We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mere Brook House last weekend as part of our Ruby Wedding celebrations. We found this wonderful B&B by chance after searching the internet for a suitable overnight stay in Wirral where we married forty years ago.

The description on the Mere Brook House website almost sounded too good to be true but as soon as we arrived we knew that we had come to a very special place.

Housekeeper Joanne was there to welcome us on arrival and to show us to our beautiful room in the recently redesigned part of the house. We stayed in the Flora Room with its lovely views onto the gardens. Joanne even brought us a tray of tea and homemade cakes which we enjoyed in the gorgeous lounge available to guests.

Guests also have the use of a lovely modern kitchen for making hot drinks etc. Also available to us were delicious complimentary homemade cakes plus beer and cheese and wine.We've never experienced this kind of service in any B&B before so it was a real treat.

We found it hard to leave Mere Brook House as we enjoyed our stay so much. It helped turn our special anniversary weekend into an extra special one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
72
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've visited and stayed at Merebrook on a number of occasions. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff or owners who make you feel so welcome as soon as you arrive.
The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated. I can also highly recommend the Merebrook honey. Delicious!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was at mere brook house today for a reception , what a wonderful place , fabulous home made food very welcoming & staff very nice & friendly , also the gardens lovely good parking veggie patch & Shetland Ponys at bottom of garden , very relaxing & tranquil & very good location for all areas of the Wirral & walks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from a wedding reception at Mere Brook House. We stayed for two nights with my mother, who cannot walk very far. Lorna, the owner, juggled rooms around so that we could stay in the Coach House, as the ground floor rooms are fully accessible to disabled guests. My mother was delighted with her room, as it was immaculately clean, on the ground floor and had a new walk-in shower. Our room was huge, stylishly decorated, with a wonderful view of the beautiful garden. Our bathroom had a large walk-in shower and was tiled in a red and blue poppy design, with matching tall, red elliptical radiators. Everything is perfectly colour coordinated - a lot of thought has gone into make the rooms beautiful but comfortable. The owner told us that she set out to make the rooms as stylish and beautiful as possible for disabled guests - what a kind thought! We were invited to help ourselves to a selection of teas, coffees, chocolate and two tins full of delicious home-made cakes. Fantastic to have a fridge available with loads of fresh milk and a cafetiere with plenty of ground coffee on hand. The lounge in the Coach House was a great place to relax and admire the matching curtains and cushions, designed by Lorna and family!
It's rare to find a hotel where the hosts are so generous with everything. As you would expect, the breakfast was excellent and lavish. We will certainly come back as the hotel is within easy distance of Liverpool, and we plan a visit to the Tate and a return visit to Antony Gormley's Another Place.
The food at the wedding reception was top class. Again, the hosts were generous with wine and food. Everything was home made, with delicious meat from the owners' farm. For me, the salmon and the raspberry and strawberry pavlova were outstanding. Everyone felt comfortable and relaxed, as the staff were so friendly and helpful.
All the guests were delighted with the venue. A young man at the reception described the experience of staying at Mere Brook as 'like staying in your own home - a very posh version of home'.
My only concern is how the owners manage to make a profit, as they are so generous with everything!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therese613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Mere Brook House. We had attended a wedding at Thornton Hall and decided to stay over close by. Wow! E place is beautiful. Room spacious, beautifully styled and immaculately clean. Breakfast in the morning was gorgeous. The grounds are very pretty so nice to sit out or have a walk around. We shall definitely be returning and have recommended to a number if friends. On top of everything, the staff told us not to book a cab to get back to our car a couple of miles down the road. They gave us a lift. Totally customer focused and really lovey people. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We held our wedding breakfast and reception at Mere Brook House in June 2013 and it was a truly fantastic day. The food was delicious and our guests enjoyed the options to try a bit of every course we had on the menu. The house itself is beautiful, a relaxing environment and immaculately kept. The team here do such a good job and everything ran smoothly on the big day. We hired the rooms in the cottage and the house for ourselves and guests on the wedding night and the accommodation was luxurious yet welcoming. We would recommend this as a wedding venue to anyone having a small/medium sized event and as a B&B. Lorna and the team do such a great job - it's a pleasure to stay there. Lucy and Paul.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is perfect as a bridal suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we stayed here originally last October after attending a wedding nearby and I decided at the time it would be a great place to have a surprise 40th birthday party/dinner for my wife. from the first time of speaking to lorna to discuss the possibility to the time we left lorna was friendly, helpful and took everything in her stride with total professionalism. there were 15 of us so we booked all the rooms and had exclusive use of the house all day and night which was fantastic as we spent most of the afternoon in the gardens relaxing and then helped ourselves to some of the complimentary cheese/biscuits and cakes which were on offer. in the evening lorna and her team (james the chef who was fantastic) layed on a fantastic meal which we had decided upon beforehand and made sure we were extremely well looked after until they all went home around 11pm and left us to carry on partying into the early hours. the rooms are all beautifully decorated and spotless and more like a boutique hotel (but half the price), the communal areas are also fantastic. it really feels like you are lord of a beautiful country manor when you stay there with the staff and décor making you feel at home from the moment you arrive. I could heap praise for another 500 words but simply put, if you want to visit the wirral , stay there and experience it for yourself - guaranteed you will not be disappointed ! many thanks to lorna, Donald , james and the other staff for a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,550 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Property: Mere Brook House
Address: Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing