We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable; excellent room, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
Stourbridge
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable; excellent room, food and service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The entrance to the hotel from the road totally belies what you get when you travel another 200 yards. Absolutely delightful. We had drinks outside and wandered around the beautiful garden before sitting down to a wonderful meal that would have put many many rosette restaurants to shame. The service was superb - friendly, helpful, extremely efficient and not too obtrusive. Breakfast was a delight; we tried to purchase some of the excellent homemade marmalade, unfortunately without success. If you want another excellent restaurant nearby go to the Jack in the Green Inn - truly excellent.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room which was delightful - very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTrip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    20
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
35
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have never stayed in The Tumbling Weir (TW), as I have family in Ottery St Mary whom I visit infrequently. But it is always a pleasure to eat in the TW. It is in a lovely location, once your have driven throug the narrow passage between the 18th century mill, which used to make serge cloth for soldiers uniforms 200 years ago, I believe. Or you can walk over the mill stream from the Land of Canaan.

If you don't know where it is, and haven't checked it out on google earth or whatever, it is a bit difficult to find. For Otteyr St Mary, where parking is an absolute nightmare, and has led to village feuds, TW is blessed with a very large carpark.

Anddon't forget to look at the real tumbling weir ... it is a hole in the water, literally ... it is a horizontal mill race !! Look it up on Wikipedia !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredtheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Working at the local school in Ottery St. Mary and wanted a hotel close by. It is not that easy to find but what a lovely place and beautiful setting. Room was spacious clean and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and nothing too much trouble and food excellent. Would highly recommend it as either a stopover or a central location to explore both Dorset and Devon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie and Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Unfortunately our other favourite Hotels were booked as was most of the others in area. We were pleased we booked it - was not that easy to find but what a lovely place and beautiful setting. Room was spacious clean and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and nothing too much trouble and food excellent. Would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back and overlooked the gardens. No traffic noise just occasional plane going to Exe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had a very nice stay in this family run hotel and restaurant. The hotel is very pretty, set in attractive and peaceful gardens and next to an historic weir and the river. The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated with all you could need and lovely views. The hosts are warm and welcoming, friendly and chatty. We ordered sandwiches on arrival - I had a prawn sandwich and I have never seen so many prawns packed into a sandwich before! The breakfast was very good - locally sourced ingredients, cooked to perfection. We took advantage of the spring deal and it was excellent value. There is a really good discount for single occupancy, even though you are in a double room. Beds are very comfortable. Should be rated higher than 2 star in my opinion. The menu for the restaurant looked very good and it was a shame that we did not have the opportunity to try dinner there. There is plenty of parking and I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Tthe room we had was smallish, and whilst we didn't have an avocado bathroom suite the fittings were a bit 1980s. However, we were very comfortable, the windows opened out to the garden, it was quiet and warm and the service was friendly and efficient. Also great to have wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed for two nights for a local wedding after booking out of a nearby horrendous establishment.
The staff were friendly, the rooms comfortable, immaculately clean with all home comforts and the food was excellent.
Good parking facilities and ideal if you are doing things in and near Ottery.
I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff enough.
Thank you Tumbling Weir for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottery St. Mary
0.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tumbling Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tumbling Weir Hotel

Property: The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Address: Ottery St. Mary EX11 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tumbling Weir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tumbling Weir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tumbling Weir Hotel Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing