We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why Glamping was invented” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuckoo Down Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottery St. Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cuckoo Down Farm
Richmond
1 review
“Why Glamping was invented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Cuckoo Down Farm did nothing but impress us and as it was my family's first experience of glamping, we absolutely loved the yurts and our experience at Cuckoo Down Farm. Everything was thought of, down to supplying a vase of freshly picked flowers, to warm beautiful bedding and logs, kindling and matches ready to light the log burner. It was like being in a Enid Blighton novel! The owners are really friendly and welcoming, taking the 6 small children in our group on a pony ride in the morning and letting them collect eggs from the chickens. We were a group of 3 families and we all managed to eat together in the evening by moving our picnic table to one agreed yurt - the one in the middle - it worked really well. Hot running showers 24/7 an honesty shop and real peace and quiet of rural living. The children loved it, we loved it and will be booking again for next year. Thank you The Sheaves family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi, many thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Autumn here on the farm is so lovely - the colours are fantastic! Looking forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again, John and Becky and family + Lily!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Even if you think camping is not for you I urge you to give cookcoo down farm a try. Although it proved a little challenging with an 8 month old it was not impossible. The safari tent was beautifully decorated , clean and well equipped. My 3 year old loved riding the families beautiful pony Ebony . Lily the collie was also a regular and very welcome visitor. All the activities you could want were within easy reach from the wonderfully picturesque location. I could go on. It was a truly wonderful first family holiday.!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emwool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you had a good stay and very grateful for you taking the time to write up your review. You were lovely guests and it would be great to see you back here again some day.

Best wishes to you all,

Becky and John Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from just under a week away staying on the gorgeous Cuckoo Down Farm. We are a family of 4, 2 adults and a 6 and 9 yr old. We fell in love with the farm, the kids had so much freedom, making friends with other children and running freely among the forest and stream ( often accompanied by the lovely Lily, the sheepdog )Toasting marshmallows on our open fire pit was also a real experience for them. It really was a taste of 'old fashioned' famous five childhood. We stayed in one of their Safai tents, which are huge and really prettily and thoughtfully kitted out. The kids loved us lighting the wood burning stove and settling down with a hot chocolate and pack of UNO cards in the evenings . The little outdoor covered kitchen area is ideal and again well thought through. Becky and John the owners, were also very accommodating and friendly. Pony rides and chicken feeding a really lovely bonus. The surrounding area has loads to do, would have no hesitation in recommending Cuckoo Down farm as a fabulous family friendly glamping experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candaceimogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello!
What a lovely review, thanks so much. You were great guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to write about your holiday. Best wishes to you and all the family,

Becky and John Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiggington, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Quite frankly the best family holiday we have had. We stayed in the yurt Bluebell and my Mum & Dad stayed in Buttercup. Four adults and three children in two yurts, kiddies aged 11,8,5, The Yurts were beautifully presented, beds were super comfy, and the fresh flowers was a lovely touch.The kitchen outside had everything you needed to cook for a hungry mob each day and was easy to keep clean and in good order. The kids loved building a fire outside nightly , drinking hot chocolate, toasting marshmallows and keeping their feet toasty warm. There is so much space in the field where the yurts are the kids spent their time running around flying kites, climbing trees and talking to the chickens.
The owners were super helpful, they know the local area really well so as to recommend the best place to take a family of 7 out to dinner (not generally an easy task). You can see that they truly love what they have at the farm, they have put their hearts and souls into the place and I think that it is reflected in the atmosphere and attention to detail throughout the whole place.
There are lots of things to do as a family locally, Escot, beaches and the Eden Project is only 1.5 hours away, we found it easy to fill our week. Brilliant get away for families and couples, highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hello - thanks so much for such a lovely review - it really made our day and was very much appreciated. Hope to see you here again some day.

Very best wishes to you all,

Becky and John

Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is a lovely quiet setting with a lovely dog bounding around and having spent a week there I wanted to share my thoughts. The safari tent is spacious, sturdy and it is hard to challenge any of the information given prior to arrival. Yes, we knew we were glamping in the country and this would be fun, different and reliant on the weather. But its not all marvellous. The first night we realised the tent was full of large spiders - estimate around 25. We bought insect spray which helped and we got it down to around 5 per night for the rest of the week but I felt the management with a step ladder could have dealt with this better than I could by standing on chairs and tables in the dark. I felt the same about the weeds growing up into the bedroom under one of the beds. It was a long walk to the barn with the electrics and a few more than the 4 sockets would have helped. As would a suspended lantern in the tent or a lantern sent back to replace the one that was handed over because it wasn't charging. For £850 I didn't expect to buy my own matches or firelighters or only have one tea spoon. So all in all, it is nice and especially when the sun shines but after staying it felt around £200 over-priced and a little bit lax in terms of upkeep. Hope this helps others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinrhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hello there,


Thanks very much for your review and for taking the time to share your experiences here at Cuckoo Down Farm. We're glad you liked the situation here and had some positive things to say about your holiday.
We will certainly be looking at how we can take your suggestions on board. If future visitors have issues with being scared of spiders, please do let us know as we have a stepladder and are very happy to come and shoo them out. We will make an extra effort to do so from now on when we do the changeovers for new visitors. They are rather a fact of life in the countryside just at this time of year, though. It's a shame you didn't mention it at all when you were here - I did ask you if everything was all right and you said it was.
We are giving the issue of lighting a lot of thought and are just working on solar panels to provide overhead lights in the evening. Many apologies for the fact that you found one of your lights was not working properly. We will make this a priority for the future.
Overall, I would perhaps like to mention that you were unlike the majority of our visitors, in that you were here with your daughter who is in her late teens. I hope it is clear from our website and marketing that our sort of farm camping holiday is we very much aimed at couples and families with younger children, say 12 and under. Perhaps if you had picked somewhere a bit more teen-orientated, you might have had a better time. As you can see from the review below yours, written in the exact same week as yours, that other visitors were having a really great time here.
I can see that the cost for a week's holiday for two may have seemed a bit steep but the safari tents do sleep up to six, so this holiday can be economical for a bigger family or larger group. This particular rate is our peak season rate for the six-week summer holidays. A week's stay at other times here can cost as little as £475. Our yurts cost a lot less than our safari tents for a week and might have suited you better.
I'm puzzled that you felt you had to buy firelighters and matches, as we include a large box of cook's matches and a full packet of firelighters as part of your welcome pack on arrival. Once the first packet is finished, though, then we do expect visitors to buy the next one. Many apologies about the shortage of teaspoons, that was an oversight on changeover day – again I do wish you had mentioned it as we have spares.
It is really important to us that visitors go away feeling they have had a good time here and we make a huge effort to make sure that is the case. I only wish, in fairness, that you had let us know of your issues while you were here, so that we could have had a chance to sort them out on the spot.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment and rest assured we will be addressing the issues you have raised for the future.
Best wishes,

Becky Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from the most magical week spent at cuckoo down farm, staying in Poppy, the newest safari tent. The attention to detail is all there, but its the effect staying at this place has on you and your family.

When was the last time you let your kids go out until dark, whilst you sat by an open fire outside. For the family everything is there and i'd advise you spend as much time around the farm as possible. Becky and John and there family make you feel so welcome, and you never feel in the way.

Its the most beautiful part of Devon, tunnel like roads with trees, spectacular views, beaches nearby, I've never been so sad leaving a place.

Its not all for families, tents are spaced so far apart, and the owners could easily have had three times the amount of tents, but decided against and what a great decision that was - total privacy, would be as happy with just my wife or friends.

I've stayed in great hotels all around the world, but never have I returned feeling so relaxed - it beats any five star hotel I guarantee. I wouldn't even hesitate in booking this, it is a very rare find.
t

Room Tip: go for Poppy the safari tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel_stowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hello!

Thanks so much for your lovely review and kind words, they are very much appreciated. We're so glad you had a good time here - hope to see you here again some day.

Very best wishes to you all,

Becky and John

Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

have just returned from a weeks stay in bluebell yurt, my daughter & family stayed in buttercup. we had a fantastic time , the yurts are clean & so well equipped we didnt have to take any of the usual camping gear. the whole site has been well thought out, enough space between yurts for privacy but a really good atmosphere, the site owners are friendly & very helpful, we will go there again for another holiday. excellent choice for familys & couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, it is very much appreciated. Hope to see you here again some day.

Very best wishes,

Becky and John, Cuckoo Down Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottery St. Mary
3.5 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.7 mi away
Larkbeare Grange
Larkbeare Grange
#1 of 1 in Talaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ottery St. Mary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cuckoo Down Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Down Farm

Property: Cuckoo Down Farm
Address: Cuckoo Down Farm Lower Broad Oak Road | The Barn, Cuckoo Down Farm, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Cuckoo Down Farm near Sidmouth in Devon for relaxed, easy glamping for families or couples. Chose from three large safari tents and three spacious yurts, all with woodburners, kitchens, double beds, sofas plus all cooking equipment. Cuckoo Down Farm is 2.5 hours drive from London and SE, 10 mins from the M5 and A30. Stay in 25 acres of pretty meadows, light a campfire and explore three acres of bluebell woods. The farm is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, four miles inland from the World Heritage Coast at Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe. Lovely beaches and great gastro pubs nearby. Collect eggs, have pony rides and explore unspoilt Devon countryside on a beautiful farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuckoo Down Farm Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing