We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuckoo Down Farm
Nearby Hotels
The Tumbling Weir Hotel(Ottery St. Mary)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
94
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barncompost loosafari tenttoasting marshmallowslog burnerthe kitchenpony rideslarge fieldfridge freezerfeed the chickensrunning watermonday to fridaycomfy sofaskids enjoyed playingthought of everythingchildren agedgolden lion
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our family went to Cuckoo Down farm for three nights in November this year for my wife's birthday. We had a fantastic time! The Safari tent was robust with wooden flooring, plenty of space and perfectly warm and cosy with the wood burner on. It was such a luxuriously relaxing time being alone in the field. The beds were extremely comfortable and even though the temperature dropped below freezing at night we didn't feel the cold at all...we did take hot water bottles and thick socks though!

We'd thoroughly recommend staying here no matter what time of the year. My son was really upset we had to leave but we took with us great memories and we will be back! Thank you and thanks Ebony....

Room Tip: Take plenty of torches and/or battery powered task lighting for preparing food.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so much!
We're so glad you had a good time.

Best wishes,

Becky and John Sheaves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had the best weekend at Cuckoo Down Farm - there were three families and we booked all three yurts. We were a bit anxious driving down as it was raining and cold however the yurts were lovely and warm with the wood fire in each of them, very comfortable bedding and a great set up with your own toilet and kitchen per yurt. The weather cleared up and we really loved an open camp fire, sharing meals with the families at the picnic tables provided and having a hot shower each day. Plenty of things to do in the area as close to Beer and Lyme Regis and the farm has sheep, ponies and chicken plus loads of space for the kids to run around. We'd highly recommend it. There are 2 safari tents as well which are very gorgeous and definitely worth considering as they have 2 separate bedrooms, a lovely lounge area and a wood burner that you can also cook on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi, many thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing again next year. John and Becky and family + Lily!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Cuckoo Down Farm did nothing but impress us and as it was my family's first experience of glamping, we absolutely loved the yurts and our experience at Cuckoo Down Farm. Everything was thought of, down to supplying a vase of freshly picked flowers, to warm beautiful bedding and logs, kindling and matches ready to light the log burner. It was like being in a Enid Blighton novel! The owners are really friendly and welcoming, taking the 6 small children in our group on a pony ride in the morning and letting them collect eggs from the chickens. We were a group of 3 families and we all managed to eat together in the evening by moving our picnic table to one agreed yurt - the one in the middle - it worked really well. Hot running showers 24/7 an honesty shop and real peace and quiet of rural living. The children loved it, we loved it and will be booking again for next year. Thank you The Sheaves family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi, many thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Autumn here on the farm is so lovely - the colours are fantastic! Looking forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again, John and Becky and family + Lily!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Even if you think camping is not for you I urge you to give cookcoo down farm a try. Although it proved a little challenging with an 8 month old it was not impossible. The safari tent was beautifully decorated , clean and well equipped. My 3 year old loved riding the families beautiful pony Ebony . Lily the collie was also a regular and very welcome visitor. All the activities you could want were within easy reach from the wonderfully picturesque location. I could go on. It was a truly wonderful first family holiday.!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emwool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you had a good stay and very grateful for you taking the time to write up your review. You were lovely guests and it would be great to see you back here again some day.

Best wishes to you all,

Becky and John Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just returned from just under a week away staying on the gorgeous Cuckoo Down Farm. We are a family of 4, 2 adults and a 6 and 9 yr old. We fell in love with the farm, the kids had so much freedom, making friends with other children and running freely among the forest and stream ( often accompanied by the lovely Lily, the sheepdog )Toasting marshmallows on our open fire pit was also a real experience for them. It really was a taste of 'old fashioned' famous five childhood. We stayed in one of their Safai tents, which are huge and really prettily and thoughtfully kitted out. The kids loved us lighting the wood burning stove and settling down with a hot chocolate and pack of UNO cards in the evenings . The little outdoor covered kitchen area is ideal and again well thought through. Becky and John the owners, were also very accommodating and friendly. Pony rides and chicken feeding a really lovely bonus. The surrounding area has loads to do, would have no hesitation in recommending Cuckoo Down farm as a fabulous family friendly glamping experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candaceimogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hello!
What a lovely review, thanks so much. You were great guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to write about your holiday. Best wishes to you and all the family,

Becky and John Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews