We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding venue.”
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thornton Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

A truly great day at a friends wedding yesterday. The venue is stunning and very interesting. The grounds are expansive and generally well kept.

The service from the bar staff was very good and we rarely had to wait at the bar. Catering (from Barretts) was outstanding for a large group and it appears they are able to really personalise the menu to suit your needs.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place for a wedding based on my experience as the manor has got real soul and old world charm. It's not all new and shiny but it is well kept and beautifully presented and delivers a much better experience than the chain hotels. It also possesses a character abd quirkyness that will leave lasting memories for the wedding party and guests.

We didn't stay over but those that did seemed satisfied.

In one word - Outstanding

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DaveRWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    36
    19
    18
    22
See reviews for
113
78
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a family member's wedding at Thornton Manor. Several of us also stayed overnight in the hotel and cottages attached.

Overall, the venue was excellent for an event like this. The weather was extremely changeable, from brilliant sunshine to heavy rain, but the staff worked efficiently to adapt to this, leaving everyone to relax and enjoy the occasion. All the staff we met were helpful and polite.

The grounds were beautiful and well tended; the house and hotel rooms were clean and full of character, beds comfy and dining/sitting rooms elegant. There are some compromises due to the age and authenticity of the building, such as large baths instead of showers and no television or internet (not a problem for me). But anyone expecting modern hotel facilities when staying in an old English manor house is a little silly. Stay here for an experience that you will remember much longer than the usual boring, Ikea-furnished hotels.

Food was excellent and, although it is all provided by an outside caterer (including breakfast), you would never know the difference.

Room Tip: Choose between a variety of unique double rooms, including that of the former Lord of the manor, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I got married in thorton manor last month and all I can say is that it was everything I dreamed of and more. The venue is breathtaking and the staff are soo helpful and friendly. An the food was incredible everyone is still talking about the food now amber provided the catering and Faris the owner of amber was amazing honestly it is down to Faris an his amazing staff at amber who made my day perfect! Just wish I could relive my wedding day every day.. Thanks again to thorton manor and amber for making my wedding perfect!! Xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genakeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

was fortunate to be invited to a wedding, what can i say wow what a stunning place everything from start to finish amazing house and beautiful grounds,, reception meal was al a carte. to die for,, staff was so friendly and helpful. if you want a perfect wedding this is the place to be..

Room Tip: didint stay but people who did book was more then happy they stayed in the servants quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be invited to a beautiful wedding here on the 20/06/13. The day was perfect but what stood out was the amazing food!!! From the most stunning canapés to the delicious and beautifully presented three course meal! The food was hot, bursting with flavour and moorish! Everybody on our table agreed and it was the talk of the day! The evening hot sandwiches went down a treat too! The staff were very professional and could not do enough for you, especially Faris, a true professional! The setting of this venue was perfect. We were lucky enough to be outside on the terrace for most of the day into the early evening. The toilets were kept clean and replenished throughout the day, which I always think is important. There was plenty of parking for the guests too. What a fab day 10/10!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We write this review in two minds, we had the most amazing day of our lives and everyone has told us how amazing it was but there was some service elements and price that leaves a lot to be desired.
So let’s start with the negative first,
1. Rooms
The rooms are significantly over priced for what they are, although we filled all the rooms in the manor other than the servant’s quarters in our opinion the rooms in the premier inn just 5 minutes down the road were much better equipped and gave much better value. Furthermore, we stayed in the Lady Lever room and unfortunately, we could clearly hear whoever was above us going to bed and getting up which, really ruined the feeling fortunately we only spent 6 hours in the room as we didn’t go to bed until 3am. However, please be aware you can get a key for your room with a refundable £10 deposit.
2. Additional Costs
This was the bit that really annoyed us was after you pay your 50% deposit you then get a "Cheshire Event Hire" list that has all of the ‘additional’ things on it from table linen, name holders, candles to up lighters, all at significantly higher cost than most other vendors. We would highly recommend that you request a copy of this before you place your deposit otherwise you may have a large hole in your budget, as feedback to Thornton Manor it would be better to increasing the cost of the venue hire and then just include these items as you cannot have a wedding without table linen!
3. Approved Vendor List
We understand that every venue has an approved vendor list, of which each of the vendors pays the venue a commission to be on their preferred list. However after a bad experience with one of the vendors (bar service) we decided that we would go for personal recommendations on the rest (you do have to request Thornton manor's permission to use other vendors but it is possible I would advise this before placing your deposit, although we had no issues once we advised them of our reasoning) (Photographer, Videographer, band, DJ, chair covers, not from list - everything else was)
4. Wedding "co-ordinator"
We were in the changeover period between Phillip and Dianne running our day and Angus, either way we were extremely disappointed meeting Angus the week before our wedding to go through everything and within the first five minutes he said "I am not the best at organising things", as we continued to question things he kept saying, “well I haven't done that before so I will have to ask and get back to you.” We left that meeting a week before our wedding so dismayed it was untrue, fortunately we spoke with Michelle from Barretts who reassured considerably (more on this later). It seems the management at Thornton Manor really could do with significant improvements.
Now the negative bit is out of the way. The venue is truly amazing, we were fortunate to have a sunny day without a cloud in the sky which meant we could exit on to lime walk and have drinks on the terrace. The shot of us leaving on to the lime walk with everyone throwing confetti is lovely. Also while our guests were on the terrace, we had a chance to view the expansive gardens with our photographer and videographer. The gardens are truly out of this world, I am surprised there are not more photographs of these on the website, and we found a field of flowers at the end of the gardens!
We realise that there is a choice of cater at Thornton Manor but really there is no need, Barretts are absolutely outstanding, it was them that made the day for us. Michelle does so much more than catering, she does not need to but she does to make sure that your day is special. There are so many things she did throughout the day here are just a few that spring to mind:
1. When we arrived she made sure that she came to see both of us to make sure we were ok and ask if there was anything she could do
2. She made sure that we had our own personal waitress that followed us throughout the photography to make sure that we got canapés and champagne
3. She moved decorations from the ceremony room to the wedding breakfast (that we hadn’t even considered), which added the ‘finishing touch’ to the wedding breakfast room
4. When we weren’t hungry at the evening buffet she offered to box up some sandwiches sp we could have them later
There where so many more things that we could mention but Michelle just made the day run like clockwork, and was there from first thing in the morning till 11pm at night even though she was catering the day before and the day after our wedding. We can honestly say that there is no other supplier that made our day more special than Michelle. Thinking about it we haven't even mentioned the food! We were extremely difficult with our food options, first we had a trio of lamb which we tasted, and then due to some family issues we moved to a 4 choice main option with lamb, duck, veg or salmon. At each point Michelle and the team at Barretts never felt like we was putting them out they always made us feel so welcome when we went for tasting and were always available to discuss any aspect of the day, not just the food. We received so many comments from people on how amazing the food was, both in the presentation and taste, having a 4 choice menu option as well as a trio of starters and a trio of desserts is testament to how organised Michelle and her team are. Finally I should also mention how many people commented on how courteous the staff where.
We had 85 people in the day and around 110 people in evening it felt just about right in the numbers we think anything less than 100 in the evening may look sparse in the music room.
The event staff at Thornton Manor were also really amazing, Dougie (hope we spelt it right) especially. He packed all of our wedding things (table plans, table decorations, flowers etc) for us the next morning very carefully and neatly, making sure that all of the flowers stayed in water over night and carried all guests luggage to their rooms and down again the next day.
Ultimately this was, without doubt, the best day of our lives and we wouldn’t change any aspect of the day and the venue is truly breath-taking, however just be aware of the ‘additional costs’ and book Barrett’s as your caterer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pingu_the_penguin_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thornton Manor is an unbeatably wonderful wedding venue. The house is magical, and you get it all to yourself for the duration. The staff are as friendly and helpful as you could wish, and you relax in the knowledge that everything will go well. There is also the extra experience of staying in the Downton-Abbey-style bedrooms and breakfasting together at the long dining table the next morning.

Amber Outside Catering, one of the four catering firms Thornton work with, also did an absolutely superb job. The food was totally first-rate, the staff were delightful and entirely efficient as well as being unobtrusive, and the manager, Faris Safar, who also acted as MC, couldn't have been more friendly, helpful, proactive and understanding of our requirements. We felt 100% confident in leaving all the details in their hands, and everything went perfectly. Use Amber for your event!

Room Tip: Look on their website, where there are pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,158 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
14.1 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing