We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay. We throughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return to this fantastic area. The hotel is very nice and not overpriced. The rooms and facilities are comfortable and well equipped.

Room Tip: Go to Joshuas Coutry Store just outside Ottery - great for tea and a fantastic shop. Good ham, olive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
35
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marsworth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Better than average B&B in general, but let down for me by having no decent views. Building has been extended in all sorts of directions, hiding view to lovely garden. Weir isn't on the property so don't expect to be able to see it - or the river from the bedroom. However, it is very friendly, dinner is acceptable, the bed comfortable - though way, way too big for the room - and ensuite facilities good enough. The breakfast is really very good indeed with lots of fresh fruit, choice of cereals and porridge and wonderful cooked options. Scrambled egg and smoked salmon must have had a whole salmon in it - really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LogieBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

First of all I should clarify that my boyfriend and I usually visit out of the way quirky backwater places, so staying in a traditional hotel like this is a little out of my comfort zone. That said, I'd come back here again. It looks a bit drab from the road, but go up the driveway and you come across this thatched roof building with a lovely garden and amazing interiors. Our bedroom was gorgeous and at one point I felt like a bit of a princess. My boyfriend particularly loved the fire place in the lounge, but he's a sucker for that kind of stuff.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter based on what we had. The owners said all the rooms are similarly furnished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonDe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

What a lovely, traditional hotel! Don't be put off by the entrance driveway, which doesn't look too appealing - it leads round to the carpark and quiet leafy gardens.The staff were helpful and friendly and were more than accommodating for my 3 year old son - they made up a special meal for him and gave us a larger double room all for the same price as single occupancy. The room was lovely and warm (there was a spare blanket provided), the bed comfortable and the bed linen of good quality. The ensuite was clean and fresh and the shower lovely and warm. The food was superb, both in the evening and for breakfast and was good value for money. Overall, the whole stay was excellent and I won't hesitate to book again. Worth far more than the 2 stars it has been awarded.
(book through Hotels.com via Quidco for 10% cashback)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillym14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have stayed at this lovely hotel many times. It has charm in abundance, from the top of its thatched roof, down to its snug lounge with Inglenook fire place. The bedrooms are compact but adequate, with ensuit in all. The garden is pristine and the food of the highest standard. A small, friendly, family business, it is the ideal location for touring East Devon, or a quiet overnights stay on a business trip. If you're looking for somewhere that is not your bulk standard chain hotel, then this is your place.

Room Tip: no 11 is probably the best. Overlooks the gardens and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirebeanExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times on business and I will alway use it when I'm in the area from now on. The rooms are a little on the small size, but they are more than adequate and very comfortable. The owners and staff are always very friendly and accommodating and the food is outstanding. I particularly recommend the chocolate brownie! It is excellent value for money and I would be happy to stay here with my family as well as on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Unfriendly reception, cold rooms hardly large enough for the smallest possible double beds . The heating when operated sparingly worked well .The room was clean but hardly large enough for comfort. The list of meal times and 10.30 am checkout time hardly shows much regard for hospitality not that one would want to spend more time in such a dark unwelcoming venue. The only redeeming feature was an excellent breakfast

Room Tip: Stay at another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank antony121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottery St. Mary
0.0 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tumbling Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tumbling Weir Hotel

Property: The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Address: Ottery St. Mary EX11 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tumbling Weir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Tumbling Weir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tumbling Weir Hotel Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing