We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing nursery, wonderful restaurant.”

Otter Garden Centres, Ottery St Mary
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relax in our garden centre restaurant with a luscious latte and a slice of homemade cake, freshly baked daily. Or why not enjoy a delicious homemade lunch with daily specials including, lasagne, fish & chips, steak pie and sunday roasts. All our food is locally sourced and freshly homemade by our team of chefs. Each of our restaurants also include an outdoor eating area which can be enjoyed (weather permitting).
Dorset
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing nursery, wonderful restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Went to the garden centre whilst on holiday in the area. Decided to have a light lunch at what was a busy restaurant. The service was excellent as there was at least 4 check out stations open so hardly any waiting time. We had a toasted duck wrap which was tasty, hot and delivered quickly. It was worth every penny and I can thoroughly recommend the restaurant if you are visiting the garden centre.

Helpful?
1 Thank CrichtonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    103
    46
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went for breakfast on our way to a further destination, the restaurant was quiet this Tuesday after the Easter bank holiday monday. Ordered Three breakfasts and coffee and sat down. The breakfasts arrived after our coffee was cold and and looked as what I can only describe as 'Thrown on a plate'. After picking our way through the half cooked eggs we found the sausages. These were hard and had the texture of cardboard, totally inedible. When the waitress came to see if our meals were satisfactory, my wife showed the sausages to the waitress who agreed that they were not edible and she went for replacements. When the waitress returned she declared that they could not be replaced as all the rest of the sausages were just the same. Obviously cooked a day or two before. We were however offered some cake instead of the breakfasts. Cake for breakfast, are they joking !
The best thing on the breakfast plate, the toast. Hard to get that wrong !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Whilst on holiday in the area we popped to the garden centre to meet up with other members of our family.
It is a lovely place with lots to look at and browsing around the many varied departments was enjoyable even for the hubbies!
The restaurant was buzzing with many many diners but we were served quickly and cheerfully. I was told that the restaurant had 400 covers and it was quite a search to find a free table so it's popularity proved it was a good place to dine.
The variety and quality of the food was amazing. I had a savoury - as opposed to a cream -tea. This consisted of a huge cheese scone, butter, a wedge of cheese, home made chutney, grapes and a pot of tea. All for under a fiver. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne Minster
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Snack before business meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very busy restaurant with lots of choice, all good quality. We had sandwiches, egg and cress and local ham both were delicious, served with crisps and a side salad. The dark chocolate cookie was very good but the fruit cake a bit dry. If in the area we will certainly visit again. There are also so many things to be tempted to both for the garden and house, also lots of things if you knit or sew or enjoy craft making

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good quality food & service..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My mum, 2 children & I visited today (Wednesday 16th). We were here to visit the garden centre but decided to have lunch.
Although the queue was quite long the staff are so efficient that we were served in no time at all. My son had the homemade chicken curry which was lovely - a huge portion with accompaniments. The paninis are great too - we had mediterranean vegetable & feta, and tuna/sweetcorn melt. My mum had the homemade quiche which came with homemade potato salad, coleslaw etc..
All in all very nice food, good value for money and friendly & effiecient staff who are helpful.
Would recommend if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otter Garden Centres, Ottery St Mary also viewed

Ottery St. Mary, Devon
Ottery St. Mary, Devon
 

Been to Otter Garden Centres, Ottery St Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing