We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glamping”
Review of Cuckoo Down Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottery St. Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cuckoo Down Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“glamping”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

have just returned from a weeks stay in bluebell yurt, my daughter & family stayed in buttercup. we had a fantastic time , the yurts are clean & so well equipped we didnt have to take any of the usual camping gear. the whole site has been well thought out, enough space between yurts for privacy but a really good atmosphere, the site owners are friendly & very helpful, we will go there again for another holiday. excellent choice for familys & couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, it is very much appreciated. Hope to see you here again some day.

Very best wishes,

Becky and John, Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Absolutely great glamp site for all! The safari tents are just gorgeous and the site has a stream, forest, huge big field, ponies, chickens and a very friendly dog. There is a compost toilet just outside your tent and little kitchenette also with all u will need including washing up liquid even. A lot of thought has gobe into it by the family abd it pays off - highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fushk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi there,

Thanks very much for the wonderful review, we so appreciate it. We're really glad you had a good stay here at the farm, hope to see you again here some day.

Best wishes,

Becky and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A four night stay in the most glorious sunshine, we stayed in a yurt at the top of the field with beautiful views over the woods and farm. Camping with a toddler and being five months pregnant it is such a luxury to have everything you need provided for you and ready set up, we really did travel light compared to previous holidays and thoroughly appreciated a comfortable bed to sleep in.

The site was very peaceful and tranquil with only three yurts and two safari tents in a large field, compost loos just behind the accommodation. It is then a lovely walk across the field to the barn with showers and also fridge/freezer/electricity points and washer/dryer. Our daughter thought the woods were fantastic and I think would have spent all her time there given half a chance.

The location itself is well-placed to explore the East Devon area - due to the wonderful weather we spent most of our time visiting the various beaches that are within a ~20min drive (Sidmouth, Exmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Branscombe amongst others - a mix of pebble and sand beaches and all beautiful).

Recommended, and would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello!

Thanks ever so much for your lovely review, we are very grateful that you took the time, it really does help the business so much.

Best wishes,

Becky and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in the new safari tent, called "Poppy", I think. Had an amazing time, the tents are massive, with two sofas, a six-person dining table, a log burner, two bedrooms, rugs, a veranda, and a separate, fully equipped kitchen for each tent/yurt.

It was a great stay - the owners have really gone in with the attention to detail; there's plenty of washing up liquid, firelighters, kindling and wood when you arrive at your tent. There's the little kitchen with a two ring burner and grill, all the cutlery and utensils you'd have in your home kitchen (tea towels and all!). The tents are really nicely decorated too, and, importantly to me because I like sleeping, the bed is comfy!

The surrounding area is pretty good for a holiday - we went to the River Cottage Canteen in Axminster (about half an hour away), Longleat (hour and a half), Paignton Zoo (forty-five minutes), Sidmouth (twenty minutes). There's also a great place nearby at Escot where you can ride around on Segways (awesome). Continuing the "attention to detail" aspect, the owners have put together a little 'welcome pack' leaflet detailing some of nice places nearby, that tipped us off on a lovely gastropub in Tipton St. John that we ended up having a lovely three courses (and single malt) at.

I suppose the important question is 'would you do it again'? And I definitely would.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review and for taking the time to write it, it is much appreciated! We're really glad you had a good time and thanks again for spreading the word.

Best wishes,

Becky and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Cuckoo Down Farm for four nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere we could relax, away from it all to enjoy each others company, whilst still being able to take day trips out if we wanted to. We stayed in 'Buttercup' one of the yurts. It was lovely and so romantic. The facilities were great. The kitchen has everything you need, the compost loo was fine, and we enjoyed toasting marshmallows on the fire. The stars at night are beautiful. We even saw some shooting stars. The farm is lovely. I enjoyed feeding the chickens and going for a stroll in the bluebell woods. Lilly the dog even joined us on our walk. Becky and John were great and really welcoming. I can't speak highly enough of the farm, the people, and the surroundings. We will definitely be booking for 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you had a good anniversary stay here at the farm.

Best wishes,

Becky and John Sheaves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed from Monday 3rd of June for the mid week stay. The 4 of us (including our children aged 6 and 4) stayed in one of the yurts. We had a fantastic holiday. The weather was beautiful for the duration of our stay, which added to the experience. There is lots to do in the area, but it is just so lovely that you could quite easily not leave the campsite!
The yurts themselves were really comfortable and very well equipped, there is a generous space between each of them. The meadow and surrounding area is just picture perfect. It was all very relaxing and we didn't want to leave. We enjoyed exploring the bluebell woods during the day and toasting marshmallows by the campfire during the evening. The wood burning stove kept the yurt cosy at night and we managed to get it to burn until the morning. The kitchen area is very well equipped, we were able to make a chilli one night, which is really handy if you don't want to eat out for dinner.
The children were able to enjoy a pony ride, Becky has such a lovely way with the children and took time to talk to them about the farm and the animals. They also fed the chickens and made a big fuss of gorgeous Lilly the dog.
I'm finding it difficult to give anything but positive feedback, but my one suggestion would be to perhaps put some non slip mats by the sinks outside of the showers as well as the ones inside the shower area (the shower area is very clean), to avoid slipping if the area were to get wet.
It was our first time camping and we all thoroughly enjoyed it and we look forward to returning in the future. Becky and her family do a fantastic job with the campsite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -joules03-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hello! Thanks so much for a wonderful review, it was fun meeting you all and the kids were adorable. We really are so grateful for you taking the time to write, we're so glad you all enjoyed yourselves. We will look into getting some more of the non-slip matting - good idea!
Best wishes,

Becky and John Sheave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed for four nights during half term in one of the safari tents, which was very spacious and well equipped. The accommodation is fantastic but it is the location and the fact that you are living in a field/meadow bordering on woods and with a stream running through it that makes it such a fantastic place, especially for young children.

There are only five tents in a huge field and you get a real feeling of peace and tranquility, with the only disturbance being the aircraft flying to/from Exeter airport, which can fly quite close and low and are noticeable early in the morning in particular. I didn't really notice them and it is a novelty for children, but for people not used to aircraft noise, it may be a bit distracting. Other than that though it is a perfect location.

Our young son loved running through the long grass (sometimes accompanied by the border collie sheepdog), feeding the hens, having his first pony ride, living in a tent (albeit a very luxurious one) and generally being free to run around, have camp fires and all the things kids love in a safe environment!

The owners are very hospitable and helpful and although the showers were a bit of a walk, they were piping hot and spotless. The kitchen was very well equipped and the tent had everything you could possibly need, including rechargeable lights. The compost loos are much better than they sound and are quite a novelty for kids!

There is an honesty shop stocking essentials and you can purchase logs and kindling for the wood burner/camp fires and there is an excellent local shop selling everything you need at reasonable prices.

We will definitely be returning and if you ever thought of 'glamping' but didn't go ahead, just do it! It's fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottery St. Mary
4.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ottery St. Mary
88 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Lamb and Flag Inn
#4 of 4 in Ottery St. Mary
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cuckoo Down Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Down Farm

Property: Cuckoo Down Farm
Address: Cuckoo Down Farm Lower Broad Oak Road | The Barn, Cuckoo Down Farm, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Cuckoo Down Farm near Sidmouth in Devon for relaxed, easy glamping for families or couples. Chose from three large safari tents and three spacious yurts, all with woodburners, kitchens, double beds, sofas plus all cooking equipment. Cuckoo Down Farm is 2.5 hours drive from London and SE, 10 mins from the M5 and A30. Stay in 25 acres of pretty meadows, light a campfire and explore three acres of bluebell woods. The farm is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, four miles inland from the World Heritage Coast at Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe. Lovely beaches and great gastro pubs nearby. Collect eggs, have pony rides and explore unspoilt Devon countryside on a beautiful farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuckoo Down Farm Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing