.6 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
477 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
542 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
125 reviews
14.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villa il Leccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa il Leccio

Property: Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Address: Via Case Sparse 35, 50027 Strada in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Strada in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strada in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Villa il Leccio 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The story of this villa is also the story of the Landi family that lives there from nine generations. Old Medieval Tower House from the 1200, "Il Leccio" was transformed by the Landi family in Villa in the eighteenth century, and used as a country residence. Become prosperous farm in XIX Century with Emilio, and extended by the passion of his nephew Carlo, was finally converted into a beautiful country resort by his daughter, Maria Luisa. The recent restoration has brought back the original splendor of the halls, almost all painted, making the atmosphere sophisticated but at the same time warm and familiar. The villa has maintained its architectural integrity, with 11 rooms, as many as were those originally belonging to members of the family and its servants. Depending on their category they might have windows overlooking the inner courtyard of the Medieval Well, or the Tuscan landscape or on the shaded oak trees park which surrounds the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Villa il Leccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing