We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality”
Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I thought my sat nav was playing tricks when it guided me up the long gravel drive to an imposing and unusual house surrounded by impressive lawn and gardens. I had a small single room in the cottage - perfect for one and full access to all the facilities in the cottage (supper in the fridge, hot drinks)
Breakfast was excellent and you watch it being cooked - to perfection I might add. But what makes Mere Brook so very special is the people who work there. The genuine warmth and enthusiasm for providing truly excellent service was apparent in everyone I met.
I was also welcomed back later in the day (when I returned the room key I had inadvertently walked off with) and given a cup of tea and home made biscuits whilst waiting for traffic to calm down before my long drive home.
I cannot praise Mere Brook highly enough and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
75
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is more than a guest house, the property has been renovated with style and expense. Stayed in the cottage in the Queen Bee room , felt more like staying in a self catering house. The facilities were excellent as were the cakes! Staff superb, breakfast excellent . This is the sort of guest house that other establishments should look up to. The Wirral is a hidden gem with loads of walks, Musuems etc to do and Lorna very kindly gave us excellent information regarding walks. had a meal at Nova Restaurant in heswall one night can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Any room will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at Mere Brook for three weeks, excluding weekends, whilst my wife was undergoing radiotherapy at ClatterBridge Cancer Centre. We chose to stay here based on the location as we did not have a car (it is closest to ClatterBridge) and reviews posted here.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome as we are met by Joanne who, after showing us around, made us tea with a selection of home baked cake and biscuits - a word of warning if you are dieting cakes are always available as is the offer of a pot of tea after a return from a day out.

Breaking down into three key areas - accommodation, service, location.

Accommodation

Over the three weeks we stayed in two rooms but mainly in the Balcony Room which, as the name suggests, has a balcony overlooking the gardens and pond. The rooms we stayed in were all individually styled and very large when compared to a hotel and had a separate bath or shower room.

There is a cottage with other rooms, recently built, but we never visited or stayed there so I am unable to comment.

In addition to the rooms it is like staying with friends for the weekend as you have free run of the property and can spend time in the formal lounge, a really sunny room overlooking the gardens or in the grounds themselves oh and not forgetting the kitchen; but more to come on that!

Service - The best!

As mentioned previous from the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and were, in fact, advised to treat the place as if it was our home.

There is only a small team here during the week, unless they have a conference on, so we quickly got to know Lorna, Joanne, Jackie, James and Emma and, as mentioned, it was like staying with friends as you chatted and got to know them.

Breakfast was either cooked or continental I would not say a choice as you could mix and match as you wished and timing was flexible.

There is no restaurant or bar however the kitchen fridge is stocked with cheese, chutney, beer and wine and you are allowed to help yourself along with the cakes. As we did not have a car it was not easy for us to eat out and Lorna and her team would often leave us a meal when we returned if they had held a function on the day. It would be on the side, wrapped in cling film with cooking instructions as required.

All this was included in the price and offered freely.

Location

The location is ideal for ClatterBridge and the surrounding area with good connections to Chester, Liverpool, Port Sunlight and a number of small villages on the peninsular.

We did not have a car and the downside to this is that the location is not ideally suited to those without transport as the roads do not have footpaths and get quite busy. We did manage a walk on one of the days we stayed but made sure it was on a sunny day and it was early. We did know this however before we booked but those intending to stay without transport will need to appreciate this.

If you are staying here whist undergoing hospital treatment a taxi ride is 5 minutes and the bus services from ClatterBridge were good and connected with trains and we were able to get around without any problems.


In summary

Lorna, the owner, has spent a lot of time in hotels over the years and recalled the nights sat in a room with a bed with a sandwich and her vision for Mere Brook was what she would wish to stay in and be treated. In this regard she has succeded in achieving accommodation that I personally have found to be unique and have travelled a lot over the years.

As the title of this review states - when was the last time you checked out and hugged the person in front of you and promised to keep in touch!

Our stay here certainly made, what was a testing time for us, a pleasurable one and we look forward to returning under better circumstances in future

I have no hesitation in reccommending Mere Brook House as a place to stay, in fact THE PLACE TO STAY if you are in the Wirral.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at Mere Brook House for 1 night on Saturday 1st March for my hen party with family and a few friends. Lorna and her team are so helpful and looked after us really well. All rooms are different but all so lovely and fantastic. Had a delicious meal on the Saturday night, followed by a plentiful breakfast the following day. The complimentary cakes and cheese & biscuits were a nice extra to our stay. Absolutely fantastic and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have stayed at Mere Brook House several times. It is set in the countryside and is ideal when visiting the Wirral or as a stopover on the way to the day time ferry to Ireland. It doesn’t do it justice to call it a B&B, more like a boutique hotel. The standards are exemplary, the location, service, meals and the bedrooms - all of the very highest standards. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished and the whole property is immaculately clean throughout. Lorna, the owner, is a very personable and capable lady who clearly sets the highest standards and maintains them year after year. If you are interested in quality, in nice surroundings where you are superbly cared for, look no further than Mere Brook House. We have travelled the world and for this type of accommodation it ranks amongst the very top. Do yourself a favour and look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mere Brook House last weekend as part of our Ruby Wedding celebrations. We found this wonderful B&B by chance after searching the internet for a suitable overnight stay in Wirral where we married forty years ago.

The description on the Mere Brook House website almost sounded too good to be true but as soon as we arrived we knew that we had come to a very special place.

Housekeeper Joanne was there to welcome us on arrival and to show us to our beautiful room in the recently redesigned part of the house. We stayed in the Flora Room with its lovely views onto the gardens. Joanne even brought us a tray of tea and homemade cakes which we enjoyed in the gorgeous lounge available to guests.

Guests also have the use of a lovely modern kitchen for making hot drinks etc. Also available to us were delicious complimentary homemade cakes plus beer and cheese and wine.We've never experienced this kind of service in any B&B before so it was a real treat.

We found it hard to leave Mere Brook House as we enjoyed our stay so much. It helped turn our special anniversary weekend into an extra special one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've visited and stayed at Merebrook on a number of occasions. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff or owners who make you feel so welcome as soon as you arrive.
The rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated. I can also highly recommend the Merebrook honey. Delicious!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,252 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
786 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
769 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Property: Mere Brook House
Address: Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing