We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were very fortunate to be tipped off about this beautiful villa. The property dates back to the 12th century. They are doing a wonderful (and very costly) job of restoration. This is a family labour of love. The daughter of the current owner (Gianda), was our main contact. What a warm, wonderful person. Gianda and her mother ( Maria Luisa) do most of the cooking. Trust me, they know what they are doing! In addition to be a B+B, they also do dinners for larger groups, often on cruise line excisions. The property is very large.
We were very pleased with our large, very clean room. Gianda gave us a tour and some of the history of this beautiful villa, which was very interesting. They provided a really nice breakfast.
Overall, a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.
Below is a picture of a game hung on the wall. Obviously very old. They have no idea what is is or how to play it. Anyone out there have any idea??

Room Tip: Best if you have a car so you can travel to the nearby small towns and sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwil41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

A wonderful family, made myself and my group feel right at home... This was a wonderful experience.. Our tour guide Paulo was the best and really did an excellent job with all excursions.. All food and wine at the villa was excellent was really all made fresh! Thanks to all it was a fabulous time..

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Benfranco259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Villa Il Leccio was the home base for our 5day wine tour of Chianti. The owners are so warm and welcoming that our group (15 in all) felt like family. The food was delicious, the accommodations comfortable and the Villa so clean one could eat off the floors. Our guide, Paolo, was delightful and very knowledgable of the entire region including Florence. Should you decide to stay her you will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominiqueCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just returned from one of the best vacations we have ever taken and this was due in large part to our stay at Villa Il Leccio and the wonderful family who own it. We arrived for a six night stay after spending three nights in Florence. After the hectic pace of a city, Strata and especially the villa, were a breath of fresh air! We had a beautiful room, tastefully decorated, with two large windows overlooking the grounds. We loved hearing the history of the villa and seeing the furniture and unusual pieces that had been in the villa for generations. We felt most privileged to be able to stay in such a setting and become part of the family for a short time. Maria Luisa and her daughter Giada and son Gregorio made us feel so welcome. We took a cooking class at the Villa which was fun and toured the area with Paolo, a knowledgeable and friendly guide who really made all of our day trips fun, whether wine tasting or a trip to Cinque Terra. He anticipated everything and with his efficient and friendly manner, made our sightseeing smooth and stress-free. He was a real life-saver! Breakfast was delicious and bountiful with a variety of homemade foods as well as yogurt,cereals, fruit, etc. Meals in the evening were truly special and most of the ingredients were from the villa-olive oil, wine, jams,vegetables etc. On our last evening there, we were served a special dinner in the elegant dining room under a magnificent Murano glass chandelier with silver candelabras on the table. As the family gathered around we felt that we had known them for ages. We will most definitely be back. Anyone who wants the ultimate in luxury should stay in a five star hotel in a major city. Those who are looking for a true Tuscan experience in a beautiful villa with all the ammenities you need surrounded by warm and wonderful people should come to Villa Il Leccio. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our stay here was simply wonderful! The host family all take the time to talk to you, give you advice on what to see, where to park, where to go. All the type of insider information you need to know when visiting the Tuscan area around Florence. Breakfast and dinner (reserve in advance) are a complete delight! All homemade with fresh fruits, vegetables, oils from the property. The rooms are quiet, and the windows open up to a fantastic view of the property.
To those that noted that they could not find the personnel, found the rooms were lacking a full length mirror, a soap dish, etc... I say: Do not expect a full hotel service from an Agriturismo! In return you get a personalized experience from a friendly family with a wonderful sense of hospitality!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SamM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Having walked through some pretty uninspiring countryside and then Strada-in-Chianti - not the most attractive of Chianti towns, we were amazed and delighted by Il Leccio. We aqrrived, and had to hunt around to find someone to check us in. The villa is a treat - restored by the family who I think have owned it for 200 years, and still with original frescoes and furnishings appropriate to the age of the building. We had a lovely, traditional meal there accompanied by the Villa's wines. It was a truly special place. We had a four poster bed - but the decor was not chintzy or inappropriate. The inconsistencies noted by other reviewers are partly because it is not a hotel, only an agriturismo, and run by a very friendly family who I think have done a marvellous job. We weren't worried by mosquitoes as some had been - the owbers give you plug-ins. Altogether an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The villa is owned by the same family for at least 9 generations. Rooms and public areas are designed in retro style. The villa has a very nice garden. We ordered a dinner (don't forget to do it in advance), and the food was wonderful (although the wine was ordinary). In such an environment we was unpleasantly surprised by the fact that the owners save on small things: the bathroom was very very spacious, but the didn't place a tube, only a sower cubicle, and the cheapest one. There was no shelf in the cubicle, no place to put a bath whisp and soap; no shelf at the sink as well. No full size mirror. Bad hot water supply (I had to go for breakfast unshaved because of absence of hot water),

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strada in Chianti
5.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
583 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
436 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#3 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
112 reviews
8.0 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villa il Leccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa il Leccio

Address: Via Case Sparse 35, 50027 Strada in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Strada in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strada in Chianti
Price Range: £134 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Villa il Leccio 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The story of this villa is also the story of the Landi family that lives there from nine generations. Old Medieval Tower House from the 1200, "Il Leccio" was transformed by the Landi family in Villa in the eighteenth century, and used as a country residence. Become prosperous farm in XIX Century with Emilio, and extended by the passion of his nephew Carlo, was finally converted into a beautiful country resort by his daughter, Maria Luisa. The recent restoration has brought back the original splendor of the halls, almost all painted, making the atmosphere sophisticated but at the same time warm and familiar. The villa has maintained its architectural integrity, with 11 rooms, as many as were those originally belonging to members of the family and its servants. Depending on their category they might have windows overlooking the inner courtyard of the Medieval Well, or the Tuscan landscape or on the shaded oak trees park which surrounds the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Villa il Leccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing