We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding venue and caterer!”
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornton Manor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding venue and caterer!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Got married at Thornton Manor on Saturday, and can't rate it highly enough.

Stunning location, grounds and building - the music room was perfect for the wedding breakfast, and the grounds provided a superb location for photos and drinks. It has the most amazing "wow factor both for you and your guests. The many rooms, staircases and alcoves provided character and options for chill out, catch up and would have been ideal if the weather had been bad - it wasn't! Sure, it is not cheap, but in addition to the venue, you also get professional, attentive and extremely approachable and 'can do' staff! Nothing was too much trouble - it runs on rails, but every little thing is taken care of and nothing is too much trouble. It has to be said that we found the odd bit of pre-wedding administration was slightly clunky and not hugely efficient, but this did not carry through to the day itself during which everything was superb!

Above and beyond the venue, you MUST use Amber Outside Catering! Faris seems to be on call 24/7, always with a smile on his face and always in complete control. At one point we were close to 1.5 hrs behind schedule, but he was calmness-personified and was only interested in ensuring we had enough to eat and drink. Exactly the safe pair of hands and "can do"attitude you need on what is inevitably a stressful day. All the guests commented on the food - tasty and extremely well presented, and everyone said how full they were as a result! I cannot recommend Faris and his time highly enough, and they ensured that the whole Thornton Manor wedding experience was beyond our highest possible hopes.

Room Tip: Good range - the Tower Room and the Queen Mothers Sitting Room were used by the Wedding couple and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinOliver651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    36
    19
    18
    22
See reviews for
112
77
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

my daughters wedding reception was held at the lakeside marquee on the 8.8.13 and I would just like to say how wonderful it was, the setting was beautiful and the staff could not have done more. The catering from Amber catering was superb and Faris and his staff were everything we wished for. Everyone commented on the venue and the catering. If you are looking for an out of this world location look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hmmm...stayed at Thornton Manor for a wedding (which incidentally was wonderful, so five stars for that!) but we realised that the fairly hefty cost of the rooms was really for the convenience of staying at the wedding venue, and not for the quality of the accommodation. To be fair, Thornton Manor does not advertised itself as a hotel, but there were various things that were surprising/disappointing. We stayed in two different outbuildings over three nights, but were surprised that in both of them there were showers that while nicely built were unusable because the water was far too hot, even on the coolest settings. There was little soundproofing so we could hear everything said by people in neighbouring rooms, and the "continental" breakfast that was placed in each room was plentiful, but just cereals, plain English bread and fruit. There were no TVs or radios in the rooms, and Manor Cottage was very basic and had filthy outbuildings (not that you needed to go in them!). The staff were very pleasant and helpful. A good place to stay if you're attending a wedding on the estate, but don't expect conditions to match the price...you're paying for the convenience of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EKTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Attended my best friends wedding here this week, and what can I say, it was truly incredible.
The venue is amazing, and everything about the wedding was perfect helped hugely by the staff at Thornton manor, who couldn't do enough for us all. The manor is set in beautiful grounds, everywhere you look there is stunning architecture. I stayed the night in one of the rooms of the house, and although I only slept for about 4 hours (after dancing the night away) the room was beautiful, clean and the bed was super comfy! Massive Thankyou to all at Thornton manor for making my best friends wedding so perfect :)

I hope to return one day :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Attended my son's wedding here last week and the whole day could not have been better.
The Manor is such a beautiful house in a lovely setting and even though it rained most of the day - after all the sunshine we have had recently - it didn't affect the enjoyment of the day at all as there are plenty of spacious rooms to explore and relax in.
The staff at the Manor were very professional and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The same can be said for the caterers, Amber. I cannot praise Faris, the owner of Amber, Erin, and all the Amber staff for providing such excellent food and exceptional service.
All the guests had such a great day and were impressed with both the Manor and Amber - a perfect combination as far as I'm concerned.
We stayed in the Housekeeper's Cottage, one of many on the estate, for a couple of nights and had breakfast in the Manor the day after the wedding. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean55Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Got married here on 26th July 2013 and the whole day surpassed even our highest hopes! All of my guests had an absolutely fabulous experience, commenting on how helpful all the staff were and of course how lovely the venue was. We got married in the house and to have it to ourselves for a day, and stay overnight made it so special. In the morning after our guests that had stayed were offered drinks and wandered around the grounds. All commented on the comfortable rooms.

Steve, Doug, Jane and the rest of the staff, plus our caterers, couldn't be faulted!

Thank you for giving us a day we will talk and smile about forever!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

A truly great day at a friends wedding yesterday. The venue is stunning and very interesting. The grounds are expansive and generally well kept.

The service from the bar staff was very good and we rarely had to wait at the bar. Catering (from Barretts) was outstanding for a large group and it appears they are able to really personalise the menu to suit your needs.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place for a wedding based on my experience as the manor has got real soul and old world charm. It's not all new and shiny but it is well kept and beautifully presented and delivers a much better experience than the chain hotels. It also possesses a character abd quirkyness that will leave lasting memories for the wedding party and guests.

We didn't stay over but those that did seemed satisfied.

In one word - Outstanding

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DaveRWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing