We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting for a wedding”
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Prior to a family wedding my thoughts were that this was very expensive and over ostentatious. I take it all back, the hall provides a stunning setting for a wedding and the staff are very professional - everything ran like clockwork and they manage minor emergencies without any fuss. The cottages may be expensive, but you can't beat the convenience of your own place a few minutes away, so I would highly recommend them. Don't settle for less, this is the place for a very very special day.

Room Tip: Housekeepers Lodge was great. Gardeners Mews also good (but stairs can be tricky for the less able)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Circus-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had our wedding reception here at the Lakeside Marquee on Friday 16th August 2013 – the venue is stunning. The Lakeside marquee is bright and spacious and its location in front of a beautiful lake really does give it that wow factor.
Our caterers for the event were Amber outside catering. I can’t speak highly enough about the service and quality we received from Faris and his team at Amber. From the moment that we decided to use Amber we felt we were treated with exceptional professionalism with a sincere personal touch.
Nothing that we requested from Amber was too much trouble – we had arranged for Canapés, a wedding breakfast and evening option with Amber – all of which were superb in both taste and presentation.
Amber staff served drinks during the reception and our guests commented on how good the staff were.
The Thornton Manor Marquee manager (Steve) was very friendly and professional – His advice and assistance before the event and on the day of the event was fantastic. From the music that we wanted playing during the day to the set up of the venue, he really did make us feel comfortable.
Later on in the evening Joe from Thornton Manor looked after us and assisted to arrange transport to take us to the Bridal Mews that we stayed in.
We were lucky enough to have a beautiful day in terms of the weather conditions so many of our wedding guests had the opportunity to enjoy the outdoor decked area of the marquee and the tables that are set up outside of the marquee.
There is a large area leading up to the marquee entrance which our photographer made the most of for group shots. There are also some lovely spots around the back of the Marquee which we used for some photos.
Inside the venue the layout for the wedding breakfast was perfect – no restricted views – which was great for the speeches.
As for the evening at the Lakeside marquee, I’d rather not spoil things for anyone’s guests reading this review but it will blow you away – It was everything and more than we had expected – one of the highlights of everyone’s day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter was married at Thornton Manor, the manorhouse itself, on 15th August. We, the bride, Mum, Dad and chief bridesmaid stayed in Manor Cottage 2 the night before
Bit disappointed on arrival at the cottage, outbuildings needed a lot of TLC, three double bedrooms but only one full length mirror, cottage was a bit tired, cobwebs in corners, carpets had seen better days, A small suggestion to the owners, put some water and bleach in the outside toilet so the smell doesn't waft too much, thankfully we did not have to use it.

The morning of the wedding no hot water, maintenance men arrived within 2 minutes of our call, OK they couldn't sort it but the bride, who is a lettings manager managed to find the re-set button, thankfully. From then on everything was perfect.

The cottage whilst a little tired was advertised as one of the lesser properties. The towels were fluffy and large, complementary toiletries and the best duvet I think I have ever slept under.

Continental breakfast was a bit disappointing, a loaf of sliced Hovis, packet cereals and fruit, no croissants but then again we were only there for a couple of nights.

The wedding itself was out of this world, staff called at the cottage to collect the brides dress and all the occupants to transfer us to the Tower bedroom to dress. The venue was spectacular and the staff were unobtrusive but attentive to all the smallest needs, the weather was perfect so we could all enjoy the grounds and patio and the caterer Anne Wilson did a fantastic job.

It was certainly a day to remember and after the initial disappointment of the cottage it was a really great venue..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granvivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having just returned from our honeymoon, we wanted to say a big thank you to Thornton Manor and their suppliers for our perfect wedding day!

We'd only seen one other venue when we came across Thornton Manor and we just knew it was the place we wanted to get married - we didn't bother to see anywhere else!

The venue is simply stunning - you can't put into words how beautiful the manor house and it's setting is with people commenting it was the nicest wedding venue they'd ever been to. Having exclusive use of the manor house was amazing and the grounds were gorgeous too for lots of photos - can't recommend it enough!

We had Amber Outside Catering run our day and I couldn't recommend them highly enough. Faris and his team were exceptional from the first time we went to taste the food at the bistro to the very end of our wedding day. I'd email him and would get a response within the hour no matter what the time was. The food and standard of service was just perfect and we really can't thank them enough. Nothing was too much trouble! Also thank you to Martin from Thornton Manor who was very professional and helpful the day of our wedding and the next morning.

The ONLY negative of the whole Thornton Manor experience was that we had to pay for our wedding bedroom for the night. When we'd spent so much on a wedding venue we expected to get our room included as the bride and groom!

Room Tip: Everyone commented that all the room were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have attended 2 weddings at Thornton Manor. A close friend in 2010 and my sister's last month. The quality of the location is self evident and the catering was excelllent across the board. But what really made this place stand out to me, was the quality of the service. Throughout the wedding and my subsequent stay, it was always apparent that every single member of staff wanted to make the experience not only memorbale but also offer the highest standards associated with a venue of this prestige. A classic example of how the small and/or personal touches can make all the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We attended a wedding in the Lakeside Marquee and it was fantastic. What beautiful views and surroundings. The marquee was beautiful and immaculate and decorated beautifully. The food was gorgeous and staff so friendly. A day to remember forever with beautiful views over the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Got married at Thornton Manor on Saturday, and can't rate it highly enough.

Stunning location, grounds and building - the music room was perfect for the wedding breakfast, and the grounds provided a superb location for photos and drinks. It has the most amazing "wow factor both for you and your guests. The many rooms, staircases and alcoves provided character and options for chill out, catch up and would have been ideal if the weather had been bad - it wasn't! Sure, it is not cheap, but in addition to the venue, you also get professional, attentive and extremely approachable and 'can do' staff! Nothing was too much trouble - it runs on rails, but every little thing is taken care of and nothing is too much trouble. It has to be said that we found the odd bit of pre-wedding administration was slightly clunky and not hugely efficient, but this did not carry through to the day itself during which everything was superb!

Above and beyond the venue, you MUST use Amber Outside Catering! Faris seems to be on call 24/7, always with a smile on his face and always in complete control. At one point we were close to 1.5 hrs behind schedule, but he was calmness-personified and was only interested in ensuring we had enough to eat and drink. Exactly the safe pair of hands and "can do"attitude you need on what is inevitably a stressful day. All the guests commented on the food - tasty and extremely well presented, and everyone said how full they were as a result! I cannot recommend Faris and his time highly enough, and they ensured that the whole Thornton Manor wedding experience was beyond our highest possible hopes.

Room Tip: Good range - the Tower Room and the Queen Mothers Sitting Room were used by the Wedding couple and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinOliver651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,332 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,735 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range: £73 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing