We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday”
Review of Cuckoo Down Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottery St. Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cuckoo Down Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are just back from 4 fantastic days staying in the yurt Bluebell and we now cant wait to book and go back again! The whole experience was perfect and our 2 children (5 & 7 years old) loved every second of it. The site is picture perfect and allowed the children so much space and freedom. The adjacent wood and stream provided hours of fun for hide and seek, den and dam building and the huge field allowed for games of football and endless running around. The highlight of the holiday was probably a pony ride on Ebony and of course the delightful Lily who both children still miss! Thank you Becky and John for such a memorable holiday. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. We're so glad you had a good time!
Best wishes
The Sheaves family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my second visit to Cuckoo down farm, and we fell in love all over again. We were a group of 5 families, and booked all 3 yurts and both safari tents. Our children ranged from 5-11, they all had so much fun playing and exploring! We made dens in the woodlands and played in the stream.
We had glorious weather and the site was just beautiful.
We had everything we needed and the kitchens have everything you can think of. The yurts and the safari tents in my opinion are perfect,with shabby chic interior and are high standard glamping accomodation!
We had planned a few day trips but we didn't leave site really as we were having too much fun! We played ball games, frisbee, cooked on the fire pit, explored the woodlands, some of the children went pony trekking and we walked into Ottery St Mary for a cream tea.
The farms dog Lilly, is so lovely, she became part of our family over the weekend.
Becky and her team were helpful, friendly and at the end of the phone if we needed anything extra or had a question.
I could go on and on, but my overall opinion of the weekend is to experience it yourself and find out how wonderful it is. I'm booked again for June and we are booking again for end of season.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank NVisick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much for a really lovely review, it made our day! Glad you had a great time, and see you again soon,

Becky and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Took a risk booking a week in early April but we were lucky and had fantastic weather! We stayed in Daisy, one of the Safari Tents and there was loads of space especially as only 3 of us. Fab place for young children to explore and enjoy nature. Lovely family who run the farm and Lilly, their dog, is a fantastic with kids .

Our daughter had her first pony ride on one of the little ponies and loved it. May have sparked a new hobby for her.

We could not fault the holiday in any way! We will be back!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and all your kind comments - we really appreciate it.
Best wishes to you all,

Becky and John Sheaves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our family went to Cuckoo Down farm for three nights in November this year for my wife's birthday. We had a fantastic time! The Safari tent was robust with wooden flooring, plenty of space and perfectly warm and cosy with the wood burner on. It was such a luxuriously relaxing time being alone in the field. The beds were extremely comfortable and even though the temperature dropped below freezing at night we didn't feel the cold at all...we did take hot water bottles and thick socks though!

We'd thoroughly recommend staying here no matter what time of the year. My son was really upset we had to leave but we took with us great memories and we will be back! Thank you and thanks Ebony....

Room Tip: Take plenty of torches and/or battery powered task lighting for preparing food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so much!
We're so glad you had a good time.

Best wishes,

Becky and John Sheaves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had the best weekend at Cuckoo Down Farm - there were three families and we booked all three yurts. We were a bit anxious driving down as it was raining and cold however the yurts were lovely and warm with the wood fire in each of them, very comfortable bedding and a great set up with your own toilet and kitchen per yurt. The weather cleared up and we really loved an open camp fire, sharing meals with the families at the picnic tables provided and having a hot shower each day. Plenty of things to do in the area as close to Beer and Lyme Regis and the farm has sheep, ponies and chicken plus loads of space for the kids to run around. We'd highly recommend it. There are 2 safari tents as well which are very gorgeous and definitely worth considering as they have 2 separate bedrooms, a lovely lounge area and a wood burner that you can also cook on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi, many thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing again next year. John and Becky and family + Lily!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Cuckoo Down Farm did nothing but impress us and as it was my family's first experience of glamping, we absolutely loved the yurts and our experience at Cuckoo Down Farm. Everything was thought of, down to supplying a vase of freshly picked flowers, to warm beautiful bedding and logs, kindling and matches ready to light the log burner. It was like being in a Enid Blighton novel! The owners are really friendly and welcoming, taking the 6 small children in our group on a pony ride in the morning and letting them collect eggs from the chickens. We were a group of 3 families and we all managed to eat together in the evening by moving our picnic table to one agreed yurt - the one in the middle - it worked really well. Hot running showers 24/7 an honesty shop and real peace and quiet of rural living. The children loved it, we loved it and will be booking again for next year. Thank you The Sheaves family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi, many thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Autumn here on the farm is so lovely - the colours are fantastic! Looking forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again, John and Becky and family + Lily!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Even if you think camping is not for you I urge you to give cookcoo down farm a try. Although it proved a little challenging with an 8 month old it was not impossible. The safari tent was beautifully decorated , clean and well equipped. My 3 year old loved riding the families beautiful pony Ebony . Lily the collie was also a regular and very welcome visitor. All the activities you could want were within easy reach from the wonderfully picturesque location. I could go on. It was a truly wonderful first family holiday.!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emwool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuckooDownFarm, Owner at Cuckoo Down Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased you had a good stay and very grateful for you taking the time to write up your review. You were lovely guests and it would be great to see you back here again some day.

Best wishes to you all,

Becky and John Sheaves

Cuckoo Down Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cuckoo Down Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Down Farm

Address: Cuckoo Down Farm Lower Broad Oak Road | The Barn, Cuckoo Down Farm, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Cuckoo Down Farm near Sidmouth in Devon for relaxed, easy glamping for families or couples. Chose from three large safari tents and three spacious yurts, all with woodburners, kitchens, double beds, sofas plus all cooking equipment. Cuckoo Down Farm is 2.5 hours drive from London and SE, 10 mins from the M5 and A30. Stay in 25 acres of pretty meadows, light a campfire and explore three acres of bluebell woods. The farm is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, four miles inland from the World Heritage Coast at Sidmouth, Beer and Branscombe. Lovely beaches and great gastro pubs nearby. Collect eggs, have pony rides and explore unspoilt Devon countryside on a beautiful farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuckoo Down Farm Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing