We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place to stay”
Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we arrived at mere brook house to a warm welcome. We booked the flora room in the cottage, we were shown to our room, absolutely gorgeous, the room , en-suite, lounge, kitchen. very clean and well presented with lovely furniture and attention to detail. The staff and Lorna are so welcoming , we felt so relaxed and enjoyed our stay very much. We will be going back regularly. The gardens perfect to walk around and relax. We would highly recommend that you go here and enjoy your stay ( i must mention the tea and cakes you get on arrival ).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKelly983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
67
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrhyndeudraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in the Balcony Room and it was absolutely gorgeous. The House is set in beautiful surroundings and the house had a lovely feel to it. The staff were lovely and very welcoming but also left us to it. It was quiet there and we were allowed free reign of the place, we didn't though apart from helping ourselves to the tiffin cake and milk :)

The bed linen and furniture was top quality....everything was top quality to be honest apart from the bread at breakfast :( but that is a silly complaint but as a vegetarian all i can have is toast and it wasn't that nice but it didn't ruin breakfast as my husband had a lovely cooked breakfast and said the scrambled eggs were the best he had ever had.

The bathroom was beautiful and the plumbing was brilliant too....in other words the water pressure was excellent! The shower was the best power shower i have ever experienced in a hotel/guest house.

There was no rush to leave either. Will DEFINITELY stay again :)

The only other little complaint I have is the lights on the balcony weren't on a very long timer and we had to keep waving every 30 seconds or so to keep them on when we were enjoying a little drink :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberts074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I found Mere Brook House by accident when it first opened. We regularly go back every chance wew can. This is the most perfect place to stay ever. Lorna, Donald and the gang are exceptional. The house is warm and inviting, friendly, spotlessly clean, comfortable and beautiful. What more can I say? I don't want to praise it too much in case t becomes too popular and doesn't have room for me. I would sleep anywhere, in any nook or cranny at Mere Brook rather than sleep anywhere else. I LOVE IT!!!!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are fab. It is a peaceful house and extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ennasebrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

An absolutely amazing place. It has been carefully refurbished in a tasteful way, all the rooms being individual in their decor, with sumptuous fabrics, traditional furnishings and really comfortable beds. We had two z beds put in our room for our two girls, which had matching covers and bedding as the main king size bed. The staff are all very professional in their manner but also very friendly and welcoming.
It really does feel like a home and I came away thinking I would love to live there. The wedding party we were with filled both the main house and the cottage, and all of us were impressed by the calm ambience and feel of mere brook. The grounds are also lovely, with a stream and lots of outside seating areas. Great home made cakes and cookies too, I can honestly say that I have stayed in much more exclusive and expensive hotels which aren't as tastefully, furnished or as welcoming as this lovely bed and breakfast. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is my third stay with Launa, Donald and there superb team. The place is just a little gem. Our Room was superb, launas lemonade and home make cakes were to die for. It is a real home from home. In the evening she recommended a really nice local put for dinner which sold great food and hand pulled beers.
The breakfast in the morning was all freshly cooked to order. 10 out of 10 again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Hospitality and service doesn't come any better than this. It's not the manufactured, text book style you often get, but genuinely warm friendliness that really does make you feel like your staying in a friend's home. Add in total professionalism and superior quality accommodation and you have a stay to remember. The best we can say is read the information on their website then go and have your expectations exceeded. Our one regret is that we were only staying for one night!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at Mere Brook House for one night in the Mere Brook room and really wished we could have stayed longer! When we arrived, Joanne kindly offered us some tea and cake and gave us a tour of the kitchen and lounge area so we felt instantly at home. Our room was very spacious and had a lovely view over the drive and gardens at the front of the house. In the room there was tea/coffee making facilities, a tv in the bedroom and the en-suite, and a desk/dressing table with a mirror, ironing board, hairdryer etc. - everything you could need. The decor of the bedroom and the en-suite was really in keeping with the house and everything felt very grand and luxurious. I had requested a vegetarian breakfast and was very impressed with the selection on offer. There was cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, and your main cooked breakfast too so there was plenty to keep you going. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely return when we visit the Wirral again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Property: Mere Brook House
Address: Westmere Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing