We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue and team”
Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked Mere Brook House for a small party with friends and family. The house is wonderful, rooms spacious and luxurious (TVs in bathrooms), grounds beautiful and peaceful. Lorna and the team instantly understood the kind of event we wanted and just got on with the efficient running of the day. All the guests loved the place, the food and the staff, we couldn't have asked for more. I would prefer it if no-one else knew about this place, so we could have it all to ourselves, but they deserve a top-notch recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our daughter held her wedding reception here and we stayed three nights. It was a wonderful stay in really lovely surroundings. The 5 star gold status is well deserved. We were made to feel at home straight away. It was a friendly relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms and food were excellent. Lots of extras were thoughtfully provided. I would certainly recommend Mere Brook House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrizeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Mere Brook House in Thornton Hough in the Wirral for 5-star gold bed and breakfast that is like home from home… but better! It’s a beautiful house in lovely country surroundings and the owner, Lorna, together with Joanne who runs the housekeeping side make you feel so at home you won’t want to leave. They even offer locally-sourced cheese and biscuits and home-made cake for you to nibble on overnight.

All the food is locally sourced (Lorna is also a farmer and she and her husband live in a farm nearby) and the cooking is excellent. They do weddings at the hotel quite regularly and it's not surprising as it is a beautiful place.

The rooms are spotless and beautiful - homely but high-grade. I stayed in a double room with a large balcony which had a table and chairs on it for al fresco seating.

People come back here time and again and I'm not surprised. Any time I go to Liverpool/Wirral area I will stay here. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: I thoroughly recommend the double with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is the kind of place that is so good you want to tell others about but don't actually want to share! We had to change our plans at the last minute but Lorna accommodated this and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. From the lovely warm welcome to the friendly goodbye we experienced excellent service. Our rooms in the main house were as good as shown on the website and the additional touches were appreciated. Although the availability of cake at all hours does demand strong will power. It was our first stay but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipistrel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Felt as though we were staying with friends. They have a kitchen in the cottage with food and drinks that you help yourselves to included in the price. Decor beautiful, staff (and owner) attentive but not intrusive. They were using a heavy iron roller on the lawn, something I have not seen since I had to roll the cricket pitch at school as a punishment!

Breakfast outstanding, high quality ingredients cooked as we watched eating at the kitchen table..

Room Tip: I am sure they are all excellent, we had two in the cottage, light, new, decorated to a high standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreforRoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We've just been to a wedding here and it was absolutely fantastic!

The rooms are all lovely - some with showers, some with baths (with TVs in the bathroom!) We were in Flora - fab wetroom and so light due to two sets of patio doors. The cottage was a beautiful mix of modern and rustic. We were in the cottage but both buildings have their own living room, dining room and kitchen. Both nights we were there we would come in and relax in the living room, enjoying the free wine, beer, tea, coffee and amazing homemade cakes (brownies, tiffin, flapjacks, shortbread...). Such a nice end to the day!

The day started well too - full English, toast, porridge, cereal, fruit, yoghurt (dairy or soy)...and tasty homemade honey!

The wedding was wonderful - the wedding breakfast was delicious for both vegetarians (butternut squash risotto) and meat eaters alike! Nice selection of puddings too! There was also a bbq and salad buffet (yummy mediterranean tart for veggies) in the evening. The evening disco was great fun!

Every member of staff was cheerful, helpful and friendly from start to finish - such a lovely atmosphere :) Every aspect of service was absolutely spot on and always carried out with a smile.

Having the whole hotel for the wedding guests was so much fun and just felt so homely and informal. I can't wait to come back! Thank you to everyone there for such a perfect stay!

Room Tip: If you like baths try (I think!) Honeycomb as there's a TV in the bathroom (there are 2 other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Merebrook last year for a get away from it all break. It was a last minute booking and we had no expectation on arrival, but it was perfection. We had the balcony room which was amazing, the facilities were exceptional and the whole ambiance was just perfect. It truly was a haven of peace and tranquility, beautiful house, exceptional location, out of this world service from all of the team. The cakes and pastries were absolutely sublime and I strongly recommend the local honey. are planning a very special celebration in the near future and the Merebrook would be our number one location. I cant stress enough how lovely this place is, if you want splendour, peace and quiet and to feel very pampered, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The balcony room is THE ONE, take a relaxing bath in the sumptious bathroom and watch the world go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieH281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,329 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,731 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Address: Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing