We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Mere Brook House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mere Brook House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2009

My girlfriend and I were looking for somewhere to stay in the area without paying the full whack of one of the big hotels, and came across this B&B. The website looked good so we made an enquiry by email about availability, opting for the Iris room of the 2 rooms available that night (there are only 4 in the place). The owner, Lorna, was helpful and communicative by email and phone, telling us that she was going to be away herself during our stay but that her friend would be there to meet us and look after us.

From the start we were made to feel welcome and told to make ourselves at home, whether by relaxing in the downstairs lounge or by helping ourselves to cakes, cheeses, drinks or whatever we liked from the kitchen at any time. For a time during the evening, we had the whole place to ourselves and enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing night. The bedroom was clean and very comfortable and there was none of the 'check out by...' protocol you get in hotels. When we asked what time we needed to leave, we were met with the response 'stay all day if you like!' We were also able to choose exactly when we wanted breakfast and opted for a late brunch, which was very nicely cooked.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Mere Brook House to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in a peaceful, beautiful setting. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

We made it back to MBH earlier this year and had a great visit once again. Stayed in the Mere Brook Room this time and it was terrific. Can't offer enough superlatives about the owners or the place.
Breakfast was again fantastic.
Went to Devon Doorway again for dinner, and had another really good meal. Not really a pub, much classier. Good service and top notch meals.
Best B&B we have stayed in by far, anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzCoupleBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Wow where do I start ...this place is just beautiful. Imagine checking into a plush hotel with rich furnishings in each of the rooms and every little detail thought of. I do not want to spoil the surprise .. however it would not be a true review if I did not mention the fact that just about every room... the dining room, sitting room, oak room (with TV and DVD player) even the front foyer all have jars of all sorts of goodies to snack on!! (Great after a day of sightseeing)
We were welcomed by Sam (filling in for Lorna and Donald for that day) with cake and tea (delicious) we were shown our gorgeous room and told that apart from the other guest rooms we were welcome to use any other rooms including the kitchen!!
We were travelling with our 3 month old daughter ... as any parent knows you definietly need a kitchen with a litle one cleaning, microwave etc. so this was another great point.
The hosts/owners Lorna and Donald are to be commended, they have really set the benchmark for B&B's in our minds. They really do go the extra mile for example I forgot shampoo and conditioner.. no need to worry .. in your bathroom you will find toothpaste, razor, soap, shampoo and conditioner and I am sure if there was anything else you needed you would be helped out!
We explanined that we were visiting from Australia for a large family wedding and that we needed a place for a large 'meet the family' dinner.. this of course was no trouble and Lorna even went so far as to offer the dining room to us in order for us to host a dinner... well what a feast it was!!
The list of does not stop the beautiful surrounds, the cows, the bees, the gorgeous gardens and amazing pond and carp this place is really worth a visit.
We really can not fault this place.. beautiful, so accomodating a real home away from home. We would recommend anyone to stay... a very romantic setting too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebbles000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My partner and I stayed at Mere Brook when attending a wedding at nearby Thornton Hall. All the rooms at the reception venue were booked and in retrospect we were delighted they were on account of the fantastic stay we had at Mere Brook. The owner of the B&B, Lorna, provided great communication from the start, confirming our booking in writing and offering to pick us up from the local station. And the first class service didn’t stop there – as soon as we arrived at the house we had homemade cakes and tea waiting for us. Lorna invites guests to use the house as if it’s their own, which is really great and adds so much to the stay – not only does it give you the opportunity to chat to Lorna and the other guests but we also really appreciated being able to help ourselves to a midnight snack when coming in somewhat worse for wear on Saturday evening! The rooms and indeed the whole house are beautiful and immaculate, yet homely at the same time. We will most certainly be coming back – thank you Lorna for such a fantastic stay! Jen & Rob

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjones84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed here while attending a friends wedding in nearby Thornton Manor; we were looking for a cheaper option than staying at a hotel and we had a very pleasant surprise. After being shown to our beautiful room we were served gorgeous tea and cakes downstairs, and we even arranged a free lift to the wedding venue. The owners manage to combine a friendly informality with a nights accommodation that is on par with a top class hotel. Lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beartownbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at this lovely Edwardian country house with friends because of a local wedding. I travel a lot with work and stay in hotels and B&Bs every week and this has to rate up there with the best of them. If you are looking for a quiet get away, treat yourself to a night here - you won't be disappointed. The attention to detail is fantastic and the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryanthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We have just stayed here with friends when going to a local wedding. The owners greeted us with coffee, local cheese and biscuits and home made cakes. The building is superb and set in a lovely, leafy part of the Wirral. The rooms are luxiorous, and I could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBearManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,332 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,734 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Brook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Address: Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range: £78 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mere Brook House Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing