We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The good things first.
Jada and Paulo, who runs the place, is a lovely couple, nice and friendly,
The villa is exciting with lots of rooms and stairs.
Our room had a view over a beautiful landscape.
We were there when it was really hot so the pool was a nice place.
The things that we didn't like.
The villa was very close to a mainroad so you could here the trafic very loudly and
that also coused a lot of dust.
If you don't have a car there is not much to do. The buses are not frequent out of
schoolseason. There were few walking routes nearby and the village is not
hillarious.
The breakfast was too sweet for our liking, many cakes and most items were sweetend. You had to pay extra for cheese and eggs.
The room was a bit torn, some furnitures were rank.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

what a fantastic experience all around. The hotel grounds and rooms are charming and well maintained. The staff is outstanding. Paulo and Jada- what can we say??? you were the most warm and welcoming hosts we could imagine. We were instantly relaxed when we arrived and stayed that way until we departed. The morning breakfast worked well and the dinner at the hotel on Wednesday evening was delicous. Highly recommend this as a stay if you are visting Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

my wife and i stayed here for 5 nights recently....it's located about a half hour ride from florence and it's 15 minutes north of greve in chianti. the villa itself is very elegant and full of history. we enjoyed speaking to jada and paolo about the history of the residence. the highlight of our stay were the two dinners that we ate at the villa. both were exceptionally good - real homestyle tuscan food prepared by jada's mom. we would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you schedule at least one dinner at the villa. Also, there's a great restaurant just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmeadehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed while walking with friends from Sienna to Florence with Alternative Travel group. What a delight. The front door opened just as we arrived to a very warm welcome at the end of an excellent days walking. We were introduced to the family and to the house before being shown to our rooms. The room was excellent, very well appointed and certainly would challenge many a four star Country House hotel in the UK. The very large bathroom could best be described as typically Italian and full of character. The complimentary toiletries were memorable in being of an outstanding quality and presentation.
Wine from the owners own estate enjoyed in the garden overlooking the typically Tuscan landscape set the tone for the evening.
Dinner was one of the best meals on our holiday. Possibly as it was a truly Tuscan in style and presentation but we felt we were enjoying the dinner our hosts had cooked for their own meal. No menu, basically eat what is put in front of you, yes a simple either or choice for the main course, hotel keeping as it should be. Enjoyed with more wine from the estate.
We met all the family during our stay including Rocco the dog. All were charming and brilliant hosts.
We really want to keep this hotel our secret as we will be going back when we next visit Florence that is only a short bus journey away although we walked!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a walking from Sienna to Florence with Alternative Travel Group.
We arrived dripping wet after walking for 90 minutes in pouring rain and got the warmest welcome . The house is very lovely and dinner cooked by the family one of the best we had on our trip.We were upgraded to a beautiful room .The grounds of the hotel are charming and there is a pool.Don't hestitate to book Villa iL Leccio you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our tour group was welcomed to this beautiful property by an elegant and charming family. The grounds were classically Tuscany. The house had been restored and maintained with care and pride. The height of the visit was the dinner, prepared in true Italian fashion by the entire family, delicious and beautiful. I look forward to returning and taking advantage of being a guest at the Agriturismo for several days - walking the working vineyards and fields - absorbing the local culture and experiencing a truely relaxing luxury vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I spent one wonderful evening at Il Leccio as part of our Trafalgar tour of Italy. The scenary was fabulous, the food was wonderful, the house was fascinating (quite a history having been in the same family for over 100 years). The family cooked and served us our Tuscan meal and it was delicious. I would have loved to stay a bit longer! As we just visited for dinner I cannot review the over-night accomodations, but if the rest of the house is any indication, I imagine they would be great.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ottoindetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strada in Chianti
5.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.0 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villa il Leccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa il Leccio

Property: Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Address: Via Case Sparse 35, 50027 Strada in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Strada in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strada in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Villa il Leccio 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The story of this villa is also the story of the Landi family that lives there from nine generations. Old Medieval Tower House from the 1200, "Il Leccio" was transformed by the Landi family in Villa in the eighteenth century, and used as a country residence. Become prosperous farm in XIX Century with Emilio, and extended by the passion of his nephew Carlo, was finally converted into a beautiful country resort by his daughter, Maria Luisa. The recent restoration has brought back the original splendor of the halls, almost all painted, making the atmosphere sophisticated but at the same time warm and familiar. The villa has maintained its architectural integrity, with 11 rooms, as many as were those originally belonging to members of the family and its servants. Depending on their category they might have windows overlooking the inner courtyard of the Medieval Well, or the Tuscan landscape or on the shaded oak trees park which surrounds the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Villa il Leccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing